Super Rugby

Brumbies beat Cheetahs in Bloemfontein




Super Rugby returns to Bloemfontein in the fourth match on Saturday where the Cheetahs host Canberra’s Brumbies.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Cheetahs kick off and we are underway.

1.00: The Brumbies get the ball from the kick off and they run the ball. Joe Tomane races down the wing and chips the ball ahead. Tomas Cubelli follows up and scores. The TMO is called in and a forward pass is ruled.

2.00: The Brumbies win a penalty from the scrum. Toomua kicks for touch.

3.00: The Brumbies are almost in again but they are held out at the line. The Brumbies spread the ball wide and this time Ita Vaea scores. TRY!

5.00: Lealiifano adds the conversion.

7.00: The Brumbies win a penalty. They kick for touch and the line out. The Brumbies look dangerous with ball in hand. They win the 5m line out.

8.00: Brumbies use the maul but the Cheetahs stop it. The Brumbies go wide but knock on.

9.00: The Brumbies win the scrum on the Cheetahs put in. They go through the phases but the Cheetahs hold them out for now.

11.00: Penalty to the Brumbies. Lealiifano takes the kick and nails it.

14.00: The Cheetahs win a penalty from the scrum. They kick for touch and the line out.

15.00: The Cheetahs set up a maul which the Brumbies stop illegally so the Cheetahs have another scrum. They go for another line out and a maul. Scott Fardy comes through the middle and forces the turn over.

18.00: The Brumbies win a penalty from the scrum on their 5m line. Toomua kicks for touch.

20.00: The Cheetahs win a penalty back. Niel Marais takes the kick and nails it.

22.00: Sergeal Petersen gets the ball, sells a dummy and slips through the Brumbies, the ball goes to ground but the Cheetahs recycle and win a penalty. The Cheetahs take a quick tap and Uzair Cassiem crashes over to score. TRY!

23.00: Marais misses the conversion.

27.00: The Cheetahs win a line out in the Brumbies 22. They use the maul but the Brumbies defend and the ball goes dead.

29.00: Penalty to Brumbies for coming through the gate. Toomua kicks for touch and the line out.

33.00: The Cheetahs are reduced to 14 players as Ox Nche is yellow carded for lazy running.

The Brumbies use the numbers by spreading the ball from side to side and they pass the ball to Aidan Toua who scores. The Brumbies actually had a four player overlap.

36.00: Lealiifano misses the conversion.

38.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs. They kick for touch. At the line out the Cheetahs win a penalty. They kick for touch.

40.00: Sam Carter is yellow carded for foul play. The Cheetahs go again for the line with the line out. They win the line out but knock on. Its half time.

The half time score was Cheetahs 8 Brumbies 15

The Brumbies kick off and we are underway.

42.00: Scrum penalty to the Cheetahs. Niel Marais will take a kick at goal for the penalty. He misses.

43.00: Ox Nche comes back on.

44.00: Penalty to the Brumbies. Lealiifano takes the kick and nails it.

47.00: The Cheetahs have to turn and chase the ball and the Brumbies follow up and push them into touch. The Brumbies win the line out and move the ball to the backs.

51.00: The Cheetahs try the chip through and Sergeal Petersen chases. The ball gets dotted down behind the line so the Brumbies have a 22 drop out.

55.00:The Brumbies set up a line out on the Cheetahs 22 line. They win the line out and run at the Cheetahs. Lealiifano gets close. Allan Alaalatoa sets up Stephen Moore who crashes over. TRY!

56.00: Matt Toomua takes the conversion kick and nails it.

60.00: The Cheetahs work the ball down into the Brumbies 22. The Brumbies however win the ball as Fardy steals it at the line out and kick to the half way line to clear.

63.00: Cheetahs penalty from the scrum. They kick for touch and the line out. They win the lineout and snipe off the back of the maul, the Brumbies get back and shove the attack into touch.

64.00: The Cheetahs put the Brumbies under some pressure in their 22 but Robbie Coleman clears.

68.00: Still plenty of problems in the scrum. This time its a penalty to the Cheetahs who kick for touch and the line out. They lose the ball forward in the line out.

70.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs. The win the line out but Hilton Lobberts is shoved into touch.

71.00: the Cheetahs win the line out and attack the Brumbies in their 22 but the Brumbies turn the ball over and kick for touch.

74.00: Clayton Blommetjies slips off a tackle and passes to Sergeal Petersen who races down the wing to scores. TRY!

76.00 : Marais adds the conversion.

78.00: Penalty to the Brumbies for a high tackle. They kick for touch and the line out. the Cheetahs get to the ball and kick it upfield. The ball goes out of Brumbies player.

80.00: The Cheetahs almost get to score another try but the pass is poor. The Cheetahs are however awarded a penalty.

Marais takes the penalty kick for the losing bonus point. He nails it. Full time.

The full time score is Cheetahs 18 (8) Brumbies 25 (15) 


Tries – U. Cassiem, S.Petersen
Pen – N.Marais 2
Con – N.Marais
Drop –
Cards – O.Nche (33rd minute yellow)

Tries – I.Vaea, A Toua, B.Alexander
Pen – C.Lealiifano 2
Con – C.Lealiifano, M.Toomua
Drop –
Cards – S.Carter (40th min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 1:Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant Ref 2:AJ Jacobs
TMO : Willie Vos



1. Ox Nche , 2. Torsten van Jaarsveld , 3. Johan Coetzee , 4. Lodewyk de Jager (vc) , 5. Francois Uys , 6. Boom Prinsloo , 7. Uzair Cassiem , 8. Paul Schoeman , 9. Shaun Venter , 10. Niel Marais , 11. Raymond Rhule , 12. Joubert Engelbrecht , 13. Francois Venter (C) , 14. Sergeal Petersen , 15. Clayton Blommetjies

Replacements: , 16. Jacques du Toit , 17. Charles Marais , 18. Maks van Dyk , 19. Carl Wegner , 20. Hilton Lobberts , 21. Henco Venter , 22. Tian Meyer , 23. Fred Zeilinga , , ,


Scott Sio, Stephen Moore (c), Ben Alexander, Rory Arnold, Sam Carter, Scott Fardy, David Pocock, Ita Vaea, Tomás Cubelli , Christian Lealiifano (c), Robbie Coleman, Matt Toomua, Tevita Kuridrani, Joe Tomane, Aidan Toua

Replacements : Robbie Abel, Allan Alaalatoa, Ruan Smith, Tom Staniforth, Jordan Smiler, Michael Dowsett, James Dargaville, Nigel Ah Wong

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.