Bulls warm up World cup Boks


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

The Bulls have included three of their previously injured World Cup Springboks in the side to play the Lions in a warm-up match in Windhoek on Saturday.

The Blue Bulls’ promising young lock Hendrik Roodt recovered from his lower back injury and will scrum in the second row when the Vodacom Cup team takes on the Lions in a warm-up match at Wits on Thursday night.

Roodt will play at lock alongside Juandr’ Kruger, but the hard running eighthman Okkie Kruger was selected as Pieter Meyer’s partner at flank. The SA under 19-star Gerrit-Jan van Velze will wear the number 8-jersey.

Francois Hougaard is back at the Vodacom Cup team after his quick stint with the Super 14 lineup and in the midfield Luvuyo Mhlobiso gets a chance to impress coach Nico Serfontein with Stefan Watermeyer moving to the bench.

Serfontein said he would like to use the match against the Lions as an opportunity to give each and every one of his players game time but he is not so sure that the South African teams will benefit from the new laws.

“Traditionally South Africans aren’t very talkative on the field and normally only a few players are capable of quick decision making.

“The new laws suit teams that are good at playing from turnovers as well as quick tap penalties and that is not necessarily our strengths.

“The Bulls are a very talented side, but we aren’t multi skilled at this point in time. However the new laws will force us to adapt and the team that adapts the quickest will be successful.”

The captain of the Blue Bulls, Pieter Meyer, said the influence of the laws is so dramatic that it feels for him as if he is playing a wholly new game.

“The players don’t always know what is going on but we will get there.

“I think we will need about three matches to get use to it, but as a fetcher I welcome the new ruck laws.”

The teams (Kick off 18:00 at Wits):

The Bulls team is:

Zane Kirchner, Akona Ndungane, JP Nel, Wynand Olivier, Bryan Habana, Derick Hougaard, Fourie du Preez (capt.& pictured), Pedrie Wannenburg, Wikus van Heerden, Deon Stegmann, Danie Rossouw, Wilhelm Steenkamp, Werner Kruger, Derick Kuun, Gurthro Steenkamp.
Reserves: James van der Walt, Jaco Engels, Dean Greyling, Fudge Mabeta, Heini Adams, Morne Steyn, Danwell Demas, Hilton Lobberts, Deon Potgieter, John Mametsa, Marius Delport.

Earl Rose; Wigan Pekeur, Jaco van Schalkwyk, Thabang Molefe, Heinie Gordon; Michael Killian, Chris Jonck; RW Kember, Wilhelm Koch ‘, Kaunda Ntunja, Gerhard Mostert, Cobus Grobler, Gert Muller, Ethienne Reynecke, JC van Rensburg:
Reserves: Gert-Andries van der Merwe, Gavin Williamson, Alten Hulme, Charl du Plessis, Theo van Wyk, Roland Bernard, Doppies la Grange, Dusty Noble. 


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.