Currie Cup

Cheetahs make four Currie cup changes for Griquas




Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Western Province have made one change to their starting side for their Currie Cup match against the Blue Bulls at Newlands on Friday.

Province coach John Dobson has resisted making too many changes to the team that did duty in Durban last weekend, as Western Province prepare to host the in-form Blue Bulls.

The only change to the starting line-up sees Bongi Mbonambi start at hooker, with Scarra Ntubeni moving down to the replacements’ bench where he will be joined by fit-again No.8 Nizaam Carr, who replaces Jurie van Vuuren.

Carr, who took over the captaincy earlier this season from injured squad leader Juan de Jongh, missed the Sharks game with a hamstring injury and will, wisely, be blooded back via the bench this week.

Scrumhalf Nic Groom will again lead WP into battle, as he did last week, with young Robert du Preez making his second successive start in the No.10 jersey after his impressive display last week as a late replacement for Kurt Coleman.

“We’re fortunate to have Nizaam coming off the bench, from a leadership point of view, after Nic led the team well last week, ” said Dobson.

“Kurt is obviously still out, but Robert did nicely last week and it’s a great opportunity for him to start his first Currie Cup match at Newlands.

“Bongi, meanwhile, is deserved of a start against his old team – in a rotational switch – and we’re looking to Scarra to provide a similar impact (to Bongi’s) off the bench this week. “

Said Dobson: “We’re looking forward to this weekend, as we have a bit of momentum after the last time when we ran into a red-hot Bulls team.

“We’ve been asked about revenge and putting one over the Bulls, after last time, but it’s not about that. For us, rather, it’s about building on what we’ve achieved over the past two weeks and continuing on the path that we’ve followed in terms of our team’s evolution. “

Western Province

15. Cheslin Kolbe , 14. Dillyn Leyds , 13. Johnny Kotze , 12. Huw Jones , 11. Seabelo Senatla , 10. Robert du Preez , 9. Nic Groom (captain) , 8. Sikhumbuzo Notshe , 7. Rynhardt Elstadt , 6. Chris Cloete , 5. Ruan Botha , 4. Jean Kleyn , 3. Wilco Louw , 2. Bongi Mbonambi , 1. Steven Kitshoff

Replacements: 16. Scarra Ntubeni , 17. Oli Kebble , 18. Chris van Zyl , 19. Nizaam Carr , 20. Jano Vermaak , 21. Demetri Catrakilis , 22. Kobus van Wyk

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.