Chiefs forced into backline changes


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Viliame Waqaseduadua, Callum Bruce and Dwayne Sweeney get the call up for starting spots in the Chiefs backline for this Saturday’s round six Super 14 match against the Bulls in Rotorua.

It has been five years since the Chiefs last played a competition match in Rotorua.

Chiefs coach Ian Foster has been forced to make changes to the Chiefs backline with Sosene Anesi, Richard Kahui and Sitiveni Sivivatu all ruled out of contention this weekend with ankle injuries.

Chiefs captain Mils Muliaina moves back to fullback for the Easter Saturday fixture. In the midfield Bruce starts at second five-eighth with Dwayne Sweeney at centre. The wings are Lelia Masaga and Waqaseduadua.

In the forwards Ben Castle returns to tighthead prop in the front row alongside Simms Davison and Tom Willis. The loose forward trio changes to Liam Messam at blindside, Tanerau Latimer at openside and Sione Lauaki at number eight.

The Chiefs team to play the Bulls on Saturday 22 March at 7.35pm at Rotorua International Stadium in Rotorua is:

1. Simms Davison,2. Tom Willis,3. Ben Castle,4. Toby Lynn, 5. Kevin O’Neill, 6. Liam Messam ,7. Tanerau Latimer ,8. Sione Lauaki,9. Brendon Leonard,10. Stephen Donald,11. Viliame Waqaseduadua,12. Callum Bruce,13. Dwayne Sweeney ,14. Lelia Masaga,15. Mils Muliaina (captain)

Reserves:16. Aled de Malmanche,17. Ben May,18. Jay Williams,19. Faifili Levave,20. David Bason,21. Murray Williams,22. Roimata Hansell-Pune

Note: Players not considered due to injury include: Richard Kahui (ankle), Sitiveni Sivivatu (ankle), Sosene Anesi (ankle), Jono Gibbes (hamstring) and Jamie Nutbrown (knee).


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.