Super Rugby

Lions beat Brumbies in Canberra




Australia’s top team the Brumbies host the second match this weekend in Canberra and they host South Africa’s top team the Lions.

The Brumbies have played nine matches and won three. They have accumulated 18 points and are placed fourth as a result of them being the top Australian team.

The Lions are second overall with 42 points from 10 matches and nine wins. The Lions have won their last seven matches while the Brumbies have lost their last three.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

1.00: BEEP! BEEP! The Brumbies started the game with a deep kick from Wharenui Hawera. It is cold in Canberra tonight. It is slippery and Courtnall Skosan knocks on inside his 22.

4.00: some sustained pressure from the home team leads to a scrum, in midfield on the Lions’ 22.

5.00: TRY James Dargaville! Wait. The TMO is checking if Joe Powell knocked on in the build-up. He did. No try. The Lions survive, just.

9.00: The Lions are leaking penalties at every phase. The Brumbies kick to touch; they’ve been camped inside the visitors’ 22 for the entire opening 10 minutes.

11.00: A reprieve for the Lions after another knock on. Phew. Scrum to the Lions.

14.00: A break by Henry Speight is halted. somehow, again, the Lions keep them at bay. Last year’s runners-up need to get their hands on the ball.

17.00: The Brumbies win another penalty, this time they want the points. Hawera calls for the tee.

18.00: PENALTY Hawera! The Brumbies are on the board. 

20.00: The Lions cannot get their hands on the ball. The home team has had all the territory and possession inside the opening quarter.

23.00: Scrum reset. Lions have possession.

25.00: The Lions are running everything from their own half. They’ve been kept deep inside their half and have had little ball. Any possession has come via turnovers or Brumbies errors.

27.00: Finally, the visitors make some ground. They have a lineout on the opposition’s 22.

30.00: Penalty to the home side after some hands in the ruck. That is the fourth penalty conceded by Johan Ackermann’s team.

32.00: The Lions win a penalty and Elton Jantjies kicks a big kick, deep into Brumbies territory. Oh no! The Lions’ lineout is a mess. They lose their throw and the hosts clear.

33.00: Another lineout mistake by the Lions. Brumbies get the scrum and win a penalty. Great scrum by Ben Alexander and Allan Alaalatoa.

36.00: Hawera puts in a grubber and loses the ball. That was a poor option by the young standoff. Lionel Mapoe saved the day.

39.00: Henry Speight wins a turnover and the Brumbies attack. Great work by the winger. The lions were mounting a sustained attack, but it broke down.

40.00: The hooter sounds and Powell kicks the ball into the stands. This is the first time that the Lions have been held scoreless in the first 40 minutes since 2014.

The half-time score was Brumbies 3 Lions 0

41.00: BEEP! BEEP! Referee Paul Williams restarts the game and we are back underway in Canberra for the second-half. Johan Ackermann wants his team to attack more and get out of their own half.

42.00: Nic Mayhew is on for Ben Alexander. Lionel Mapoe gives away an early penalty and the Brumbies kick to the halfway line.

43.00: Warren Whiteley rips the ball from an attacker, then kicks to touch. It’s a poor kick and the visitors are under some more pressure, inside their 22. What is going on?

47.00: After three reset scrums, the Lions win the penalty. Jantjies misses his touch-finder and Aiden Toua clears.

49.00: Some fresh legs coming on for the Lions in the front row.

50.00: BIG SCRUM! The new front row wins a penalty. Wait, what? The Lions are having a shot at goal. this is a team that hardly ever kicks penalty goals.

52.00: PENALTY Jantjies! It’s all square in Canberra.

54.00: TRY Kwagga Smith! Sensational try from the sevens specialist. Toua threw a wayward pass, Mapoe gathered and sent Smith away. The flanker ran 80 metres to give his side the lead. Wow!

55.00: Jantjies converts Smith’s second Super rugby try and the visitors have scored 10 points in three minutes to lead by seven.

58.00: Lucky escape for the home team after Toua played fast and loose inside his 22. The Brumbies win the penalty and clear their lines.

60.00: Courtnall Skosan is penalised, not sure for what though. Sam Carter is down receiving treatment. Carter is up and points to the polls. Hawera will take a shot.

61.00: PENALTY Hawera! The standoff reduces the Lions’ lead to four.

64.00: Francois Mostert is penalised. Hawera initially points to the polls, then decides to kick to touch. The Brumbies have the line-out on the Lions 22.

65.00: The lock makes up for his earlier infringement, stealing the Brumbies throw. Big jump too.

67.00: Powell makes a smart break, but the Brumbies throw a loose pass that is intercepted. Somehow, they win the ball back and the penalty. Surely they will take the points. No, scrum, just outside the opposition’s 22.

69.00: Powell makes another break, pins his ears back and is tackled short of the whitewash. Ruan Ackermann gets over the ball and wins the penalty. Superb from the loose forward. Jantjies clears and the Lions are safe for now.

72.00: The Brumbies survive the Lions’ pressure and clear. time is ticking down for the home team to find the winning score.

73.00: Warren Whiteley is called over by the ref. Jantjies is penalised for lazy running. Hawera kicks to touch. Maybe take the points.

74.00: The Lions win another penalty inside their 22. Great work by the skipper and Skosan, combining to hold Tevita Kuridrani up. Lions scrum. Six to play.

76.00: Coetzee doesn’t find touch, the Brumbies come again. Penalty to the Lions, Smith with another steal. Jantjies does not get the ball into touch. Brumbies are running the ball from their line.

78.00: Pick and drives by the Lions, but they lose the ball and Smith is penalised. It’s last chance saloon for the home team.

80.00: PENALTY Coetzee! And that is the ball game. 


Live In-Play Betting.

Final score is Brumbies 6 (3) Lions 13 (0)


Tries –
Pen – Hawera (2)
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Smith
Pen – Jantjies, Coetzee
Con – Jantjies
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Paul Williams
Assistant Ref 1: Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 2: Jordan Way
TMO: Ian Smith



15 Aidan Toua, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 James Dargaville, 10 Wharenui Hawera, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Jordan Smiler, 7 Jarrad Butler, 6 Scott  Fardy, 5 Sam Carter (captain), 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Josh Mann-Rea, 1 Ben Alexander.

Replacements: 16 Robbie Abel, 17 Nic Mayhew, 18 Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin, 19 Blake Enever, 20 Ben Hyne, 21 De Wet Roos, 22 Jordan Jackson-Hope, 23 Tom Banks


15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Sylvian Mahuza, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Warren Whiteley (captain), 7 Ruan Ackermann, 6 Albertus Smith, 5 Francois Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Johannes Jonker, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Corne Fourie.

Replacements: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Ruan Dreyer, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Robert Kruger, 21 Dillon Smit, 22 Jacques Nel, 23 Anthony Volmink

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.