Bulls name near lillywhite team to play Force




The Bulls have named a near unchanged side for their first Australasian match against the Western Force. The team has come under scrutiny this week after SARU sent all five SA teams a letter stating the SA teams are not complying with the rules of giving black players game time.

The Bulls came under particular pressure for only choosing two black players both of them on the wing. They have given limited time to bench players Chilliboy Ralapele, Heini Adams and Tim Dlulane. Of these players only Adams is named this week on the bench and Ralapele has not been named in the touring squad.

Backline coach Mike Bayly has told the South African newspaper The Beeld that the only consideration in naming the team was picking the best 15 players each week.

This week Jaco Engels is the only change as he replaces Danie Thiart who is named on the bench.

Bulls team to play the Force

15. Johan Roets
14. Akona Ndungane
13. JP Nel
12. Wynand Olivier
11. Bryan Habana
10. Derick Hougaard
9. Fourie du Preez
8. Jacques Cronj’
7. Pedrie Wannenburg
6. Pierre Spies
5. Victor Matfield (Capt)
4. Bakkies Botha
3. Andries Human
2. Gary Botha
1. Jaco Engels

16. Adriaan Strauss 17. Danie Thiart 18. Danie Rossouw 19. Francois van Schouwenburg 20. Heinie Adams 21. Morn’ Steyn 22. Danwel Demas

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.