Chiefs go down to Lions



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


This was a live score update – Full report to follow.






The Chiefs will want to bounce back and get back to winning ways against the Lions who have been disappointing again this year. The Lions will want to end their campaign on a high and beating the Chiefs would help but in reality would just paper over the cracks.

Saturday May 10
Ellis Park, Johannesburg
Lions vs Chiefs in Johannesburg
Stuart Dickinson (Australia)
Assistant Referee: Brett Bowden (Australia), Deon van Blommestein (South Africa)
TMO: Johann Meuwesen (South Africa)
Assessor: Dennis Immelman (South Africa)
Head-to-Head: Played 12, Chiefs 8, Lions/Cats 4
In Johannesburg: Played 6, Lions/Cats 4, Chiefs 2
Last season: Round 7, March 16 2007: Chiefs 34-7 Lions at Waikato Stadium, Hamilton


Match Detail


By half time the Lions had scored two tries to the Chiefs one try.


The Chiefs were leading 10-13 five minutes before the half and Willem Alberts scored a try to put the Lions in the lead. The try was converted by Earl Rose.


The half time score was Lions 17 Chiefs 13


54.00: Cobus Grobbelaar scores a try for the Lions.


55.00: Earl Rose converts the try.


64.00: Ben May gets sent off with a red card for standing on a players face.


69.00: Earl Rose slots a penalty.


71.00: Earl Rose slots a penalty.


75.00: Earl Rose is sent to the bin for a yellow card.


78.00: Lelia Masaga scores the Chiefs third try.


78.00: Stephen Donald slots the conversion.


The siren goes for full time.


81.00: Mils Muliaina scores the Chiefs third try.


81.00: Stephen Donald converts the try.


The full time score is Lions 33 Chiefs 27


Full report to follow.





Tries – Chris Jonck, Willem Alberts,Cobus Grobbelaar
Pen – Earl Rose (3)
Con – Earl Rose (2)
Cards – Earl Rose 75 (yellow)



Tries – Aled de Malmanche ,Lelia Masaga,Mils Muliaina
Pen – Stephen Donald (2)
Con – Stephen Donald (3)
Cards – Ben May 64 (Red)




Earl Rose, Louis Ludik, Jaque Fourie, Walter Venter, Rayno Benjamin, , Jaco van Schalkwyk, Jano Vermaak, Willem Alberts, Joe van Niekerk, Cobus Grobbelaar (capt.), Gerhard Mostert, Dewald Senekal, JC Janse van Rensburg, Willie Wepener, Heinke van der Merwe.

Replacements: Ethienne Reynecke, Ross Geldenhuys, Franco van der Merwe, Wilhelm Koch, Chris Jonck, Jannie Boshoff, Dusty Noble.


1. Ben May, 2. Tom Willis , 3. Ben Castle, 4. Toby Lynn , 5. Kevin O’Neill , 6. Liam Messam 7. Tanerau Latimer , 8. Sione Lauaki , 9. Jamie Nutbrown , 10. Stephen Donald , 11. Sitiveni Sivivatu , 12. Callum Bruce, 13. Dwayne Sweeney, 14. Lelia Masaga , 15. Mils Muliaina (capt)

Reserves: 16. Aled de Malmanche , 17. Simon Lemalu, 18. Jono Gibbes, 19. Faifili Levave , 20. David Bason ,21. Viliame Waqaseduadua, 22. Sosene Anesi

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.