Cheetahs and Chiefs draw in Bloemfontein



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Out of the last five matches between the Cheetahs and the Chiefs, current Super Rugby champions the Chiefs have won four and drawn one match.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Cheetahs kick off and we are underway.

1.00: The Chiefs take the ball to the breakdown and kick upfield so the Cheetahs attack from their own half.

2.00: The ball changes hands a few times and the Sarel Pretorius makes a break and the Cheetahs get on the front foot. They win a penalty just inside the Chiefs half and will kick for posts.

3.00: Johan Goosen takes the kick but misses.

6.00: Ryno Benjamin makes a break for the Cheetahs down the wing, he is caught and the Cheetahs keep the ball alive and Pretorius gets through a gap and goes over to score. TRY!

7.00: Goosen takes the conversion kick and nails it. Michael Fitzgerald has come off and Tanerau Latimer comes on.

10.00: Willie le Roux makes a break for the Cheetahs inside their half. The Cheetahs keep the ball alive and continue the attack but as they get to the Chiefs 22 they concede a penalty.

12.00: The Chiefs take the penalty quickly and Tom Marshall gets them into the Cheetahs 22. The Chiefs then win a penalty and Aaron Cruden says they will kick for posts.

13.00: Cruden bangs over the penalty and the Chiefs are on the board.

14.00: The Cheetahs make another break but Willie le Roux’s pass so Benjamin is suspect so although he went on to score we go to the TMO to check if it was forward. The TMO is happy with to award the try – the Chiefs won’t be.

15.00:Goosen adds the conversion.

17.00:Penalty to the Cheetahs inside their half for illegal scrumming. They will kick for posts.

18.00: Goosen takes the kick and he nails it. Michael Fitzgerald is back on for the Chiefs wearing the number 26.

21.00: The Cheetahs get the ball from the breakdown and they try to attack but knock on.

22.00: The Cheetahs win a penalty from the scrum so again they choose to kick for posts. Goosen takes the shot and misses.

26.00: The Chiefs move the ball through their hands and they edge closer and closer to the line and then August Pulu dives for the line and scores. TRY!

27.00: Cruden takes the conversion kick and slots it. The Chiefs trail by 7.

29.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs. Goosen takes the shot and nails it.

32.00: The Cheetahs win a scrum in their half, Pretorius breaks and chips ahead. Benjamin chases but Gareth Anscombe gets back and takes the ball over the tryline and dots it down. Cheetahs scrum.

34.00: Penalty from the scrum to the Cheetahs. Pretorius takes it quickly and snipes for the line and scores. TRY!

35.00: Goosen takes the conversion and nails it.

36.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs. The Chiefs kick to the corner as they are going for the bonus point try.

37.00: The Cheetahs win the line out and drive the maul over the line and Boom Prinsloo scores. TRY !

38.00: Goosen takes the conversion and he nails it.

40.00: The siren sounds as the Chiefs attack. They tap it and run. They Chiefs get tackled and don’t release so it is half time.

The half time score was Cheetahs 34 Chiefs 10

The Chiefs kick off and we are underway with the second half.

42.00: The Chiefs make a strong start to the match and they win a line out on the Cheetahs 5m line.

44.00: Somehow as the Chiefs are going forward Sarel Pretorius gets the ball and he runs about 20 m and is caught.

45.00: After another lineout Pulu goes over the line for the Chiefs but he is held up.

46.00: The Chiefs are keeping the ball in the Cheetahs 22. They go through the phases on attack they lose the ball and knock on. Michael Fitzgerald comes off for blood again.

47.00: The Cheetahs win their scrum and Le Roux kicks upfield. The Chiefs attack from deep.

49.00: The Chiefs lose the ball and Le Roux kicks for the corner. He nails it. The Chiefs win the line out and attack from inside their 22.

50.00: Penalty to the Chiefs. They kick for touch and the line out.

