Southern Kings

Bulls beat Southern Kings in Port Elizabeth



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


The Southern Kings will get to experience the effects of the Super Rugby travel factor first hand when they host the Bulls at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.
The Kings kick off and we are underway.
2.00: The Bulls get some early territory in the Kings half but there is a knock on.
3.00: The Kings win their first scrum and survive some pressure from the Bulls. They move the ball forward but at the breakdown the Kings go off their feet. Steyn kicks for touch.
4.00: The Bulls attack is ferocious in the Kings 22. Steyn sends an inside ball to Jan Sefontein and he goes over for the first TRY!
6.00: Morne Steyn adds the conversion.
8.00: The Refs Assistant comes in to talk to the Refs and we go to the TMO to check some foul play on Luke Watson. Deon Stegmann took Luke Watson out with the ball but there is no action so we carry on.
11.00: The Bulls get the ball into the Kings 22 again. The Kings have a scrum which they win but they concede a penalty for illegal binding. Steyn will kick for posts.
13.00: Steyn takes the kick but misses. The home crowd love it.
16.00: The Kings get some attacking ball. They make some ground but then the Bulls turn the ball over and kick it downfield. The Kings kick it back so Steyn kicks it back.
17.00: The Bulls get the ball into the Kings half but the Kings win a line out and Catrakilis kicks the ball into touch.
20.00: The Bulls start making ground in the Kings half. Ndungane misses a ball but we go back for a penalty to the Bulls.
21.00: Steyn takes the penalty kick and slots it. He has now scored 102 points for the season.
22.00; The Bulls attack from deep in their own half, Mapoe makes a break and plays the ball twice as they move the ball through the hands. Mapoe’s final pass is to Jano Vermaak who goes over to score. TRY!
22.00: Steyn adds the conversion.
26.00: The Bulls drive for the tryline again. They are becoming rampant. Chiliboy Ralepelle breaks off the back of a ruck and just gets the ball to the line. We go to the TMO to check. An earlier infringement means there is no try so the Kings have a penalty.
28.00: The Bulls are back on attack and in the Kings half. They are dominating the breakdown.
30.00: JJ Engelbrecht almost gets the Bulls over for their third try. The Kings hang on and George Whitehead knocks on so the Bulls have a 5m scrum.
33.00: After a couple of resets the Bulls win the scrum. They get pushed backwards a little and then Steyn goes for the drop goal. He nails it.
38.00: The Bulls go through six phases of attack and they get to Kings tryline but as they get there Jurgen Visser loses the ball in the tackle. Catrakilis is down getting some help after taking a knock on his elbow. He carries on.
39.00: The Bulls concede a free kick from the scrum on the 5m line. Catrakilis kicks for touch but he doesn’t find it and Steyn gets to it. The Bulls are back in full attack.
40.00: The siren goes but the Bulls have the ball on attack. Pierre Spies goes for a drop goal but it is truly awful. It’s half time.
The half time score was Southern Kings 0 Bulls 20
The second half is underway.
42.00: Jacques Potgieter comes on for the Bulls. The Kings win a scrum on their 22m line and Catrakilis clears the ball to the touchline.
43.00: The Bulls then concede a penalty at the breakdown. Catrakilis boots the ball downfield.
44.00: Luke Watson comes off and is replaced by Jacques Engelbrecht. The crowd give a very loud cheer.
48.00: The Bulls kick for touch and Catrakilis keeps the ball in play. The Bulls follow up and he is under pressure but Marcello Sampson gets the ball and a great little run. The momentum is suddenly with the Kings as they attack in the Bulls 22.
51.00: The Kings are still attacking in the Bulls 22. The ball goes to ground and Rallepelle pounces on the ball and wins a penalty. The assistant comes in so we go to the TMO for some foul play.
53.00: The Kings have the ball again in the Bulls have, they kick ahead for Sampson but Nudungane is there and the ball rolls out.
57.00: Steyn spots a hole behind the Kings defence and put kicks deep and it rolls into  touch.
60.00: The Kings enjoyed the better play in the last 20 minutes but the Bulls are coming back.
61.00: Penalty to the Kings in their half. Catrakilis kicks for touch.
65.00: The Bulls bring on Bjorn Basson. The Kings have the ball in the Bulls half and they have been much better this half. Still no points though.
67.00: The Bulls get the ball down into the Kings half. So far for the entire match the stadium DJ has been driving everyone nuts with his awfully annoying tunes but he has gone quiet for a bit leaving a deathly silence in the stadium. The Kings turn the ball over and kick down field.
70.00: The Bulls get a penalty so they kick for the corner. They have only scored two tries so need two more for the bonus point.
72.00: The Bulls are pushing for tries more now. Have they left it too late.
75.00: The Bulls win a penalty. They kick for the corner and take the line out. Another penalty to the Bulls for side entry.
76.00: The Bulls take the quick tap and run the ball. Jacques Potgieter goes with a burst of pace and he scores! TRY!
77.00: Louis Fouche adds the conversion.
79.00: The Bulls have some urgency now as they look for the bonus point.
80.00: The siren goes and Basson breaks down the wing, he cuts in and passes to Ndungane who races to the line and scores! It’s the bonus point TRY! The TMO checks. It’s awarded.
Louis Fouche adds the conversion. The Bulls win and go top in the SA Conference.
The full time score is Southern Kings 0 (0) Bulls 34 (20)


Southern Kings
Tries –
Pen –
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – J. Sefontein, J Vermaak, J. Potgieter, A. Ndungane
Pen – M.Steyn
Con – M.Steyn 2, L.Fouche 2
Drop – M.Steyn
Cards –

Match Officials
Francisco Pastrana
Assistant Ref 1:Ben Crouse
Assistant Ref 2:Christie du Preez
TMO : Johann Meuwesen


Southern Kings

15. George Whitehead,11. Marcello Sampson,13. Waylon Murray,12. Andries Strauss (Vice Captain),14. Ronnie Cooke,10. Demetri Catrakilis,9. Shaun Venter,8. Luke Watson (Captain),7. Wimpie van der Walt,5. David Bullbring,4. Steve Sykes,6. Cornell du Preez,3. Kevin Buys,2. Bandise Maku,1. Schalk Ferreira

Replacements: 16. Hannes Franklin,17. Grant Kemp,18. Rynier Bernado,19. Jacques Engelbrecht,20. Nicolas Vergallo,21. Scott van Breda,22. Siviwe Soyizwapi


Jurgen Visser , Akona Ndungane , JJ Engelbrecht , Jan Sefontein , Lionel Mapoe , Morne Steyn , Jano Vermaak , Pierre Spies (c), Arno Botha , Deon Stegmann, Juandre Kruger Flip van der Merwe , Frik Kirsten , Chiliboy Ralepelle , Morne Mellett.

Replacements: Callie Visagie , Werner Kruger, Paul Willemse, Jacques Potgieter , Rudy Paige , Louis Fouche , Bjorn Basson.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.