Super Rugby

Brumbies beat Bulls in Canberra


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

The second match on Friday in Super Rugby Round 11 is in Canberra where the Brumbies host South Africa’s Bulls.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

Christian Lealiifano kicks off and the match is underway.

2.00: The Brumbies knock on so the Bulls have a scrum. The Brumbies front row collapses so the Bulls have a penalty. They will kick for posts.

3.00; Francois Brummer takes the kick from out wide. He nails it. The Bulls lead.

5.00: Brummer enters the ruck at the side and concedes a penalty. Toua kicks for touch and the line out.

6.00; The Brumbies line out ball is knocked forward. Bulls scrum.

8.00: The Bulls win the scrum and clear.

9.00: The Brumbies disrupt the line out and win the scrum put in.

12.00: The Bulls attack the Brumbies but the Brumbies turn the ball over. The Brumbies try to chip the ball through but it goes into touch.

13.00: The Brumbies win the line out and quickly move the ball across the field. They go through three phases and chip ahead over the top. They are however called back for a penalty.

14.0: Lealiifano lines up the posts. There is bound to be a mix up sometime in this match as the Bulls are in light blue and the Brumbies are in dark blue kit. The shorts are the same colour. Lealiifano slots the penalty and the scores are level.

18.00: Another penalty to the Brumbies. Lealiifano nails it and the Brumbies lead.

22.00: Brumbies penalty. Lealiifano lines up the kick again and he nails it to extend the lead.

24.00: Penalty to the Brumbies for offside. Toua kicks for touch and the line out.

25.00: The Brumbies win the line out and use the maul. They drive about 15m and then go to the backs.

26.00: Another penalty to the Brumbies. Toua kicks for touch but he slices it and it goes dead. The Bulls get a scrum just inside their half.

29.00: Penalty to the Bulls. They kick for touch. The Bulls win the line out on the half way line. Brummer puts in a cross kick and the Brumbies come away with the ball.

31.00: Early engage from the Brumbies gives the Bulls a scrum penalty.

32.00: The Bulls lose their footing in the scrum and concede a penalty for collapsing. The Brumbies kick for touch but they fail to find it. The Bulls boot it back and eventually the ball goes into touch.

35.00: The Bulls attack down the wing. They go through 6 phases before the Brumbies turn the ball over. They lose it and the Bulls counter. The Bulls then lose the ball and the Brumbies chip the ball through and it goes into touch.

37.00: Penalty to the Brumbies in their half. Playing the ball on the ground. Lealiifano kicks for touch and the line out.

39.00: The Brumbies win the line out and work the ball into the Bulls half. They go through 5 phases. They get pressed back and then Stephen Moore knocks the ball on which ends the half.

Its half time.

The half time score was Brumbies 9 Bulls 3

The Bulls kick off and the second half is underway.

42.00: The Bulls make a strong start and they are awarded a penalty. Strauss signals that they will kick for posts. Brummer lines up the kick and he nails it.

44.00: Wow, from the line out the Brumbies get the ball to Nigel Ah Wong and using a dummy runner he slips through and scores. TRY!

45.00: Lealiifano adds the conversion.

48.00: Tomas Cubelli passes the ball back and it goes straight into Referee Ben O’Keeffe’s face. The Brumbies will get a scrum. From the scrum they win a penalty. Front row driving up.

50.00: Penalty to the Brumbies for not releasing. The Brumbies will kick for posts. Jan Serfontein is getting some attention from the doctor.

51.00: Lealiifano misses the kick. Francois Brummer comes on for the Bulls. Possible HIA.

54.00: The Brumbies get the ball to the Bulls tryline. Cubelli goes for the line but he is stopped just short.

56.00: The Brumbies go again and again at the line and then Cubelli slips over in the corner. TRY!

57.00: Christian Lealiifano takes the conversion kick and nails it.

60.00: The Bulls work the ball into the Brumbies half but the home side press them back and the ball goes into touch.

62.00: The Brumbies win a line out in the Bulls half. As they started to get on the front foot Aidan Toua knocks on.

63.00: The Brumbies come away with the ball at the scrum – a tighthead. The Brumbies move the play into the Bulls 22 as they go through 6 phases.

64.00: Penalty to the Bulls. Not releasing.

66.00: The Bulls set up a line out on the Brumbies 5m line. They win the line out and use the maul. Pocock concedes a penalty. Adriaan Strauss goes down. The medics come on. With some strapping  he carries on.

68.00: The Brumbies win the ball from the scrum. They run the ball to their 22m line and win a penalty for hands in the ruck.

71.00: Strauss comes off for the Bulls as the Brumbies have a line out. Marcel van der Merwe is also off.

73.00: The Brumbies win a penalty (Pocock) at the breakdown. The Brumbies kick for touch.

75.00: The water boys come on for both teams which holds the game up.  Josh Mann-Rea puts the ball in at the line out and the Brumbies attack the Bulls in their half.

76.00: The Bulls push the Brumbies backwards as they go through the phases. After 9 phases the Brumbies make no ground and knock on.

78.0: Penalty to the Bulls for the front row driving up. The Bulls kick for touch.

80.00: The Brumbies get the ball and attack down the wing but get stopped. The siren sounds and that is it.

The Brumbies have won.

The full time score is Brumbies 23 (9) Bulls 6 (3) 


Tries – N.Ah Wong, T.Cubelli
Pen – C.Lealiifano 3
Con – C.Lealiifano 2
Drop –
Cards –

Tries –
Pen – F. Brummer 2
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Ben O’Keeffe
Assistant Ref 1:Will Houston
Assistant Ref 2:Ed Martin
TMO : Peter Marshall



1. Scott Sio, 2. Stephen Moore (c), 3. Ben Alexander, 4.Rory Arnold, 5.Sam Carter, 6.Scott Fardy, 7.David Pocock, 8. Jarrad Butler, 9. Tomás Cubelli, 10. Christian Lealiifano (c), 11. James Dargaville, 12.Robbie Coleman, 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 14. Nigel Ah Wong, 15. Aidan Toua

Replacements : 16. Josh Mann-Rea, 17. Allan Alaalatoa, 18. Ruan Smith, 19. Tom Staniforth, 20. Blake Enever, 21. Jordan Smiler, 22.Joe Powell, 23.Lausii Taliauli


SP Marais, Travis Ismaiel , Jesse Kriel , Jan Serfontein, Bjorn Basson , Francois Brummer, Piet van Zyl, Hanro Liebenberg , Arno Botha, Lappies Labuschagne , RG Snyman , Marvin Orie , Marcel van der Merwe , Adriaan Strauss (c), Trevor Nyakane

Replacements: Bandise Maku Lizo Gqoboka, Werner Kruger, Jannes Kirsten, Roelof Smit, Rudy Paige, Tian Schoeman, Dan Kriel.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.