51.00: The Chiefs win the line out and they go through the phases and pick and go over and over again at the line and then Pulu goes over and scores. TRY!

52.00: Cruden takes the kick and he slots it. The Chiefs trail by 17.

55.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs. Goosen takes the kick and nails it.

57.00: The Cheetahs win a penalty from the line out so they kick for touch.

58.00: The Cheetahs attack but knock on.

59.00: The Chiefs win their scrum and they move the ball to the backs, they chip the ball ahead and Tim Nanai-Williams chases and het gets to the ball first and scores. TRY!

Cruden misses the conversion.

62.00: The Chiefs are starting to up the attack, Muliaina makes a break and chips ahead, the ball goes to a Cheetahs player but the Chiefs recycle and attack in the corner and Asaeli Tikoirotuma scores. TRY! That’s the bonus point TRY!

63.00: Cruden nails the conversion. The Chiefs are leading the scoreboard for the second half 19-3.

64.00: Sarel Pretorius comes off.

66.00: The chiefs are awarded a penalty so Cruden takes the kick. He misses.

69.00: The Chiefs are moving the ball around the field from side to side and then eventually the Cheetahs run out of numbers and Tikoirotuma scores. TRY!

70.00: Cruden takes the conversion kick and nails it.

72.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs. Goosen takes the kick and nails it. Cheetahs lead by four.

73.00: The touchie comes in for foul play by the Chiefs. Late tackle. The TMO will have a look. Nothing comes of it so we carry on.

76.00: The Chiefs knock on as they look to attack so the Cheetahs have a scrum.

77.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs. They will kick for posts. Goosen takes the kick from in front and he nails it. The Cheetahs lead by seven.

80.00: The siren sounds as the Chiefs win a penalty. They attack. The Cheetahs go offside so the Chiefs have another penalty. They run it again.

 81.00: The Chiefs get to the 5m line and go through the phases. The Chiefs are throwing everything at the Cheetahs and then Nanai-Williams goes over to score. TRY!

82.00: Cruden adds the conversion and its another draw.

The full time score is Cheetahs 43 (34) Chiefs 43 (10)


Tries – S.Pretorius 2, R.Benjamin, B.Prinsloo
Pen – J.Goosen 5
Con – J.Goosen 4
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – A.Pulu 2, T.Nanai-Williams2, A.Tikoirotuma 2 
Pen – A.Cruden
Con – A.Cruden 4
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
: Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 1: Stuart Berry
Assistant Ref 2: Francois de Bruin
TMO: Deon van Blommenstein



1. Trevor Nyakane , 2. Adriaan Strauss (C) , 3. Maks van Dyk , 4. Lodewyk de Jager , 5. Francois Uys , 6. Boom Prinsloo , 7. Lappies Labuschagne , 8. Jean Cook , 9. Sarel Pretorius , 10. Johan Goosen , 11. Hennie Daniller , 12. Ryno Benjamin , 13. Johann Sadie , 14. Cornal Hendricks , 15. Willie le Roux (VC)

Replacements :16. Ryno Barnes , 17. Caylib Oosthuizen , 18. Rossouw de Klerk , 19. Andries Ferreira , 20. Teboho Mohoje , 21. Shaun Venter , 22. Elgar Watts , 23. Howard Mnisi


1. Pauliasi Manu ,2. Rhys Marshall ,3. Ben Tameifuna ,4. Matt Symons ,5. Brodie Retallick,6. Michael Fitzgerald,7. Sam Cane ,8. Liam Messam (VC) ,9. Augustine Pulu ,10. Aaron Cruden (c),11. Asaeli Tikoirotuma ,12. Tom Marshall,13. Andrew Horrell,14. Tim Nanai-Williams ,15. Gareth Anscombe

Replacements :16. Nathan Harris ,17. Jamie Mackintosh,18. Josh Hohneck,19. Liam Squire ,20. Tanerau Latimer ,21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow ,22. Anton Lienert-Brown ,23. Mils Muliaina

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.