Chiefs beat Cheetahs in Hamilton




Many Super Rugby fans will be expecting the Chiefs to run riot against the Cheetahs this weekend but some loyal fans will remember the Cheetahs last visit to Hamilton ended in a draw.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.


The Cheetahs kick off and we are underway.


2.00: The Cheetahs make a strong and fast start. After the kick off they keep the Chiefs pinned in their half.


3.00: Cheetahs try to hold on to the ball and work it forward. They get into the Cheetahs half but then Hika Elliot concedes a penalty and the Cheetahs kick for touch.


5.00: The Cheetahs are really trying to take the game to the Chiefs.


7.00: The Cheetahs are playing the game at pace and winning territory and possession. They also win a penalty for not rolling away and will kick for posts.


8.00: Johan Goosen takes the penalty kick but misses it.


10.00: The Cheetahs attack is relentless and they just keep attacking the Chiefs. Adriaan Strauss breaks the defence and gets the Cheetahs to about 10m out.


12.00: Cheetahs territory is at 86 % and possession is at 71%.


13.00: Willie le Roux tries a grubber kick but Anscombe is there to defend. However we go back for a penalty. Goosen will kick for posts from in front.


14.00: Goosen slots the penalty and the Cheetahs lead.  


16.00: The Chiefs get some much needed ball and they win a penalty just outside the Cheetahs 22 and they win a penalty. Anscombe will kick for posts.


17.00: Anscombe takes the kick and nails it to level the scores. Chiefs can feel a bit lucky to be level after how much they have played. It also shows how dangerous they are though.


18.00: Cheetahs win a line out and kick upfield, Raymond Rhule chases but can’t get to it and he knocks on.


20.00: The first scrum of the match is won by the Chiefs with a penalty for collapsing. They will kick for touch.


23.00: The Chiefs win a line out and attack. They look dangerous and within a flash they are up to about 10m out. They win a penalty so they kick for touch and set up a 5m line out.


24.00: The Chiefs take their time after they win the line out and Liam Messam goes in low and fast and scores the first TRY!


25.00: Anscombe takes the kick and nails it.


28.00: The Cheetahs attack the Chiefs just inside their 22 but Sadie loses the ball as the Cheetahs move the ball down the line.


30.00: The Chiefs win a scrum but the Cheetahs turn the ball over on the 22. They go through the phases on attack and eventually they win a penalty. The Chiefs also get a talking to. Goosen will go for posts.


31.00: Goosen takes the kick and misses. That’s 1 out of 3 which is shocking for him.


35.00: 78% of the game has been played in Chiefs territory. The Chiefs win a scrum in their half but the Cheetahs turn it over and attack. Still in the Chiefs half.


38.00: Lelia Masaga gets the ball and attacks. When the Chiefs get the ball and run it they instantly look so much more dangerous than the Cheetahs. Masaga however concedes a penalty so Goosen will kick for posts.


39.00: Goosen takes the kick and just hits the pad of the posts.


The siren goes for half time and the ball goes into touch on the far side and it is half time.


The half time score was Chiefs 10 Cheetahs 3


The second half is underway.


42.00: The Chiefs charge down a kick from the Cheetahs and Ben Afeaki pounces on the ball and dives over with it and scores. TRY! We go upstairs to check. The try is awarded.


42.00: Gareth Anscombe takes the conversion and nails it.


45.00:Augustine Pulu comes off and is replaced by Tawera Kerr-Barlow.


47.00: Injury break for a Cheetahs player who is down. Possession this half so far is Chiefs 47%.


48.00: Penalty from the scrum for the Cheetahs after Pauliasi Manu collapses. The Cheetahs kick for touch.


51.00: Another injury break as Bundee Aki gets some attention and comes off.


52.00: The Chiefs lose their line out and the Cheetahs pounce on the ball. They try to attack but get pushed back and they Tanerau Latimer concedes a penalty. Goosen kicks for touch.


54.00: Cheetahs win the line out and set up the driving maul. The Chiefs defend well though and push the Cheetahs back to the half way line with several phases. Bundee Aki who went off a few minutes ago we hear has a corked thigh.


58.00: The Chiefs trying to attack from inside their half. They win a penalty and try to run it. Eventually though the Cheetahs run the ball out.


59.00: The Chiefs line out is not straight so the Cheetahs have a scrum on their 22 line.


62.00: Chiefs win a scrum and fire into action. They look like they have had a shot of red bull. They work the ball to the Cheetahs tryline and go through the phases and Asaeli Tikoirotuma darts through to score the Chiefs third try. Interestiugly Craig Clarke has just come on.


64.00: Gareth Anscombe takes the conversion and nails it.


66.00: The Chiefs have stepped up. Aaron Cruden pops an inside pass to Gareth Anscombe who races in for the bonus point TRY!


68.00: Anscombe adds the conversion.


69.00: The Chiefs have really upped the pace of the game suddenly. They are pinning the Cheetahs back in their 22.


71.00: The Chiefs are all over the Cheetahs again about 5m out. They catch the Cheetahs offside and get a penalty. They run the ball and Rhys Marshall goes over for his debut Super Rugby try.


73.00: Anscombe’s conversion is spot on.


76.00: The Cheetahs have the ball but they have to attack from deep. The Chiefs then turn the ball over and attack.


78.00: The Chiefs push their way into the Cheetahs 22 and then when they get about 5m out Ben Tameifuna goes for the line, gets tackled but rolls over the line and scores.


79.00: Anscombe nails the conversion.


80.00: The siren goes. The ball goes out and that’s it.


The full time score is Chiefs 45 Cheetahs 3


Tries – L Messam, B.Afeaki ,A Tikoirotuma , G Anscombe, R. Marshall, B.Tameifuna
Pen – G Anscombe
Con – G Anscombe 5
Drop –
Cards –

Tries –
Pen – J Goosen
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
: Mike Fraser
Assistant Ref 1:Garratt Williamson
Assistant Ref 2:Glen Jackson
TMO : Vinny Munro



1. Pauliasi Manu, 2. Hika Elliot, 3. Ben Afeaki, 4. Michael Fitzgerald 5. Brodie Retallick, 6. Liam Messam ,(c) 7. Sam Cane, 8. Fritz Lee, 9. Augustine Pulu ,10. Aaron Cruden, 11. Asaeli Tikoirotuma ,12. Bundee Aki, 13. Tim Nanai-Williams ,14. Lelia Masaga, 15. Gareth Anscombe

16. Rhys Marshall,17. Ben Tameifuna, 18. Craig Clarke, 19. Tanerau Latimer, 20. Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 21. Charlie Ngatai ,22. Patrick Osborne


Hennie Daniller, Willie le Roux, Johann Sadie, Robert Ebersohn, Raymond Rhule, Johan Goosen, Sarel Pretorius , Philip van der Walt, Lappies Labuschagne, Frans Viljoen, Francois Uys, Lood de Jager, Lourens Adriaanse, Adriaan Strauss (captain), Trevor Nyakane.

Replacements: Ryno Barnes, Coenie Oosthuizen, Landman Ligtoring, Boom Prinsloo, Piet van Zyl, Riaan Smit, Ryno Benjamin.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.