Super Rugby

Brumbies unchanged for first Jaguares clash




Brumbies Super Rugby head coach Stephen Larkham has named his team to play the Jaguares in Buenos Aires on Saturday.

Larkham has named an unchanged team for the first time this season as the coach has kept the faith with the team that defeated the Kings in Port Elizabeth last Saturday.

The Brumbies pack is set of for a monumental challenge at the home of soccer club Velez Sarsfield with the Argentineans priding themselves on their physicality at the set-piece and enjoying the battle at scrum-time.

Prop Ben Alexander will equal the Brumbies all-time record number of caps when he takes to the field for the 142nd time, levelling the mark set by legendary flanker George Smith.

Alexander lines up in an experienced front-row alongside Josh Mann-Rea and Alan Alaalatoa, who was man of the match against the Kings.

Skipper Sam Carter will lead the club on their first foray into Argentina with most the Brumbies squad, except for a handful of Australian internationals, never having tasted the ferocity of rugby in the country and ready for what is likely to be a baptism of fire.

The Jaguares will be playing the fourth of five consecutive home matches, and come into the game fresh having had the bye in Round 13.

They have won five and lost two of their home fixtures this season with both defeats coming in the last three outings, as the Sharks and Force came away from South America with victories.

In the backs, Tom Banks stays at full-back whilst Aidan Toua continues on the left wing, both having crossed the try-line in the 19-10 success in South Africa.

On the bench, there is another opportunity for back Andy Muirhead who made his debut seven days ago.


Tom Banks, Henry Speight, Tevita Kuridrani, Kyle Godwin, Aidan Toua, Wharenui Hawera, Joe Powell, Jordan Smiler, Chris Alcock, Scott Fardy, Sam Carter (capt), Rory Arnold, Allan Alaalatoa, Josh Mann-Rea, Ben Alexander.

Replacements: Robbie Abel, Nic Mayhew, Leslie Leuluaiali-Makin, Blake Enever, Jarrad Butler, De Wet Roos, Andrew Muirhead, Andrew Smith.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.