Bulls ring the changes


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

The Blue Bulls Company (Pty) Ltd have issued a press release to address the concerns of the Super 14 defending champions’ supporters after the series of defeats, and especially, the lacklustre performances of the Bulls in this years competition.

The media release was issued at the press conference during which the team for Saturday’s match against the Highlanders at Loftus Versfeld was announced, with two changes to the back line and also the resting of three forwards highlighting coach Frans Ludeke’s selection.

The press release, issued by CEO Barend van Graan, reads as follows: ‘The Management of the Blue Bulls Company (Pty) Ltd and it’s shareholders, wish to address the grave concerns of our supporters: Remember, we the Bulls, have been here before we will get through it again.

* Heyneke Meyer was not available to coach the Vodacom Bulls after the 2007 Super 14 competition .Therefore another head coach had to be appointed.

* The Bulls have previously been in this position during the Vodacom Super 12 Competition and got through it.

* A serious conversation was held between the coaching team and the players on Monday at which everyone accepted their own responsibility for their share in the dilemma.

* The unanimous decision of the Board of the Bulls Company (Pty) Ltd and its shareholders, the Blue Bulls Rugby Union and SAIL, is that the situation will deteriorate if we change the coaching staff now. We must now allow our coaching staff to overcome the obstacles caused by the change in personnel and the new ELV’s.

* The simultaneous change in personnel – coaching and top players- and the new ELV’s had a greater impact on the Bulls than any other Super 14 franchise.”

Wikus van Heerden takes over the captaincy from injured Fourie du Preez, who is replaced at scrum half by Heini Adams with Francois Hougaard coming onto the bench.

Morne Steyn is flyhalf in Derick Hougaard’s place, while tighthead Rayno Gerber makes way for Werner Kruger. World Cup forward Danie Rossouw is replaced at lock by Wilhelm Steenkamp, and Deon Stegmann comes in for Pedrie Wannenburg on the flank.

The Bulls team is:


Zane Kirchner, Akona Ndungane, JP Nel, Wynand Olivier, Bryan Habana, Morne Steyn, Heini Adams, Pierre Spies, Wikus van Heerden, Deon Stegmann,Wilhelm Steenkamp, Bakkies Botha, Werner Kruger, Derick Kuun, Gurthro Steenkamp.


Replacements; Bandise Maku, Rayno Gerber, Jaco Engels, Danie Rossouw, Pedrie Wannenburg, Francois Hougaard, Derick Hougaard.

Sapa Super14.com

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.