Cheetahs put the boot into Hurricanes



Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

The Cheetahs produced the second shock result of Round four in the Super14 when the easily beat the Hurricanes by 28 points to 12 in Bloemfontein.


The result ended the Hurricanes three match winning streak and leaves the Bulls on top of the table and the only team who remain unbeaten.


The Hurricanes started strongly and scored the first try by David Smith almost with ease after they spread the ball wide for the first time.


Thereafter the Cheetahs prevented the Hurricanes from gaining any rhythm in their game and the Hurricanes also lost two players to the sin-bin which did not help their cause.


The Cheetahs kept the scoreboard ticking over constantly with penalty kicks from Naas Olivier and Meyer Bosman.


The Hurricanes outscored the Cheetahs by two tries to one but the seven penalties kept pinning the Hurricanes back.


The Cheetahs victory may however come at a cost as Heinrich Brussow was carried off.


The eventual result seemed unlikely when the Hurricanes, who had won their previous three matches, dominated possession and showed more flair on attack in the first half hour.


But while scrum-half Piri Weepu missed three early kicks at goal, Cheetahs centre Meyer Bosman and fly-half Naas Olivier combined to land eight kicks out of eight during the match.


Bosman booted four long range penalties while Olivier succeeded with three penalties and a conversion from the touchline of his team’s only try, scored by Kabamba Floors.


The game swung decisively to the Cheetahs in the second half, with the Hurricanes showing the effects of playing at high altitude after a long flight from New Zealand.


Cheetahs captain Juan Smith said the win came after a difficult week in which his team were heavily criticised for a poor performance at the same venue against the Highlanders.


“The Cheetahs are the most difficult team to play against,” quipped Smith.


“One week we’re the most shocking team and another week we can beat anyone.”


Hurricanes captain Andrew Hore said his team had gone to Bloemfontein expecting a win but admitted his players conceded too many penalties.


“We couldn’t play our game with the penalties we gave away,” he said.


The visitors were also handicapped when two of their players – Ma’a Nonu and Jeremy Thrush – were sent to the sin-bin.


The Hurricanes paid for missed opportunities in the first half and trailed 12-5 at the interval.


The New Zealanders scored the only try of the half, with left wing David Smith scoring his fourth try of the campaign after ten minutes following a slick move from a lineout.


The Cheetahs took control in the second half, however, and stretched their lead to 20 points with 20 minutes to play.


Replacement loose forward Floors scored in the right corner eight minutes after half-time when he collected a chip ahead by wing Jongi Nokwe and held off two tackles to force his way over.


Reduced to 14 men when Thrush was handed a yellow card in the 66th minute, the Hurricanes mounted a brief rally, with full-back Cory Jane scoring with ten minutes to go.


Final Score Cheetahs 28 Hurricanes 12


Tries – K Floors
Pen – M Bosman 4, N Olivier 3
Con – N Olivier
Drop –

Tries – D. Smith, C Jane
Pen –
Con – W Ripia
Drop –

Cards – Ma’a Nonu (31) Yellow, Jeremy Thrush (66) Yellow


Man of the match : Juan Smith


Match Officials
Referee: Bryce Lawrence (NZ)
Ass. refs: Jonathan Kaplan (SA), Joey Salmans (SA)
TMO: Johann Meuwesen (SA)



Cheetahs – 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Lionel Mapoe, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Naas Olivier, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Frans Viljoen, 7 Juan Smith (c), 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Waltie Vermeulen, 4 Nico Breedt, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Wian du Preez.

Reserves 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 David de Villiers, 19 Kabamba Floors, 20 Tewis de Bruyn, 21 Riaan Viljoen, 22 Danwel Demas.

Hurricanes – 1. John Schwalger,2. Andrew Hore (captain),3. Neemia Tialata,4. Bryn Evans,5. Michael Paterson,6. Victor Vito,7. Karl Lowe,8. Rodney So’oialo,9. Piri Weepu,10. Aaron Cruden,11. David Smith,12. Ma’a Nonu,13 Alapati Leiua,14. Andre Taylor,15. Cory Jane

Reserves :16. Dane Coles,17. Anthony Perenise,18. Jeremy Thrush,19. Scott Waldrom,20. Tyson Keats,21. Willie Ripia,22. Brett Mather

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.