Bulls break Force fans heart with late penalty



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


The Bulls broke the Force’s fans hearts by kicking a very late penalty to take the Force out of the within seven point margin that would have earned the Force their first point of the year.

The Force rallied in the last quarter and scored three converted tries to come from 0-24 down to 21-27. Two tries from Scott Staniforth within minutes lifted the nearly 24000 strong crowd to heights they have not experienced yet.

With 15 minutes to go, the Bulls captain made a decision that may come back to haunt the Bulls at the end of the Super 14. Awarded a penalty in the Force 25, three tries to the good and 24-7 up, Matfield elected to go for the penalty instead of going for the try that would have given them a crucial bonus point.

Hougaard got the penalty to take the score to 27-7 but by the end of the match the Bulls had failed to score the fourth try.

Force Flyhalf Hilgendorf sparked the Force revival with their first try which led to two more converted tries by Staniforth.

In all it was a good night for the Force and a night of bad decisions for the Bulls who are top of the log for South African teams. If the Bulls are serious about a semi final spot they will have to play a lot better on the road and they will need to do a lot more than rely on a few home wins.

Against tougher opposition their decision making would have cost them dearly. Too many times in the 1st half when they needed a points buffer they went for the line-out which was the wrong option at the time.  

After the match Force Captain Nathan Sharpe thanked the crowd and said how proud he was of his team and promised the crowd that it would not be long before they brought home a win.

Final score 21-30


Staniforth 2
Shepherd 3


Hougaard 3
Conversions 3


1. Gareth Hardy 2.Tai McIsaac 3. David Fitter 4. John Welborn 5. Nathan Sharpe 6. Luke Doherty 7. Matt Hodgson 8. Richard Brown 9. Matt Henjak 10. James Hilgendorf 11. Digby Ioane 12. Scott Staniforth 13. Josh Graham 14. Haig Sare 15. Cameron Shepherd

16. Brendan Cannon (Luke Holmes) 17. Angus Scott 18. Pat O’Connor 19. David Pusey 20. Chris O’Young 21. Scott Daruda (Brock James) 22. Gavin DeBartolo


15. Johan Roets 14. Akona Ndungane 13. JP Nel 12. Wynand Olivier 11. Bryan Habana 10. Derick Hougaard 9. Fourie du Preez 8. Jacques Cronj’ 7. Pedrie Wannenburg 6. Pierre Spies 5. Victor Matfield (k) 4. Bakkies Botha 3. Andries Human 2. Gary Botha 1. Jaco Engels

16. Adriaan Strauss 17. Danie Thiart 18. Danie Rossouw 19. Francois van Schouwenburg 20. Heinie Adams 21. Morn’ Steyn 22. Danwel Demas

Referee Paul Honiss (NZ)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.