Super Rugby

Bulls shuffle for Sunwolves match



Super rugby unlocked : SR standings | SR unlocked fixtures | TriNations : TriNations standings | TriNations fixtures |


Bulls coach Nollis Marais has rotated some of his players for their first Super Rugby match against the Sunwolves in Singapore on Saturday.

Nollis has handed first starts to Tian Schoeman, Jason Jenkins and Lizo Gqoboka in his run-on team after they all featured off the bench against the Sharks.

There is a return to the starting line up for Jesse Kriel and his return along with Schoeman, Jenkins and Gqoboka starting means that Jan Serfontein, Francois Brummer,Trevor Nyakane are all benched.

Jason Jenkins comes in for Grant Hattingh who is injured and did not travel to the East. Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg will be the back-up lock for this clash.

Marais also named Pierre Schoeman (in for Hencus van Wyk) on the bench.

Bandise Maku will make his first appearance this year if he takes to the field, while Schoeman will make his Super Rugby debut if he comes onto the field.

“We had a good session here in Singapore and I wanted to refresh our effort this week. The guys coming off the bench will be fresher than those who played against the Sharks and we are going to need a fast start. We have seen them play, but the Sunwolves will still be an unknown factor to us. They will be dangerous and we need to be sharp,” Marais said.

Bulls captain Adriaan Strauss said the team is excited to be in Singapore and play here for the first time.

“Our focus is to deliver 80 minutes of quality rugby on the field. We have not played here before, so will have to adapt to the conditions and the opponents, so need to be at our best. We are keen to deliver a performance that we and our supporters can be proud of.”


Warrick Gelant , Jamba Ulengo , Jesse Kriel, Burger Odendaal , Bjorn Basson, Tian Schoeman, Rudy Paige , Arno Botha, Jannes Kirsten, Roelof Smit, RG Snyman, Jason Jenkins, Marcel van der Merwe , Adriaan Strauss, Lizo Gqoboka.

Replacements: Bandise Maku , Trevor Nyakane , Pierre Schoeman, Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg, Nic de Jager, Piet van Zyl, Francois Brummer, Jan Serfontein.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.