Super Rugby

Bulls make it four in a row against Sharks




The Bulls extended their winning streak over the Sharks to four straight wins with a 37-14 Super rugby victory at their home ground of Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria.

The Bulls led the scoreboard throughout the match forcing the Sharks to chase through from the third minute when Handre Pollard opened the scoring with a penalty.

The victory means that the Bulls remain unbeaten against South African sides as they have only lost to the Jaguares in the South African Conference.

The result moves the Bulls up to first place in the South African conference and second in the overall conference behind tournament leaders the Crusaders.

The Bulls outscored the Sharks by three tries to two in the contest so they earn four points from the match while the Sharks will return home without earning a point.

Bulls captain Handre Pollard was the star of the match while his winger Rosko Specman scored two tries in the match. Pollard had a personal score of 22 points from the match.

Bulls centre Jesse Kriel scored the match’s opening try and Pollard slotted the conversion as well as four penalties which gave the Sharks a 19-0 half time lead.

The Sharks started stronger in the second half and managed to get Jeremy Ward over the tryline shortly after the break.

The Sharks followed that up with a try from Daniel du Preez. Both tries were converted for the Sharks by Robert du Preez.

Pollard added a penalty for the Bulls but the Sharks second half surge had got them to within 13 points of the Bulls with ten minutes remaining.

Springboks and Bulls flyhalf Pollard then gave the Pretoria side some more breathing space with a drop goal shortly before Specman crossed for his second try.

Pollard’s conversion ended a one-sided match that the Sharks never looked like they could win.

Next week both the Bulls and the Sharks have a bye. The Bulls return in round six with a match at home in Pretoria against the Chiefs while the Sharks are also at home where they will host the Rebels.

Final Score Bulls 37(19) Sharks 14(0)


Tries -J.Kriel, R.Specman 2
Pen – H.Pollard 6
Con – H.Pollard 2
Drop -H.Pollard
Cards –

Tries – J.Ward, D. du Preez
Pen –
Con –  R. du Preez 2
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Ref 1:Egon Seconds
Assistant Ref 2:Divan Uys
TMO : Christie du Preez



15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Dylan Sage, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Handre Pollard (c), 9 Ivan van Zyl 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Tim Agaba, 6 Jannes Kirsten, 5 Jason Jenkins, 4 Hanro Liebenberg, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Schalk Brits, 1 Lizo Gqoboka

Replacements: 16 Corniel Els, 17 Simphiwe Matanzima, 18 Dayan van der Westhuizen, 19 Thembelani Bholi, 20 Paul Schoeman, 21 Embrose Papier, 22 Manie Libbok, 23 Divan Rossouw

15. Rhyno Smith,14. Sbu Nkosi,13. Lukhanyo Am,12. Jeremy Ward,11. Makazole Mapimpi,10. Robert du Preez,9. Louis Schreuder (c),8. Daniel du Preez,7. Jacques Vermeulen,6. Wian Vosloo,5. Hyron Andrews,4. Gideon Koegelenberg,3. Coenie Oosthuizen,2. Akker van der Merwe,1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements :16. Fezokhule ‘Fez’ Mbatha,17. Juan Schoeman,18. Thomas du Toit,19. Ruben van Heerden ,20. Phepsi Buthelezi,, 21. Grant Williams,22. Andre Esterhuizen,23. Curwin Bosch

u Toit,19. Ruben van Heerden ,20. Phepsi Buthelezi,, 21. Grant Williams,22. Andre Esterhuizen,23. Curwin Bosch

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.