Cheetahs make three changes for Chiefs clash



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske has made a three changes to his starting team to face the Chiefs as Trevor Nyakane comes into the starting line up to replace Caylib Oosthuizen in the front row.

There are two player changes and one switch to the team that played in the Cheetahs tour ending match in Round six.

Lappies Labuschagne returns to starting line up replacing Jean Cook who moves from number 7 on the side of the scrum to number 8 at the back of the scrum.

The backline is the same one that lost to the Blues in Auckland in Round 6 before the Cheetahs bye last week.

Teboho Mohoje takes Labuschagne’s place on the replacements bench and Caylib Oosthuizen drops down to the bench as well.

The match will be the Cheetahs first at home since they beat the Bulls in Round 2.

The Cheetahs have also revealed that Philip van der Walt will have an operation
on Wednesday and will be out of action for eight weeks after breaking his hand.

As the match kicks off early the afternoon and falls in the school holiday, Free State Rugby will be letting kids come to the rugby for free. So, if you are younger than 18 years and don’t want to miss out on the action at the Free State Stadium on Saturday, all you need to do is to collect a free ticket from the ticket office.


1. Trevor Nyakane , 2. Adriaan Strauss (C) , 3. Maks van Dyk , 4. Lodewyk de Jager , 5. Francois Uys , 6. Boom Prinsloo , 7. Lappies Labuschagne , 8. Jean Cook , 9. Sarel Pretorius , 10. Johan Goosen , 11. Hennie Daniller , 12. Ryno Benjamin , 13. Johann Sadie , 14. Cornal Hendricks , 15. Willie le Roux (VC)

Replacements :16. Ryno Barnes , 17. Caylib Oosthuizen , 18. Rossouw de Klerk , 19. Andries Ferreira , 20. Teboho Mohoje , 21. Shaun Venter , 22. Elgar Watts , 23. Howard Mnisi

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.