Chiefs break Crusaders home record




This was a live score update.



“Time to step up.” This is how Crusaders coach Robbie Deans headlined his regular weekly column on the team’s website.

It sums their situation up perfectly. They can’t afford a repeat of last week’s bumbling performance (a 6-15 loss to the Brumbies in a try-less game), because there are no second chances.

No doubt the Chiefs pose a real threat, even if the Crusaders have been unbeaten in 26 successive games at home. This run must come to an end at some stage, but there could be no worse time than in a semi-final.

At least the Crusaders know they have their destiny in their own hands and don’t have to worry about all the numerous play-off permutations.

As assistant coach Mark Hammett said this week, they must focus on their own game and the quality of the rugby they know they can produce.

“The only thing we can control is how we prepare and play, so that is all we will be focusing on,” Hammett said.


Match detail


The Crusaders were given an early penalty and Stephen Brett slotted it.


The Chiefs were then awarded a penalty as Campbell Johnstone took the scrum down. Stephen Donald missed the kick.


The Crusaders were given another penalty but they decided to go for the lineout. The Chiefs defended well and turned the ball over.


In the first quarter of the match the Chiefs have really taken the game to the Crusaders.


The Crusaders gave away another penalty and this time Stephen Donald kicks the ball between the posts to level the scores.


So far this match has been all Chiefs.


Almost a minute later the Crusaders gave another penalty away and again Stephen Donald kicked it giving the Chiefs the lead.


So far this does not seem to be the Crusaders night. They are missing quite a few tackles as well as not being able to hold on to the ball.


For a change the Chiefs give away a penalty and Stephen Brett slots it.


The Chiefs make a mistake in their 25 and the Crusaders run it. Ross Filipo scores the try and Stephen Brett converts the try.


The Chiefs fire straight back as Stephen Donald slots another penalty.


Stephen Donald slots another penalty and the Chiefs are one point behind.


The Chiefs take their time and there is a kick through for Sitiveni Sivivatu who scores the Chiefs first try. Donald missed the conversion.


Right before half time the Crusaders give another penalty away and again Stephen Donald slots it giving the Chiefs a 7 point advantage at the break.

Half time score was Crusaders 13 Chiefs 20


In the first minutes the Crusaders came out from the break a different side.


The Chiefs immediately gave away two penalties and Stephen Brett had two shots at goal. He missed one and got one over.


Dwayne Sweeney looked to have scored a try for the Chiefs but the TV ref said no. Vinny Munro the tv ref said it was lost forward.


As the Chiefs game has lost a little intensity the Crusaders Stephen Brett slot another penalty.  


The Chiefs get a penalty straight back and Stephen Donald extends the lead again.


Sitiveni Sivivatu scores another try for the Chiefs but leaves the field with a hamstring injury. Donald converts.


The Crusaders have a last balst for the bonus point but as they throw the ball wide the ball goes forward.


The do get a penalty but to get the bonus point they go for the try. McCaw takes a quick tap and we go upstairs to see if he grounded the ball.


The TV ref says yes and the Crusaders come away with the bonus point. Stephen Brett misses the conversion.


Report to follow. 


Full time score  Crusaders 24 Chiefs 30




Tries -Ross Filipo,Richard McCaw
Penalties -Stephen Brett (4)
Conversions –Stephen Brett


Tries – Sitiveni Sivivatu (2)
Penalties – Stephen Donald (6)
Conversions – Stephen Donald


Crusaders: 15 Leon MacDonald, 14 Rico Gear, 13 Casey Laulala, 12 Aaron Mauger, 11 Scott Hamilton, 10 Stephen Brett, 9 Andrew Ellis, 8 Mose Tuiali’i, 7 Richard McCaw (c), 6 Reuben Thorne, 5 Chris Jack, 4 Ross Filipo, 3 Campbell Johnstone, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Ben Franks
Replacements: 16 Ti’i Paulo, 17 Ben May, 18 Michael Paterson, 19 Kieran Read, 20 Kahn Fotuali’i, 21 Rua Tipoki, 22 Johnny Leo’o

Chiefs: 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Roy Kinikinilau, 13 Dwayne Sweeney, 12 Tane Tu’ipulotu, 11 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 10 Stephen Donald, 9 Brendon Leonard, 8 Sione Lauaki, 7 Marty Holah, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Keith Robinson, 4 Jono Gibbes (c), 3 Nathan White, 2 Tom Willis, 1 Simms Davison
Replacements: 16 Aled de Malmanche, 17 Ben Castle, 18 Kristian Ormsby, 19 Steven Bates, 20 Byron Kelleher, 21 Murray Williams, 22 Lelia Masaga.

Referee: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand)
Touch judges: Lyndon Bray (New Zealand) Chris Pollock (New Zealand)
Television match official: Vinny Munro (New Zealand)
Assessor: Alan Riley

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.