Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Brumbies beat Melbourne Rebels in Canberra

Super Rugby Live Scores - Live super rugby scoring

Super Rugby Live Scores - Live super rugby scoring

The Brumbies have played the Melbourne Rebels 17 times in Super Rugby since 2011, the Brumbies have won nine matches and lost eight times.

The Brumbies nine wins give them a record of winning 53% of their matches against the Rebels regardless of venue.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime, why not have a look at the match preview.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

1.00: PEEEEP! We are underway in Canberra for this Australian derby.

2.00: Knocked on by the Rebels by Marika Koroibete on their line gives the Brumbies an attacking scrum.

4.00: The Brumbies win the scrum-penalty and opt for another set-piece.

5.00: TRY! Irae Simone opens the scoring, stepping inside Frank Lomani, and score under the posts. 5-0

6.00: CONVERSION! Noah Lolesio adds the extras. 7-0

9.00: The Rebels have given away two penalties at the scrum, they are under immense early pressure here.

11.00: The Brumbies have another penalty advantage, this time from their driving maul.

12.00: TRY! Tom Banks scores his 20th Super Rugby try after taking Lolesio’s sublime chicken-wing offload, to score under the posts. 12-0

13.00: CONVERSION! Lolesio adds the extras. 14-0

16.00: The Rebels need to get a foothold in this game or it will be lost in the first half.

19.00: Another penalty goes against Ruan Smith, who is having a nightmare for the hosts.

20.00: The Rebels have stemmed the flow of penalties, but then they lose possession with some poor handling between Billy Meakes and Matt Toomua.

24.00: Smith gives away another penalty; Dave Wessels looks unimpressed.

25.00: TRY! Tom Cusack finishes off a slick move after Solomone Kata bounced Reece Hodge and played an inside pass to Simone. The centre popped a pass to his outside to the flanker, who races away and scores. 19-0

27.00: MISS! The kick is wide. 19-0

28.00: TRY! Kata gets in on the act after Pete Samu’s midfield break. The No eight races from inside his half before playing Joe Powell on his inside. Powell cuts inside and is tackled in the 22. The ball is recycled to Lolesio, who puts in a grubber to find the winger on the touchline to score. 24-0

30.00: MISS! Lolesio misses from out wide.

34.00: Another handling error kills a Rebels’ attack near the Brumbies try-line.

35.00: James Slipper is pinged for collapsing and would you know it, a scrum-penalty to Dave Wessels’ men.

37.00: Excellent defence by the hosts, who repel the Rebels’ six-phase attack. Scrum to the visitors, though, five metres out.

38.00: TRY! Angus Cottrell dots down with a powerful short-range run. 24-5

39.00: CONVERSION! Toomua adds the extras. 24-7

41.00: The hooter goes, the Rebels throw the ball around like a hot potato, looking for some more points before the break. They have a penalty advantage.

43.00: Koroibete knocks on, killing the attack.

The halftime score was Brumbies 24 Rebels 7

41.00: PEEEEP! We are back underway in Canberra.

42.00: TRY! Cottrell at the double. Rangi won the earlier turnover to set-up the attack. Isi Naisarani and Rangi both helped drive Cotrell over the whitewash. 24-12

43.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good from Lomani. 24-14

45.00: The Brumbies drive their way up the field with a strong driving maul and win a penalty.

48.00: The Brumbies have lost their mojo and are struggling in the scrums, now. Rebels come again.

50.00: Melbourne concedes two quick penalties, allowing Banks to set-up an attacking lineout inside the Rebels’ 22.

52.00: TRY! Folau Fainga’a continues his try-scoring streak with his second of the season after a smart lineout move involving skipper Allan Alaalatoa at the front of the set-piece. Ross Haylett-Petty gave away a silly penalty when his side had possession. 29-14

53.00: CONVERSION! Lolesio slots the wide conversion. 31-14

55.00: The Rebels have a good chance to score as they earn an attacking lineout.

57.00: NO TRY! Rangi’s try is chalked off for truck and trailer. 31-14

59.00: TRY! Dane Haylett-Petty slips Lolesio and Murray Douglas’ tackle before sprinting away from Simone to score. Game on! 31-19

60.00: CONVERSION! Lomani adds two. 31-21

64.00: DROP-GOAL! Lolesio with a rare drop-kick after an eight-phase attack went nowhere. 34-21

68.00: TRY! Tom Wright scores in the corner after taking Simone’s grubber and fighting off two defenders. 39-21

69.00: MISS! The kick is wide from Lolesio. 39-21

73.00: Melbourne wins a penalty and kicks to the corner.

74.00: Richard Hardwick knocks on at the base of the maul. Oh boy.

77.00: The Brumbies keep the Rebels at bay. Time is winding down.

78.00: TRY! Lomani dots down in the corner, he almost drops the ball, but the TMO rules it a try. 39-26

79.00: MISS! The drop-kick conversion is wide. 39-26

81.00: The hooter sounds, the ball is kicked out.


To refresh this page, click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Brumbies 39 (24) Rebels 26 (7)


Tries – Simone, Banks, Cusack, Kata, Fainga’a, Wright
Pen –
Con – Lolesio (3)
Drop – Lolesio
Cards –

Tries – Cottrell (2), D. Haylett-Petty, Lomani
Pen –
Con – Toomua, Lomani (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Nic Berry
Assistant Ref 1: Damon Murphy
Assistant Ref 2: Jordan Way
TMO: Ian Smith



15 Tom Banks, 14 Solomone Kata, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Irae Simone, 11 Tom Wright, 10 Noah Lolesio, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Pete Samu, 7 Tom Cusack, 6 Rob Valetini, 5 Caderyn Neville, 4 Murray Douglas, 3 Allan Alaalatoa (captain), 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 Scott Sio.

Replacements: 16 Connal McInerney, 17 Harry Lloyd, 18 James Slipper, 19 Nick Frost, 20 Will Miller, 21 Ryan Lonergan, 22 Bayley Kuenzle, 23 Andy Muirhead.

Melbourne Rebels

15 Dane Haylett-Petty, 14 Marika Koroibete, 13 Reece Hodge, 12 Billy Meakes, 11 Andrew Kellaway, 10 Matt Toomua, 9 Frank Lomani, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 Michael Wells, 6 Angus Cottrell, 5 Matt Philip, 4 Ross Haylett-Petty, 3 Ruan Smith, 2 Anaru Rangi, 1 Matt Gibbon.

Replacements: 16 Steve Misa, 17 Cameron Orr, 18 Jermaine Ainsley, 19 Gideon Koelenberg, 20 Rob Leota, 21 Richard Hardwick, 22 Ryan Louwrens, 23 Campbell Magnay.

Exit mobile version