Chiefs beat Highlanders in Mt Maunganui



Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

From 1997 to 2000 the Highlanders won every match between these teams. The Chiefs then won two matches and then the Highlanders beat the Chiefs in 2003.

Since that 2003 victory the Chiefs have won every match between these two teams which makes a run of six straight wins for the Chiefs.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.


Mike Delany kicks off and the match is underway.


1.00: The Chiefs win the first line out of the match and set up a maul.


3.00: The first penalty of the match is awarded to the Chiefs so Stephen Donald has a kick at the posts but misses.


5.00: Delany dodges a tackle which gets the Highlanders on the backfoot. The Chiefs run the ball forward and Lauaki has a snipe but the Highlanders defence is strong and it earns them a penalty.


6.00: They kick for touch.


8.00: Fetu’u Vainikolo has a wonderful run down the field. but Messam manages to get back and roll him in the tackle and in the process of being rolled out over the line he loses the ball. We go upstairs to check whether he knocked on or was out.


11.00; The Highlanders keep the pressure on and as they see they can’t get through the defence Robbie Robinson sends over a drop goal and nails it.


15.00: The Highlanders give away a penalty so Stephen Donald takes the shot and this one he nails.


19.00: Jimmy Cowan has a run but the Highlanders give away a penalty so Delany clears.


25.00: The Chiefs win a penalty so they scrum. The Highlanders steal the ball and dart for the line and as they hit the defence they spread the ball wide and Triggs scores in the corner.


27.00: Israel Dagg takes the conversion and misses from almost the touch line.


30.00: Well the new combination of Delany at 10 and Donald at 12 produces it’s first fruits as Delany breaks and sets up Donald who darts off showing a good turn of pace and scores the Chiefs first try of the match.


31.00: Donald adds the conversion from the touch line.


34.00: The Highlanders hit straight back as they swing the ball through the backline – great hands from everyone – Kenny Lynn sucks in two defenders and sends the pass out to Fetu’u Vainikolo who scores in the corner.


35.00: Israel Dagg takes the conversion from almost the same place he did five minutes ago and this one he nails.


40.00: The siren goes for half time.


The half time score was Chiefs 10 Highlanders 15


The second half is underway.


41.00: Delany again gets over the gain line and the Chiefs come close to scoring.


42.00: Chiefs win a 5m attacking line out. They set up the maul and then the ruck. 2m out but it’s slow.


43.00: Mils Muliaina goes over but is held up, the Chiefs go again and recycle but get held up again. We go back for a penalty. Donald kicks for touch.


44.00: After the line out Leonard finds Delany but he gets stopped so the Chiefs recycle the ball and then send the ball back to where it came and Sione Lauaki dots down a try untouched as easy as you like.


45.00: Stephen Donald adds the conversion.


50.00: Luke Braid has a run but the Highlanders stop him.


51.00: Delany puts in a beauty of a kick upfield and it goes straight to Sweeney. The Chiefs start to make good ground but the Highlanders are caught offside.


53.00: Stephen Donald takes the penalty shot and nails it.


55.00: The Highlanders look to hit back straight away so they run the ball into the Chiefs half. It pays off as the Chiefs give away a penalty so Dagg bangs over a penalty.


57.00: The Chiefs run the ball up to the line and then Sona Taumalolo burrows in and scores the Chiefs third try. We go upstairs to check. Try.


58.00: Donald adds the conversion.


63.00: Brendon Leonard comes off for the Chiefs.


67.00: The Chiefs give away a penalty so Israel Dagg gets the kick and nails it.



71.00: The Highlanders enjoy a sustained period of play keeping the pressure on through 10 phases. They finally get the break through but the pass goes to ground.


75.00: The Chiefs get a penalty for offside so Delany goes for the shot at 52m but misses.


78.00: The Chiefs get another break through Delany but the ball gets knocked on and then as the Highlanders run the ball they knock on. We go back for the first knock on.


80.00: The siren sounds so Mike Delany runs the ball out – that’s it – Chiefs win.



The full time score is Chiefs 27 Highlanders 21


Tries – S Donald, S Lauaki ,S Taumalolo
Pen – S Donald 2
Con – S Donald 3
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – H Triggs, F Vainikolo
Pen – I Dagg 2
Con – I Dagg
Drop – Robbie Robinson
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Marius Jonker (SA)
Assistant referees: Garratt Williamson (NZ), Shane McDermott (NZ)
TMO: Glenn Newman (NZ)


Chiefs – 1. Sona Taumalolo 2. Hika Elliot,3. Ben Afeaki,4. Craig Clarke,5. Culum Retallick,6. Liam Messam ,7. Luke Braid,8. Sione Lauaki,9. Brendon Leonard,10.Mike Delany,11.Dwayne Sweeney,12. Stephen Donald,13.Richard Kahui,14.Lelia Masaga,15.Mils Muliaina (captain)

Reserves: 16. Vern Kamo, 17. Toby Smith, 18. Jarrad Hoeata, 19.Colin Bourke 20. Junior Poluleuligaga, 21. Jackson Willison, 22. Tim Nanai-Williams.

Highlanders -1 Chris King,2 Jason Rutledge, 3 Clint Newland, 4 Josh Bekhuis, 5 Hayden Triggs, 6 Adam Thomson, 7 Alando Soakai, 8 Steven Setephano, 9 Jimmy Cowan ( c ), 10 Robbie Robinson, 11 Fetu’u Vainikolo, 12 Jason Shoemark, 13 Kenny Lynn, 14 Ben Smith, 15 Israel Dagg

Reserves , 16. Jason Macdonald, 17. Bronson Murray, 18. Joe Tuineau, 19. Tim Boys / John Hardie, 20. Sean Romans, 21. Mat Berquist, 22. James Paterson

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.