Cheetahs name provisional squad


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Cheetahs coach Naka Drotsk’ has named five new players in a provisional squad for the 2008 Super 14. They are Hennie Daniller, Jongi Nokwe, Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Phillip Lemmer and Ronnie Uys.

The Cheetahs have not been able to convert the Currie Cup success to Super 14 success. They were the first team to lose the Force and even though they were Currie Cup champions for the last two years they have finished 10th and 11th respectively in the 2006 and 2007 Super 14 seasons.

It doesn’t get any easier for Drotske as he will go into next years Super 14 without the services of a number of his former stars.

- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Full 2020 Super Rugby fixtures list
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Springbok Os du Randt has retired, Willem de Waal has left for Narbonne, Marius Joubert to Clermont, Ronnie Cooke to Brive and Jannie du Plessis has moved to the Sharks.

Injuries are also hindering Drotske as Alwyn Hollenbach has a knee injury and Bevin Fortuin has not not fully recovered from a hip injury picked up the Absa Currie Cup earlier this year.

Frans Viljoen had planned to play overseas but has been included in the Squad.

The Squad is as follows.

Backs: Falie Oelschig, Tewis de Bruyn, Sarel Pretorius, Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Conrad Barnard, Meyer Bosman, Hendrik Meyer, Alwyn Hollenbach, JW Jonker, Lafras Uys, Herkie Kruger, Jongi Nokwe, Eddie Fredericks, Howard Noble, Gavin Passens, Hennie Daniller, Bevin Fortuin en Herman Pretorius.

Forwards: Wian du Preez, Regardt Dreyer, Bees Roux, Ronnie Uys, Phillip Lemmer, Kobus Calldo, Adriaan Strauss, Richardt Strauss, Jaco du Toit, Hans van Dyk, Barend Pieterse , Rory Duncan, Flip van der Merwe, David de Villiers, Kabamba Floors, Hendro Scholtz, Heinrich Br’ssow, Juan Smith, Duanne Vermeulen, Frans Viljoen, Wayne van Heerden, Heinrich Stride, Darron Nell and Jonathan Mokuena.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.