Rugby Championship News

Cheika names Wallabies squad for Argentina tour



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Australian Rugby head coach Michael Cheika has named a 29 man touring squad for the Rugby Championship match in Mendoza Argentina against the Pumas.

Wallabies trio Rory Arnold, Lopeti Timani and Izaia Perese will return to Australia ahead of Round Six of the National Rugby Championship next weekend.

Wallabies coach Michael Cheika will take a streamlined squad to Argentina for the clash in Mendoza next Sunday morning (9.40am AEDT) following Australia’s 27-all draw with the Springboks last night in Bloemfontein.

Timani and Arnold will go head-to-head next weekend with Melbourne Rising to take on Canberra Vikings at Frankston Oval while Perese is set to run out at Bond University for Queensland Country in their clash with NSW Country Eagles.

Wallabies coach, Michael Cheika said: “I want them to get a couple of games in the National Rugby Championship. They have all got NRC games next weekend and the week after before we come back in for the Bledisloe camp.

“Perese is killing it at training. That’s why I don’t just want him to stay here and train. He’s in a very competitive position and he’s got a great mindset and a great attitude. He’s coming along very nicely and I’m very happy with him but I want him to play footy. Wherever we can, we want them to play footy,” Cheika said.

The Wallabies will arrive in Buenos Aires late on Sunday evening local time, before moving to Mendoza ahead of their final Rugby Championship clash with the Pumas at Estadio Malvinas Argentinas.

Australia tasted success on their last visit to Mendoza back in July 2015, after 14 points from the boot of Bernard Foley secured a 34-9 win.

The Wallabies are currently in third place on the Rugby Championship table, three points behind South Africa who face New Zealand in Cape Town this weekend.

Updated squad for the Rugby Championship

Allan Alaalatoa, 17 Tests, Brumbies
Adam Coleman, 16 Tests, Western Force
Jack Dempsey, 4 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Tetera Faulkner, 2 Tests, Melbourne Rebels
Ned Hanigan, 8 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Michael Hooper (c), 73 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Sekope Kepu, 85 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Sean McMahon, 20 Tests, Melbourne Rebels
Stephen Moore, 123 Tests, Queensland Reds
Tatafu Polota-Nau, 76 Tests, Western Force
Tom Robertson, 14 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Izack Rodda, 3 Tests, Queensland Reds
Rob Simmons, 76 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Scott Sio, 37 Tests, Brumbies
Lukhan Tui, 1 Test, Queensland Reds
Jordan Uelese, 2 Tests, Melbourne Rebels

Kurtley Beale, 65 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Israel Folau, 60 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Bernard Foley (vc), 50 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Will Genia (vc), 83 Tests, Melbourne Rebels
Reece Hodge, 18 Tests, Melbourne Rebels
Samu Kerevi, 12 Tests, Queensland Reds
Marika Koroibete, 2 Tests, Melbourne Rebels
Tevita Kuridrani, 52 Tests, Brumbies
Billy Meakes*, Western Force
Nick Phipps, 56 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Joe Powell, 2 Tests, Brumbies
Curtis Rona, 2 Tests, Western Force
Henry Speight, 16 Tests, Brumbies

*denotes uncapped player

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.