Super Rugby

Cheetahs shuffle for Sunwolves in Singapore



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Cheetahs coach Franco Smith has named their Super Rugby side to play the first ever Super Rugby match at the National Stadium in Singapore on Saturday.

Smith has made a number of changes but notably the team will be without Springbok Lood de Jager who has been rested for the game in accordance to SA Rugby‘s rules that states that Springboks are not allowed to play in five consecutive matches.

As a result Francois Uys is included as vice-captain and Henco Venter replaces Neill Jordaan as number eight.

Charles Marias and Ox Nche switch places with Nche in the starting line-up and Marais on the bench.

Jacques du Toit will be starting as hooker, with Torsten van Jaarsveld on the replacements bench.

Maks van Dyk moves to the bench, while Johan Coetzee will be making his Super Rugby debut, starting as tighthead prop.

Neil Marias will be starting as flyhalf with Fred Zeilinga on the bench and Sias Ebersohn comes into the starting line up to replaced Clayton Blommetjies at fullback.

Hilton Lobberts comes into the team on the bench.


1. Ox Nche , 2. Jacques du Toit , 3. Johan Coetzee , 4. Carl Wegner , 5. Francois Uys (vc) , 6. Paul Schoeman , 7. Uzair Cassiem , 8. Henco Venter , 9. Shaun Venter , 10. Neil Marais , 11. Raymond Rhule , 12. William Small-Smith , 13. Francois Venter (C) , 14. Sergeal Petersen , 15. Sias Ebersohn

Replacements: 16. Torsten van Jaarsveld , 17. Charles Marais , 18. Maks van Dyk , 19. Reniel Hugo , 20. Hilton Lobberts , 21. Boom Prinsloo , 22. Tian Meyer , 23. Fred Zeilinga

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.