Cats 16 Reds 13




At half time the Cats were three points ahead of the Reds. The Reds scored the first try of the match with Peter Hynes going over.

Not long after The Cats kicked through and the ball was chased by Conrad Jantjes who was tackled in the process of kicking the ball up. The Tackler Peter Hynes was judged to have fouled Jantjes and was yellow carded and a penalty try was given.

Three penalties followed from Andr’ Pretorius to give the Cats the lead at half time although he missed one which is rare for him at this ground. Two Julian Huxley penalties after their try kept them in the running.

Half time score Cats 16 vs Reds 13

In the second half the Cats were unable to score and did not look as good as they did in the first half. Andre Pretorius added a new dimension for the Cats as did fullbakc Conrad Jantjes.

The Reds scrums were vastly improved from last week and this cost them the game last week. The home team had a number of opportunities to level the socre in the 2nd half but they were unable to add to their points tally by full time.

Final score Cats 16 Reds 23

Cats Penalties: Andre Pretorius (3 out of 5) Tries: Penalty try (19th min) Conversions: Andre Pretorius (1) Reds Penalties: Julian Huxley ( 3 out of 3) Tries: Peter Hynes (10th min), David Croft (52nd min) Conversions: Julian Huxley (2 out of 2)


Conrad Jantjes, Wylie Human, Jaque Fourie, Wayne Julies, Grant Esterhuizen, Andr’ Pretorius, Jano Vermaak, Cobus Grobbelaar, Wikus van Heerden (captain), Gerhard Vosloo, Willem Stoltz, Gordon Gilfillan, Marius Hurter, Delarey du Preez, Pietman van Niekerk.

Reserves: Lukas van Biljon, Lawrence Sephaka, Jannes Labuschagne, Ernst Joubert, Enrico Januarie, Doppies la Grange, Earl Rose


15 Drew Mitchell, 14 Peter Hynes, 13 Ben Tune, 12 Julian Huxley, 11 Caleb Brown, 10 Berrick Barnes, 9 Josh Valentine, 8 John Roe (c), 7 David Croft, 6 Tom McVerry, 5 James Horwill, 4 Mark Connors, 3 Rodney Blake, 2 Sean Hardman, 1 Greg Holmes.

Reserves: 16 Ole Avei, 17 Anthony Mathison, 18 Cameron Treloar, 19 Mitchell Chapman, 20 Nic Berry, 21 Lloyd Johansson, 22 Tim Atkinson.

Referee: Lyndon Bray (NZ)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.