Super Rugby

Bulls v Stormers Rd.13 Super Rugby Preview




The final Super Rugby match in Round 13 is in Pretoria where the Bulls host the Stormers at Loftus Versfeld.

The Bulls have returned home from their Super Rugby tour of Australia where they lost two and won one match.

The Stormers will be coming off a loss to the Waratahs and the draw with the Sunwolves in Singapore last week. Both teams have therefore had to travel from outside South Africa for this match.

By the time that this match kicks off the Bulls and the Stormers will know if the Lions have beaten the Jaguares (possibly with a bonus point) and whether the Sharks have beaten the Kings (also possibly with a bonus point) which gives this match an extra edge.

The Lions lead the South African Group but as the Lions play earlier the Sharks (3rd), Stormers (2nd) and the Bulls could all overtake the Johannesburg side if they fail to win with maximum points. The Bulls are fourth and are four points behind so they would need the Lions to lose without a bonus point for them to win with a bonus point.

The Bulls have played the Stormers 25 times in Super Rugby since 1998 and the Bulls have won 9 matches, drawn one and lost 15. This gives the Bulls a record of winning 36% if their matches against the Stormers

The teams have played each other 12 times in Pretoria and both teams have won six and lost six. The average score when the Bulls play the Stormers is Bulls 27 Stormers 21.

The Bulls have played 10 matches this season and won six and drawn one. At home the Bulls have played four, won three and drawn one. The Stormers have played 10, won six, drawn one and lost three. Overall this exactly the same record as the Bulls but away from home the Stormers have won two and drawn one.

The Bulls have made four changes for this match as coach Nollis Marais has brought Travis Ismaiel (wing), Francois Brummer (flyhalf), Piet van Zyl (scrum half) and Arno Botha into the starting team.

On the replacements bench Grant Hattingh has regained fitness and is included on the bench. Hattingh last played for the team in Super Rugby in April, but has recovered from the injury that kept him on the sidelines.

The Stormers have brought Eben Etzebeth back from injury where he will start at lock with Pieter-Steph du Toit.

In the front row there are two changes as Oli Kebble starts at loosehead prop in place of the injured JC Janse van Rensburg and Bongi Mbonambi at hooker with Scarra Ntubeni on the replacements bench.

In the backs Damian de Allende will earn his 50th Super Rugby cap after making his debut for the Stormers in 2013 and will link up with Johnny Kotze in midfield with co-captain Juan de Jongh sidelined due to a hamstring strain, while Leolin Zas returns from suspension to take Kotze’s place on the wing.

The only other change to the backline which started against the Sunwolves in Singapore sees scrum half Nic Groom swop places with Louis Schreuder who starts on the replacements bench.

The Bookies have given the Stormers a 2 point start for this Match – with an offer of up to $200 in Bonus bets. The Bulls have always been tough to beat at Loftus and this year they are unbeaten at home. The Bulls should win this by 3.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ (Sky), Aus (Fox Sports), SA (SuperSport) and in the UK on Sky Sports 1 on the Red Button.

Average score: Bulls 22 Stormers 22

Last five results
27 Feb 2016 Bulls v Stormers 9-33 Cape Town
25 Apr 2015 Bulls v Stormers 13-15 Cape Town
14 Feb 2015 Bulls v Stormers 17-29 Pretoria
05 Jul 2014 Bulls v Stormers 0-16 Cape Town
10 May 2014 Bulls v Stormers 28-12 Pretoria

Bulls overall record against the Stormers
Played 25 , Wins 9 , Losses 15 , Draws 1

Match No.100:Bulls v Stormers
Date : Saturday 21 May 2016
Venue : Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Kick Off local: 19:20 local
Referee: Ben O’Keeffe
Assistant Ref 1:Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 2:AJ Jacobs
TMO :Johan Greeff



15 SP Marais, 14 Jamba Ulengo, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Travis Ismaiel, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Arno Botha, 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Lappies Labuschagne, 5 RG Snyman, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Lizo Gqoboka

Replacements: 16 Jaco Visagie, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Pierre Schoeman, 19 Grant Hattingh, 20 Deon Stegmann, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Tian Schoeman, 23 Dries Swanepoel


15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Schalk Burger, 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Nizaam Carr, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe (captain), 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Oli Kebble.

Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Alistair Vermaak, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Rynhardt Elstadt, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Brandon Thomson, 23 Huw Jones.



Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.