Super Rugby

Cheetahs beat the Force in Bloemfontein




The first Super Rugby match of Round 15 in South Africa is in Bloemfontein where the Cheetahs host the Western Force.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

Adam Coleman is a late change and has been ruled out. Rory Walton will start with Matt Phillips set to make his debut off the bench.

0.01: Clayton Blommetjies kicks off and the match is underway.

1.09: The game is paused after Rory Walton tackled Carl Wegner and stays down. Walton leaves the field for blood.

2.00: Clayton Blommetjies goes for a high ball and misses it completely. There is a knock on.

3.00: The Force win the scrum and Marcel Brache has a run for the Force but is caught in the Cheetahs 22.

6.00: The Force kick to the Cheetahs who knock it on giving the Force a scrum in the Cheetahs half.

7.00: Free kick to the Force from the scrum. They tap it and run but knock on.

7.00: Penalty to the Force. Ian Prior takes the kick and nails it. The Force lead.

8.00: Walton returns from the blood bin.

13.00: The Cheetahs chip the ball into the corner and chase but the ball goes dead.

14.00: The Cheetahs win a scrum on the 5m line. Sergeal Petersen races for the line but is stopped short and Paul Schoeman goes over and scores. TRY!

15.00: Zeilinga adds the conversion.

20.00:  Dane Haylett-Petty stops an attack from the Cheetahs and then gets back up and wins a penalty for his side.

21.00: Tetera Faulkner is stretchered from the field with a lower leg injury.

22.00: The Cheetahs go on the attack on Carl Wenger charges forward. He is stopped short and the Cheetahs go wide and Uzair Cassiem scores in the corner.

23.00: Fred Zeilinga takes the conversion kick but misses.

26.00: The Force attack in the Cheetahs half. Haylett-Petty gets them into the Cheetahs 22, Alcock comes close but Kyle Godwin sells a dummy and then crashes over and scores. TRY!

28.00: Pryor slots the conversion.

29.00: Clayton Blommetjies finds space on the blindside following a maul and he scores. TRY!

31.00: Zeilinga misses the conversion.

Cassiem gets the Cheetahs into space, The Cheetahs keep the ball alive and Sergeal Petersen goes over and scores. TRY!

33.00: Zeilinga adds the conversion.

36.00: The Cheetahs use the pick and go moving the ball up the centrefield. They knock on. There are a lot of injury breaks in this match which make it feel like a slow match. A player from either side is getting some attention.

38.00: Penalty for the Cheetahs for a high tackle on Raymond Rhule by Rory Walton. They kick for touch.

40.00: The Cheetahs take the line out and as the ball goes into the breakdown they win a penalty. Zeilinga slots it and extends the lead. It’s half time.

The half time score was Cheetahs 27 Force 10

40.01: The Force kick off and the second half is underway.

44.00: The Cheetahs almost get away in the centrefield but Kyle Godwin just manages to stop Francois Venter.

48.00: The Cheetahs win a penalty from the scrum. The Force are baffled as to why. The Cheetahs kick for touch.

49.00: The Force take the quick line out and Dane Haylett-Petty runs through all of the Cheetahs and scores. TRY!

50.00: Ian Prior takes the conversion kick and hits the post.

53.00; Penalty to the Force. Prior lines up the posts. He nails it. The Force trail by 9.

56.00: The Cheetahs go through 15 phases on attack before the Force turn the ball over and kick deep. Rhule kicks it back.

58.00: Sergeal Petersen breaks down the wing but gets caught. The Force turn the ball over and counter attack.

61.00: The Cheetahs attack out wide, the Force shove Clayton Blommetjies into touch.

65.00: The Force get the ball from a scrum. Solomoni Rasolea chips the ball ahead and Dane Haylett-Petty chases and scores. TRY!

65.00: Peter Grant steps up to take the conversion kick. He misses. Badly.

68.00: The Force are doing most of the playing. The Force sense they can earn an upset here. The Force win a penalty. Grant will have a kick at goal.

70.00: Grant slots the penalty and the Force trail by one. 16 unanswered points.

72.00: Penalty to the Force again. Grant slots it and the Force lead.

74.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs. They kick for touch and the line out. the Cheetahs win the line out and attack the Force.

76.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs. They will have a shot at the posts. It’s at the edge of Zeilinga’s distance. He nails it. The Cheetahs lead.

77.00: The Force win the ball at the breakdown. They attack but then knock on. The Cheetahs boot the ball away.

78.00: The Cheetahs give away a penalty on the half way line. Grant takes the shot but misses.

80.00: The Force have the ball – the siren has gone but the Force play on.

82.00: The Force go through 20 phases gradually edging forward.

The Cheetahs turn the ball over and kick it into touch.

Thats it. The Cheetahs have won.

The full time score is Cheetahs 30 (27)  Force 29 (10) 


Tries -P. Schoeman, U.Cassiem , C.Blommetjies, S.Petersen
Pen – F.Zeilinga 2
Con – F.Zeilinga 2
Drop –
Cards –

Tries -K.Godwin, D,Haylett-Petty 2
Pen -I Prior 2, P.Grant 2
Con – I Prior
Drop –
Cards –


Match Officials
Referee: Kubo Shuhei (Japan)
Assistant Ref 1:AJ Jacobs (South Africa)
Assistant Ref 2: Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa)
TMO : Willie Vos (South Africa)



1. Ox Nche , 2. Torsten van Jaarsveld , 3. Maks van Dyk , 4. Carl Wegner , 5. Francois Uys (vc) , 6.Uzair Cassiem  , 7. Oupa Mohoje , 8. Paul Schoeman , 9. Tian Meyer , 10. Fred Zeilinga , 11. Raymond Rhule , 12. Michael van der Spuy , 13. Francois Venter (C) , 14. Sergeal Petersen , 15. Clayton Blommetjies

Replacements: 16. Joseph Dweba , 17. Luan de Bruin , 18. Johan Coetzee , 19. Reniel Hugo , 20. Henco Venter , 21. Shaun Venter , 22. George Whitehead , 23. William Small-Smith ,

Western Force

1 Pek Cowan (C) , 2 Harry Scoble , 3 Tetera Faulkner , 4 Ross Haylett-Petty , 5 Rory Walton , 6 Brynard Stander , 7 Chris Alcock , 8 Angus Cottrell , 9 Ian Prior , 10 Jono Lance , 11 Marcel Brache , 12 Kyle Godwin , 13 Solomoni (Junior) Rasolea , 14 Luke Morahan , 15 Dane Haylett-Petty

Replacements : 16 Anaru Rangi , 17 Francois van Wyk , 18 Guy Millar , 19 Matt Phillips , 20 Richard Hardwick , 21 Ryan Louwrens , 22 Peter Grant , 23 Semisi Masirewa.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.