Cheetahs losing streak continues


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

This was a live score update – Full report to follow.





The Brumbies rarely go down at Canberra as they did last week against the Hurricanes. They simply don’t have the players they have enjoyed in the past and it’s showing.


Friday March 21

Canberra Stadium, Canberra
Brumbies v Cheetahs
Steve Walsh (NZ)
Asst. referees: Kelvin Deaker (NZ), Daniel Cheever (Aus)
TMO: George Ayoub (Aus)
Asessor: Scott Young (Aus)
Head-to-Head: Played 3, Brumbies 2, Cheetahs 1
In Canberra: Played 2, Brumbies 2, Cheetahs 0
Last season: Round 7, March 17 2007: Cheetahs 38-20 Brumbies at Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein


Match Detail


We are waiting for the kick off.


5.00: Conrad Barnard of the Cheetahs scored the first points of the match after the Brumbies gave a penalty which Barnard slotted.


12.00: The Brumbies get the ball from broken play after Peter Playford made a break and Mark Chisholm runs half the field to score the Brumbies first try.


14.00:  Mark Gerrard took the conversion from the sideline and hit it perfectly.


16.00: The Brumbies gave a pnelty away from about 38 m out so Conrad Barnard took a shot at goal but missed.


17.00: The Cheetahs get the ball at pace but  JW Jonker’s pass goes to ground 5m out from the tryline.


22.00: Peter Playford is forced to leave the field as a blood replacement.


23.00: The Cheetahs get fast ball out to Jongi Nokwe who is only covered by one Brumbies defender and he runs round Afusipa Taumoepeau to score the try.


24.00: Barnard’s conversion hits the post and goes in off it.


30.00: The Brumbies swing the ball out from a qucik tap and Stephen Hoiles passes to Peter Playford who scores a try.


32.00: Mark Gerrard just misses the conversion.


The Brumbies give away a penalty and Conrad Barnard slots the penalty.


40.01: The siren goes – it’s half time.


The Half time Score was Brumbies 12 Cheetahs 13


42.00: The Brumbies get off to a great start and come very close to scoring a try but the Cheetahs give a penalty away instead. Mark Gerrard takes a shot at goal from in front of the posts and misses – it’s a shocker!


48.00: The Brumbies Huia Edmonds gives a penalty away for playing the ball on the ground. Conrad Barnard takes and shot at goal and sends it wide.


52.00: The Cheetahs give a penalty away and this time Mark Gerrard slots it.


56.00: Falie Oelschig is sent to the bin for foul language. He did get a warning first.


57.00: Rory Duncan gets a Cheetahs team warning in general for foul language.


58.00: The Brumbies put 6 phases together using the number Tyrone Smith gets through to score the Brumbies third try.


The Brumbies are now in the hunt for a bonus point try.


59.00: Mark Gerrard slots the conversion.


65.00: Mitchell Chapman scores the Brumbies bonus point try after a great pass from Julian Salvi.


66.00: Mark Gerrard slots the conversion.


68.00: The Cheetahs get quick and Tewuis de Bruyn scores a try for the Cheetahs as the Brumbies are caught napping.


71.00: Jacque-Louis Potgieter slots the conversion. 


73.00: The Brumbies suffer a blow as Mark Gerrard leaves the field after it looks like he pulled a hamstring.  He is replaced by Matt Toomua.


78.00: The Cheetahs pile on the pressure desperate to end their losing streak. Heinrich Brussouw makes a break but he is short. Jacque-Louis Potgieter has a go but he is held up.


80.00: The Siren goes – There is still time for a scrum. They are awarded a penalty and go for posts in order to pick up a losing bonus point.  Jacque-Louis Potgieter takes it and its over.


Full time.


The Full time score is Brumbies 29 Cheetahs 23


Full report to follow.  


Tries – Mark Chisholm, Peter Playford,Tyrone Smith,Mitchell Chapman
Pen -Mark Gerrard
Con – Mark Gerrard (3)



Tries –  Jongi Nokwe, Tewuis de Bruyn
Pen -Conrad Barnard (2),Jacque-Louis Potgieter
Con – Conrad Barnard ,Jacque-Louis Potgieter
Cards – Falie Oelschig (yellow)





1. Nic Henderson 2. Huia Edmonds 3. Salesi Ma’afu 4. Peter Kimlin 5. Mark Chisholm 6. Mitchell Chapman 7. George Smith (c) 8. Stephen Hoiles 9. Joshua Holmes 10. Christian Lealiifano 11. Francis Fainifo 12. Tyrone Smith 13. Sanualio Afeaki 14. Peter Playford 15. Mark Gerrard


16. John Ulugia 17. Guy Shepherdson 18. Alister Campbell 19. Julian Salvi 20. Patrick Phibbs 21. Afusipa Taumoepeau 22. Matt Toomua.


Hennie Daniller, Eddie Fredericks, JW Jonker, Meyer Bosman, Jongi Nokwe, Conrad Barnard, Falie Oelschig, Duane Vermeulen, Darron Nell, Heinrich Brussouw, Barend Pieterse, Rory Duncan, Kobus Calldo, Adriaan Strauss, Wian du Preez.

Replacements: Richardt Strauss, CJ van der Linde, David de Villiers, Kabamba Floors, Tewuis de Bruyn, Jacque-Louis Potgieter, Hendrik Meyer.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.