Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Chiefs beat Lions in Johannesburg

This match last year in Johannesburg saw one hundred and thirty seven points scored (72-65) between the teams in 84 minutes and is still a record score for a Super Rugby match.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.


The match is underway.


1.00: Strong start from the Chiefs but the Lions turn the ball over and attack.


2.00: Penalty to the Lions. They kick for touch.


5.00: Lions dominating the attack but the Chiefs hold them out.


9.00: Franco van der Merwe is having a good game for the Lions now that he is back in the team.


11.00: Penalty to the Lions. Burton Francis takes the kick and slots it. The Lions lead.


15.00: Jaco Taute is on for JC Janse van Rensburg – blood.


16.00: Another penalty to the Lions after a scrum. Burton Francis takes the kick and nails it.


18.00: Jano Vermaak races away after breaking through the Chiefs defence he just gets stopped though.


19.00: Francis tries a drop goal but misses.


20.00: The Chiefs hold the Lions out through 10 phases and turn the ball over but have to attack from deep.


21.00: The Chiefs work the ball into the Lions 25 and they get close. Scott Waldrom gets the ball and scores. TRY!!


22.00: Stephen Donald’s conversion kick hits the post and bounces out.


24.00: The Lions win another penalty. Francis takes the kick and it shaves the outside of the posts. Referee Marius Joncker calls over Chiefs prop Toby Smith and uses some bad language at him and then apologises to the viewers for the language he just used !! LOL.


27.00: The Chiefs attack the Lions but Messam plays the ball on the ground and concedes a penalty. Lions kick for touch.


28.00: The Lions defence opens up for Scott Waldrom who dashes through and scores his second try.


30.00: Stephen Donald adds the conversion.


36.00: The Lions show a great turn of pace which catches the Cheifs offguard and Michael Killian scores. TRY!! Special mention for Mapoe for creating it.


37.00: Burton Francis adds the conversion.


39.00: The Chiefs go through 10 phases on attack and as they go over the line someone shouts YES but we go upstairs to check. Romana Graham reaches over and scores. TRY!! 


40.00: Stephen Donald adds the conversion. It’s half time.


The half time score was Lions 13 Chiefs 19


The second half is underway.


42.00: The Chiefs are awarded an early penalty for not rolling away. Stephen Donald takes the kick but the wind blows it wide.


43.00: Penalty to the Lions. Burton Francis takes the kick and nails it.


48.00: The Chiefs are all over the Lions on attack pressing forward.


49.00: The Chiefs get to the line and drive over. Toby Smith is confirmed by the TMO as the tryscorer. Bonus point TRY!!


50.00: Stephen Donald misses the conversion.  


53.00: Lelia Masaga slices through the Lions defence and just before he gets to the tryline he passes to Dwayne Sweeney who scores the fifth TRY.


54.00: Stephen Donald adds the conversion.


56.00: Rory Kockott comes on as the Lions give away a penalty at the scrum.


57.00: Stephen Donald misses the penalty.


61.00: The Lions hit back as Josh Strauss bashes his way to the line and scores.


62.00: Burton Francis adds the conversion.


65.00: The Chiefs also try to hit back and work the ball up to the Lions line. They get a 5m scrum which they win andmove the ball wide but concede a penalty.


71.00: The Lions work the ball to the Chiefs line. They drive up to the line and then over. Cobus Grobbelaar goes over and scores.


72.00: Rory Kockott takes the conversion and nails it.


75.00: Penalty to the Chiefs. Stephen Donald takes the kick and nails it.


79.00: The Chiefs are keeping the Lions pinned back in their 25.The Lions win a penalty but it’s in their 25 so they have to run it.


80.00: The siren sounds but the Lions keep the ball alive. They go through the phases from deep. 11 phases and they get over the half way line but then they knock on.


82.00: That’s it the Chiefs win.


The final score is Lions 30 Chiefs 34



Tries – M Killian, J Strauss, C. Grobbelaar
Pen – B Francis 3
Con – B Francis 2, R Kockott
Drop –
Cards –

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Tries – S Waldrom 2, R Graham, T Smith, D Sweeney
Pen – S Donald
Con – S Donald 3
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Marius Jonker (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa), Christie du Preez (South Africa)
Television match official: Gerrie Coetzee (South Africa)


Lions:Michael Killian, Lionel Mapoe, Waylon Murray, Doppies la Grange (capt.), Deon van Rensburg, Burton Francis, Jano Vermaak, Warren Whiteley, Michael Rhodes, Cobus Grobbelaar, Franco van der Merwe, Wikus van Heerden, Patric Cilliers, Martin Bezuidenhout, JC Janse van Rensburg.

Replacements: Edgar Marutlulle, Kevin Buys, David de Villiers, Josh Strauss, Rory Kockott, Elton Jantjies, Jaco Taute

Chiefs :1. Toby Smith,2. Aled de Malmanche,3. Ben Afeaki,4. Craig Clarke,5. Romana Graham,6. Liam Messam,7. Scott Waldrom,8. Fritz Lee,9. Brendon Leonard,10. Stephen Donald,11. Sitiveni Sivivatu,12. Dwayne Sweeney,13. Richard Kahui,14. Lelia Masaga,15. Mils Muliaina

Reserves:16. Hika Elliot,17. Nathan White,18. Hayden Triggs,19. Sam Cane,20. Tawera Kerr-Barlow,21. Tim Nanai-Williams,22. Save Tokula

Exit mobile version