Cheetahs beat Hurricanes 27-25



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


The Cheetahs got their first home win in the Super 14 for 2006 and it was against the The Hurricanes who had led the points table until this weeks round of matches.  

With around ten minutes to go Ma’a Nonu was sin binned for a late tackle and this gave the Cheetahs the break they were looking for. The card was suggested by the linesman and replays showed that the call had been a little harsh.

Within a few minutes the Cheetahs had drawn level and Meyer Bosman kicked the conversion to give the Cheetahs the lead.

The Cheetahs came back from 25-10 down – through converted tries by fullback Bevin Fortuin and No. 8 Ryno van der Merwe, and a drop goal from scrumhalf Noel Oelschig.

Hooker Andrew Hore, the stand-in captain after Tana Umaga was replaced with a recurrence of his thigh injury after 10 minutes, scored the Hurricanes’ first try from a rolling maul in the first half.

Veteran prop Os du Randt scored a rare try of his own, and Hurricanes fullback Shannon Paku touched down to put Wellington 18-10 up at halftime.

Ma’a Nonu finished off a counterattack 13 minutes into the second half – and Jimmy Gopperth kicked the conversion – to put the visitors 15 points clear.

But Van der Merwe finished off a 25-meter rolling maul and flyhalf Meyer Bosman kicked the conversion in the 71st to cap the Cheetahs’ comeback.

In the dying minutes the Hurricanes tried hard to get into the Cheetahs half in order to score any points that would have given them the victory. The Cheetahs however kept pinning the Hurricanes back with the boot and this ensured the Cheetahs victory.

Cheetahs vs Hurricanes

Cheetahs: 15 Bevin Fortuin, 14 Giscard Pieters, 13 Ronnie Cooke, 12 Barry Goodes, 11 Gaffie du Toit, 10 Meyer Bosman, 9 Michael Claassens, 8 Ryno van der Merwe, 7 Juan Smith (c), 6 Kabamba Floors, 5 Cobus Grobler, 4 Barend Pieterse, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Os du Randt.

Reserves: 16 Ollie le Roux, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Ockie van Zyl, 19 Frans Viljoen, 20 Noel Oelschig, 21 Sinethemba Zweni, 22 Eddie Fredericks.

Hurricanes: Shannon Paku, Lome Fa’atau , Ma’a Nonu, Tana Umaga, Hosea Gear, Jimmy Gopperth, Piri Weepu, ThomasWaldrom, Chris Masoe , Jerry Collins , Jason Eaton, Luke Andrews, Neemia Tialata, Andrew Hore, Joe McDonnell.

Reserves; Luke Mahoney, Tim Fairbrother, Ross Kennedy, Serge Lilo, Brendan Haami, David Holwell, Tane Tu’ipulotu

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.