Bulls start with Storming win




This was a live match report .



Preview –



South African derbies are usually brutal affairs and then you add the Bulls forwards and you are bound to get a bruiser. This is probably the pick of the SA games. A LOT has changed for the Champion Bulls. Heyneke Meyer and Victor Matfield have left and so has Todd Louden the backline coach.


Saturday February 16
Newlands, Cape Town
Head-to-Head: Played 11, Stormers 6, Bulls 4, Drawn 1
In Cape Town: Played 6, Stormers 3, Bulls 2, Drawn 1
Last season: Round 11, April 15 2007: Bulls 49-12 Stormers at Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria


Match detail


Peter Grant has kicked three penalties for the Stormers.  


Bryan Habana scored the first try of the matchbut injured his shoulder in the process. He was attented to but chose not to go off. Derick Hougaard converted the try.


Directly after being treated for his shoulder, Habana made a big tackle and appears to have injured his shoulder further.


The half time score was Stormers 09 Bulls 07


Bryan Habana was the only replacement for the Bulls in the second half, obviously going off with the shoulder injury.


The Bulls were the first to score in the next half as they were awarded a penalty for a Spear tackle. Derick Hougaard took the kick and slotted the ball between the posts.


Tiaan Liebenberg gave away a penalty for the Stormers so Derick Hougaard  took the opportunity to take a shot at goal and earned the Bulls another three points.


The Stormers give away another penalty in front of the posts and Derick Hougaard slots another penalty for the Bulls securing the win. The Stormers did not score a point in the second half.


The full time score is Stormers 09 Bulls 16





Tries –
Pen – Peter Grant (3)
Con –



Tries – Bryan Habana
Pen – Derick Hougaard (3)
Con – Derick Hougaard



Stormers: 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Tonderai Chavhanga, 13 Gcobani Bobo, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 Sireli Naqelevuki, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Luke Watson, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Francois van der Merwe, 3 Brian Mujati, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 JD Moller.
Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Adriaan Fondse, 19 Ross Skeate, 20 Bolla Conradie, 21 Joe Pietersen, 22 Dylan des Fountain.

Bulls: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 John Mametsa, 13 JP Nel, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Derick Hougaard, 9 Fourie du Preez (captain), 8 Pedrie Wannenburg, 7 Wikus van Heerden, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Rayno Gerber, 2 Derick Ku’n, 1 Gurthr’ Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 James van der Walt, 17 Jaco Engels, 18 Werner Kruger, 19 Dewald Potgieter, 20 Heini Adams, 21 Morn’ Steyn, 22 Marius Delport

Referee: Willie Roos (South Africa)
Touch judges: Jaco Peyper (South Africa), Linston Manuels (South Africa)
Television match official: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)
Assessor: Dennis Immelman (South Africa)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.