Super Rugby

Brumbies v Crusaders Super Rugby Preview Rd.9



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


The final match in Super Rugby Round 9 is on Sunday and in Canberra where the Brumbies host the Crusaders.

The Crusaders will head for Canberra full of confidence as they have won their last six matches this season and have the second most points in Super Rugby.

The Brumbies also go into the match with confidence as they beat the Waratahs in their last outing. However the Crusaders have won the last five matches between the sides.

The Brumbies have played the Crusaders 22 times in Super Rugby since 1996 and they have won 8 matches. This gives them a record of winning 36% of their matches against the Christchurch side.

The teams have met 11 times in Canberra and the Brumbies have won 6 matches and lost five. This includes the 2000 and the 2004 finals. In finals the teams have won one each in Canberra but overall the Brumbies have a record of wining 55% of their home matches against the Crusaders.

The average score when the Crusaders host the Brumbies in Canberra is : Brumbies 29 Crusaders 24.

The Brumbies last victory against the Canterbury-based outfit came in Round 2, 2009 where Christian Lealiifano scored a try in the 18-16 win.

One of the key matchups will be between two wingers. Joe Tomane goes into the match leading all of Super Rugby with 19 clean breaks, while Crusaders winger Nemani Nadolo is second with 15. Tomane has five tries for the season while Nadolo currently has three.

Both sides will honour the Anzac tradition in the match, with the Brumbies wearing a commemorative jersey. Brumbies players jerseys will be auctioned off following the match with a percentage of proceeds raised going to Legacy.

This is third Anzac match held at GIO Stadium, with the Brumbies winning the previous two (vs Chiefs 2014, vs Highlanders 2015).

For this match the Crusaders have made two changes. Ryan Crotty has a hamstring injury and has been replaced by David Havili. Johnny McNicholl is replaced by Jone Macilai.

On the replacements bench there are two changes with Sam Whitelock and Marty McKenzie both included in the 23.

The Brumbies have named an unchanged starting team but on the bench Michael Dowsett comes in for Joe Powell.

The Brumbies will be up for this match. The Rebels victory over the Cheetahs has dropped the Brumbies out of the play off places and into second place in the Australian Conference.

The Bookies have given the Crusaders a 2 point start for this Match – with an offer of up to $200 in Bonus bets. We would pick the Crusaders for this but the Brumbies will be slightly hungrier as they will want the top spot back in the Australian Conference. The Brumbies should win this by two.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ (Sky), Aus (Fox Sports), SA (SuperSport) and in the UK on Sky Sports 2.

Average score: Brumbies 24 Crusaders 29

Last five results
13 Jun 2015 Brumbies v Crusaders 24-37 Canberra
03 May 2014 Brumbies v Crusaders 20-40 Christchurch
05 May 2013 Brumbies v Crusaders 23-30 Canberra
11 Mar 2011 Brumbies v Crusaders 10-52 Nelson
14 May 2010 Brumbies v Crusaders 22-40 Christchurch

Brumbies overall record against the Crusaders
Played 22 , Wins 8 , Losses 14, Draws 0

Match No.70:Brumbies v Crusaders
Date : Sunday 24 April 2016
Venue : GIO Stadium, Canberra
Kick Off local: 16:05 local
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1:Nic Berry
Assistant Ref 2:Ed Martin
TMO :Ian Smith



Scott Sio , Stephen Moore (c) , Ben Alexander , Rory Arnold , Sam Carter , Scott Fardy , Jarrad Butler , Jordan Smiler , Tomás Cubelli , Christian Lealiifano (c) , Joe Tomane , Matt Toomua , Tevita Kuridrani , Robbie Coleman , Aidan Toua

Replacements: Josh Mann-Rea , Allan Alaalatoa , Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin , Tom Staniforth , Michael Wells , Michael Dowsett , James Dargaville , Nigel Ah Wong


1. Joe Moody , 2. Codie Taylor , 3. Owen Franks , 4. Luke Romano , 5. Scott Barrett , 6. Jordan Taufua , 7. Matt Todd , 8. Kieran Read (c) , 9. Andy Ellis , 10. Richie Mo’unga , 11. Nemani Nadolo , 12. David Havili , 13. Kieron Fonotia , 14. Jone Macilai , 15. Israel Dagg

Replacements : 16. Ged Robinson ,17. Wyatt Crockett,18. Mike Alaalatoa, 19. Sam Whitelock,20. Tim Boys,21. Mitchell Drummond, 22. Sean Wainui, 23. Marty McKenzie

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.