Super Rugby

Chiefs make four changes for Bulls




Hamilton Super Rugby team the Chiefs have named a team with four changes to play the Bulls this Friday at Waikato Stadium.

Chiefs Super Rugby coach Colin Cooper has made four changes to the starting fifteen who competed against the Blues nearly a fortnight ago.

There are three changes in the forward pack with Angus Ta’avao replacing the injured Nepo Laulala at tighthead, Mitchell Brown coming in to partner Brodie Retallick and the impressive Lachlan Boshier moving into the loose forwards.

Exciting youngster Tiaan Falcon is rewarded a start at first-five eighth after impressing the coaches against the Blues when he was a late injury replacement for Shaun Stevenson.

Angus Ta’avao and Sean Wainui both start, having come in as confirmed injury replacements for Atu Moli and Tim Nanai-Williams for the rest of the season.

Wainui played a starring role in the win against the Blues, topped off with a great try, while Ta’avao made a good impact off the bench. Both players impressed throughout the pre-season, catching the eye of the coaches with their hard work and determination.

The home side have had a week to recoup with a bye last week, after they managed a gruelling 27-21 win over northern neighbours the Blues in round three.

Head Coach Cooper was thrilled for the team to be able to run out in front of the passionate home support.

“We are really looking forward to playing in front of our passionate home fans for the first time in the 2018 Super Rugby season. The players have had a bye last week and are excited to go again and build on our last result against the Blues.”

“I’m proud of how our players all played for each other last time out, and we will look to again improve against tough South African opposition. The team can’t wait to have the home fans behind them.”

It is a special match for Bay of Plenty prop Jeff Thwaites who could make his Super Rugby debut off the bench.


1. Aidan Ross, 2. Nathan Harris , 3. Angus Ta’avao , 4. Brodie Retallick , 5. Mitchell Brown, 6. Lachlan Boshier, 7. Sam Cane, 8. Liam Messam, 9. Brad Weber , 10. Tiaan Falcon , 11. Solomon Alaimalo , 12. Johnny Fa’auli, 13. Anton Lienert-Brown , 14. Sean Wainui, 15. Damian McKenzie,

Replacements : 16. Liam Polwart, 17. Karl Tu’inukuafe , 18. Jeff Thwaites, 19. Michael Allardice , 20. Luke Jacobson, 21. Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi , 22. Marty McKenzie, 23. Declan O’Donnell,

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.