Super Rugby

Chiefs make three changes for Hurricanes Semi-final



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Chiefs coach Dave Rennie has named his team to play the Hurricanes with Sam Cane, Seta Tamanivalu and Michael Leitch are all included in the side.

Rennie has named a fiercely determined and experienced 23-man team to do just that, led by inspirational co-captains Aaron Cruden and Sam Cane who was replaced at half time last week as a precaution for concussion.

There are three changes to the starting fifteen who outclassed the Stormers to win their quarterfinal 60-21 last Saturday local time in Cape Town, South Africa.

The formidable forward pack remains the same with Kane Hames, Nathan Harris and Atu Moli packing down together in the front row.

Dominic Bird and Brodie Retallick continue their dominant locking partnership, with Taleni Seu, Tom Sanders and Sam Cane forming a hard-working loose forward trio. In the backs, experienced All Black Tawera Kerr-Barlow will start at halfback this week, with support from Aaron Cruden at first five-eighth.

Anton Lienert-Brown moves to second five-eighth, with the explosive Seta Tamanivalu returning from injury to start at centre.

The exciting trio of James Lowe, Sam McNicol and Damian McKenzie complete the backline. Of note in the reserves is the return of workhorse Michael Leitch who has been sidelined since May after dislocating his thumb against the Rebels.

Nepo Laulala, Mitchell Karpik, Pauliasi Manu, Sam Henwood, Johan Bardoul, Glen Fisiiahi, Maama Vaipulu, Michael Allardice, James Tucker, Charlie Ngatai, Andrew Horrell, Stephen Donald, Augustine Pulu (All Blacks Sevens) were not considered for selection.


1. Kane Hames , 2. Nathan Harris , 3. Atu Moli , 4. Dominic Bird , 5. Brodie Retallick , 6. Taleni Seu , 7. Sam Cane (cc) , 8. Tom Sanders, 9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow , 10. Aaron Cruden (cc) , 11. James Lowe, 12. Anton Lienert-Brown , 13. Seta Tamanivalu , 14. Sam McNicol, 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacements : 16. Hika Elliot , 17. Siegfried Fisi’ihoi, 18. Mitchell Graham, 19. Lachlan Boshier, 20. Michael Leitch, 21. Brad Weber , 22. Toni Pulu , 23. Shaun Stevenson

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.