Rugby Championship News

Cheika finalises Wallabies bench for Springboks




Australia head coach Michael Cheika has finalised his Wallabies replacements bench for this weekend’s Rugby Championship match against South Africa’s Springboks.

Queensland Reds lock Lukhan Tui is set for his Test debut, after the 21-year old was named amongst the replacements ahead of Saturday night’s (Sunday morning AEST) clash against South Africa in Bloemfontein.

Tui is set to become Wallaby 914, just over a year after making his Super Rugby debut for Queensland against the Bulls.

Wallabies coach Michael Cheika has opted for a six-two split of forwards and backs amongst his reserves, with Henry Speight dropping off the extended bench.

Wallabies coach, Michael Cheika said: “We brought him (Tui) in earlier on in June and he got a bit of a look at it. He realised what was happening with the team, it was a little bit different and a level up from Super Rugby. Then he went away for a while and I was quite impressed with how he has been playing in the National Rugby Championship, not just his impact but his involvement.”

“I know that people might say ‘why do you do this with younger guys in this environment’ but at the end of the day, I see these lads as talented players. I want to get them time now and give them the experience now. I still think they can perform well.

“We don’t want to have any excuses for not working as hard as we can. It doesn’t have to be perfect but we have to work as hard as we can. We have nearly a whole forward pack on the bench there, and that sets a precedent. You have to go for it from the first whistle to the last,” Cheika said.


1. Scott Sio , 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau , 3. Sekope Kepu, 4. Izack Rodda , 5. Adam Coleman , 6. Jack Dempsey , 7. Michael Hooper (c) , 8. Sean McMahon, 9. Will Genia (vc), 10. Bernard Foley (vc) , 11. Reece Hodge, 12. Kurtley Beale, 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 14. Marika Koroibete , 15. Israel Folau ,

Replacements : 16. Stephen Moore, 17. Tom Robertson, 18. Allan Alaalatoa, 19. Rob Simmons, 20. Ned Hanigan, 21. Lukhan Tui, 22. Nick Phipps, 23. Samu Kerevi

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.