Cheetahs go down to Force



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


This was a live score update.


The Cheetahs, who are still chasing their first win abroad since rejoining the Super Rugby circuit last year, have constantly spoke this week about “disappointment”.

As team manager Naka Drotsk’ said: “The players know they let themselves down, they let Franco [Smith, assistant coach] and Rassie [Erasmus, head coach] down.”

It is a frank assessment of a team that has not played to its true potential this season and have also been far too erratic to be play-off contenders.

But now they are hoping to lift themselves for a game against one of the tournament’s most improved sides.

Drotsk’ rates the Force as one of Australia’s best outfits, even though they are behind the Brumbies on the standings.


Match detail


The Cheetahs have started well pushing close to the Force’s line but as yet there is no score yet.


The Force have come back and came close to scoring but Stanforth’s crucial pass was forward.


Matt Giteau sent a great pass to Ryan Cross who ran over to score the try. The Cheetahs defender came close to beheading Cross but appears to have got away with it.


Matt Giteau converted the try.


Giteau spots an overlap on the left of the field and the ball gets to Digby Ioane who runs over to score the try.


Matt Giteau converts again.


The game is now being played at a pace that is troubling the Cheetahs.


Duane Vermeulen is sent to the bin as the Force as putting huge pressure on the Cheetahs line. Ioane came close but did not pass.


Scott Staniforth gets the ball at pace and dives over to score the Force’s third try.


Matt Giteau adds the conversion from the corner flag.


Ronnie Cooke who missed a tackle on Staniforth is replaced by Burger.

Half time score was  Force 21 Cheetahs 0


The second half gets underway.


Out of the Blue the Cheetahs get an overlap on the right wing and Philip Burger scores a try for the Cheetahs.  de Waal cannot convert.


As the Force appear to have gone to sleep the Cheetahs socre another try. Ryno van der Merwe is the try scorer and de Waal converts.


The Force comeback and after a great team try it’s AJ Whalley who comes up with a bonus point try under the posts.


Matt Giteau converts and the Force are in charge again.


The Force show the same form they showed in the first half and this time it’s Tai McIsaac that scores the Force’s fifth try.


Matt Giteau misses the conversion for the first time.


Ollie le Roux leaves the field limping.


The Cheetahs get one back as Kabamba Floors scores a Cheetahs try. The try is not converted. 


There is a bit of handbags on the field so two players are given verbal warnings.


As the match comes to an end Scott Staniforth dives over the line for another great try. Paul Honiss goes upstairs to check everything is ok and it is. The pass came from that man Matt Giteau again.


Matt Giteau misses the conversion from the corner.


The Force showed great patience passing the ball wide and Ryan Cross scores the last try of the match.


Matt Giteau converts and its a record score for the Force.


Report to follow.


Full time score  Force 45 Cheetahs 17





Tries -Ryan Cross(2), Digby Ioane, Scott Staniforth (2),AJ Whalley,Tai McIsaac
Conversions -Matt Giteau (5)


Tries – Burger,Ryno van der Merwe,Kabamba Floors
Conversions – de Waal

Cards – Yellow – Duane Vermeulen



Western Force: 15 Drew Mitchell, 14 Digby Ioane, 13 Ryan Cross, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Scott Staniforth, 10 James Hilgendorf, 9 Matt Henjak, 8 Scott Fava, 7 Matt Hodgson, 6 Richard Brown, 5 Nathan Sharpe (c), 4 Rudi Vedelago, 3 Troy Takiari, 2 Tai McIsaac, 1 Gareth Hardy.
Replacements: 16 Luke Holmes, 17 AJ Whalley, 18 David Pusey, 19 David Pocock, 20 Chris O’Young, 21 Junior Pelesasa, 22 Haig Sare

Cheetahs: 15 Bevin Fortuin, 14 Eddie Fredericks, 13 Marius Joubert, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Ronnie Cooke, 10 Willem de Waal, 9 Falie Oelschig, 8 Ryno van der Merwe, 7 Juan Smith (c)/Heinrich Brussouw, 6 Duane Vermeulen, 5 Rory Duncan, 4 Corniel van Zyl, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Richardt Strauss, 1 Wian du Preez.
Replacements: 16 Hans van Dyk, 17 Ollie le Roux, 18 Bian Vermaak, 19 Kabamba Floors, 20 Michael Claassens, 21 Herkie Kruger, 22 Tiger Mangweni.

Referee: Paul Honiss (New Zealand)
Touch judges: Lyndon Bray (New Zealand), Paul Marks (Australia)
Television match official: Andrew Lindsay (Australia)
Assessor: Andrew Cole

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.