Super Rugby

Chiefs change two for Brumbies match




Chiefs coach Dave Rennie has named a Super Rugby team with two changes for their clash in Canberra against the Brumbies on Saturday.

The Chiefs are the top New Zealand team and the Brumbies are the top Australian team so the winner will top the Australasian Group.

Rennie has made just two changes to the starting fifteen who ran in nine tries last Saturday at FMG Stadium Waikato, to beat the Western Force 53-10

Both changes affect the backline with Anton Lienert-Brown returning from injury to start at centre and Toni Pulu getting an opportunity to impress on the right wing.

A lineup of hard-working men are poised to make an impact off the bench. There are three changes to the reserves with Maama Vaipulu coming in as loose-forward cover, midfield powerhouse Seta Tamanivalu to don jersey 22 and exciting young utility-back Shaun Stevenson making his return to the 23 after sustaining a minor shoulder injury in round one against the Crusaders.

Head coach Dave Rennie shared his thoughts on this week’s team selection and Saturday’s contest against Australian conference leaders, the Brumbies.

“It’s good to get some consistency in selection after last week. Anton Lienert-Brown comes back from injury to start after an outstanding performance against the Jaguares in Buenos Aires.”

“Toni Pulu gets his first start after an exciting cameo off the bench against the Western Force last week. It’s always a big challenge going to Canberra and playing against the best Australian side. It’ll be a test of us as individuals and a gauge as to where we’re at as a group” said Rennie. The Chiefs team to play the Brumbies is:

Nepo Laulala, Mitchell Karpik, Andrew Horrell, Augustine Pulu, Dominic Bird, Brodie Retallick, Tevita Koloamatangi, Nathan Harris, Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Glen Fisiiahi and Pauliasi Manu were not considered for selection due to injury.


1. Mitchell Graham , 2. Hika Elliot, 3. Siate Tokolahi, 4. Michael Allardice, 5. Taleni Seu, 6. Tom Sanders , 7. Sam Cane (cc), 8. Michael Leitch , 9. Brad Weber , 10. Aaron Cruden (cc), 11. James Lowe, 12. Charlie Ngatai , 13. Anton Lienert-Brown, 14. Toni Pulu , 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacements : 16. Rhys Marshall , 17. Atu Moli, 18. Siegfried Fisi’ihoi, 19. James Tucker, 20. Maama Vaipulu , 21. Kayne Hammington , 22. Seta Tamanivalu , 23. Shaun Stevenson

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.