Super Rugby

Jaguares beat Cheetahs in Bloemfontein




The Cheetahs will be the first South African team to play in the new 18 team Super Rugby format when they host newcomers the Jaguares in Bloemfontein on Friday.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

Referee Stuart Berry blows his whistle, the Cheetahs kick off and the match is underway.  The Cheetahs are playing in a black and grey kit while the Jaguares are playing in Orange.

2.00: The Cheetahs concede a penalty and the Jaguares point to the posts. Nicolas Sanchez takes the kick but misses.

5.00: The Cheetahs almost get through in loose play with a break from Francois Venter but in the attack Sergeal Petersen suffers a knock. The Cheetahs knocked on so the Jaguares have a scrum.

7.00: The Cheetahs hold the Jaguares scrum and then the Argentine scrum collapses earning the Cheetahs a penalty. Fred Zeilinga takes the penalty kick but he misses.

9.00: Raymond Rhule enjoys a break through the Jaguares defence but he gets isolated and when he goes to ground he fails to release the ball and concedes a penalty.

10.00: The Jaguares go on the attack but they are a litle too loose with their passing and Francois Venter snatches an intercept ball and races away to score the opening TRY!

11.00: Zeilinga adds the conversion.

12.00: The Jaguares win a penalty so Nicolas Sanchez takes a kick and nails it to score his team’s first ever points in Super Rugby.

16.00: The Cheetahs win another scrum in their 22. They are going in low to reduce the Jaguares scrum strength. After winning the ball they kick upfield.

17.00: The Jaguares go on the attack and show some great hands but again its loose. Sergeal Petersen gets an intercept and races for the line. He is stopped short but the Jaguares lose Sanchez to the bin for synical play.

18.00: The Cheetahs win a line out with the penalty and they drive over the line. Torsten van Jaarsveld goes over and loses the ball as he goes over.  However there was foul play (Martin Landajo tried to kick the ball away illegally) and a penalty try is awarded. Martin Landajo is also yellow carded. The try is converted. Jaguares down to 13 players.

22.00: The Cheetahs expose the Jaguares at the line out by going deep and then coming back inside. That allows Zeilinga to pass to Torsten van Jaarsveld to slip through on the inside and score. TRY!

23.00: The conversion is missed.

24.00: The Cheetahs go on the attack again and they stretch the Jaguares outwide and they go over to score again.  Thomas Lavanini is seen in the TMO review kneeing William Small-Smith late as he scores so we will restart with a penalty to the Cheetahs on the half way at the restart. No card though.

24.00: Fred Zeilinga misses the conversion.

25.00: Zeilinga also misses the penalty kick from the half way line.

28.00: The Jaguares go through 6 phases and they kick to the corner and Emiliano Boffelli chases but he is just beaten to the ball by Clayton Blommetjies.

30.00: The Jaguares get a penalty in the Cheetahs 22, Landajo who has just come back on slips through and scores the first Jaguares TRY! Sanchez adds the conversion.

34.00: The Jaguares have really upped their game. They set up a line out on the Cheetahs 5m line. They win the line out but pushed out. The Jaguares win a penalty and kick the ball into touch for another line out.

35.00; The Jaguares win the line out and they drive over the line and Agustin Creevy scores the second TRY!

35.00: Sanchez slots the conversion.

39.00: The Jaguares are keeping the Cheetahs pressed back in their 22. The Cheetahs have a scrum but it collapses and has to be reset.

40.00: The siren sounds for half time. The ball is kicked into touch and its half time.

The half time score was Cheetahs 24 Jaguares 17

The Jaguares kick off and the second half is underway.

42.00: The Jaguares are pushing the Cheetahs back into their 22. Zeilinga has to take a quick kick to clear the ball.

43.00: The Jaguares get the ball back and continue the attack. They go through the phases and Rodrigo Baez crashes over to scores. TRY!

44.00: Sanchez slots the conversion.

46.00: The Cheetahs came close to scoring in the corner but the Jaguares scramble and tackle them into touch. The Jaguares win the line out and use the maul before clearing the ball into touch.

50.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs. Zielinga takes the kick and nails it. First points for the Cheetahs in the second half.

55.00: The Cheetahs win another penalty. Zeilinga takes the shot and again he nails it.

58.00: Tempers are flaring in the match. The TMO is called in to review and the players are warned and the Jaguares win a penalty. They kick for touch.

63.00: The Jaguares enjoy a spell on the attack but then Raymond Rhule gets the ball and kicks upfield. The Jaguares counter attack and go through the passes before Landajo splits the Cheetahs defence and scores. TRY!

65.00: Sanchez adds the conversion and the Jaguares lead.

68.00: The Cheetahs launch a counter attack but the game gets loose and suits the Jaguares more and the Cheetahs lose the ball. The Jaguares chip the ball upfield and Sanchez gets to it and finds touch. The Cheetahs get back and try the quick line out but they make a mess of it and knock on.

70.00: Drop goal attempt from the Jaguares and Sanchez…. he nails it.

73.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs in the Jaguares half for offside. Niel Marais who has just come on takes the shot from in front. He nails it.

76.00 The Jaguares work the ball up to the Cheetahs 5m line.  They get the advantage and there is a knock on so the Jaguares have a penalty. They kick for touch to keep the Cheetahs away from their tryline.

77.00: Jaguares win the line out. However as they press forward they knock on. Cheetahs ball but they will have to run 95m.

79.00: The Cheetahs have a scrum on their 5m line. They win the scrum but then lose the ball to the Jaguares. The Cheetahs win it back and run at the Jaguares as the siren sounds. Penalty to the Jagures!! They kick the ball out and win!

The full time score is Cheetahs 33 (24) Jaguares 34 (17)


Tries – F.Venter, Penalty, T.van Jaarsveld, W.Small-Smith
Pen – F.Zeilinga 2, N.Marais
Con – F.Zeilinga 2
Drop –
Cards –

Tries -M.Landajo 2, A.Creevy, R. Baez,
Pen – N.Sanchez
Con -N.Sanchez 4
Drop -N.Sanchez
Cards – N.Sanchez (17th min yellow), M.Landajo (18th min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Stuart Berry
Assistant Ref 1:Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant Ref 2:Lourens van der Merwe
TMO :Johan Greeff



15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Francois Venter (captain), 12 William Small-Smith, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Niell Jordaan, 7 Uzair Cassiem, 6 Boom Prinsloo, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Maks van Dyk, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Charles Marais

Replacements: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Ox Nche, 18 Luan de Bruin, 19 Reniel Hugo, 20 Henco Venter, 21 Paul Schoeman, 22 Tian Meyer, 23 Niel Marais


1 . Lucas Noguera, 2. Agustin Creevy (c), 3. Ramiro Herrera, 4. Guido Petti, 5. Thomas Lavanini, 6. Pablo Matera, 7. Rodrigo Baez, 8. Leonardo Senatore, 9. Martin Landajo, 10. Nicolas Sanchez, 11. Emiliano Boffelli, 12. Jeronimo De la Fuente, 13. Matias Moroni, 14. Santiago Cordero, 15.Joaquin Tuculet.

Replacements : 16.Julian Montoya, 17. Santiago Garcia Botta, 18. Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 19. Matias Alemanno, 20. Facundo Isa, 21 Gonzalo Bertranou, 22. Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, 23. Matias Orlando

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.