Super Rugby

Chiefs name new front row for Blues clash




Chiefs Super rugby head coach Colin Cooper has named his team to play Auckland’s Blues at FMG Stadium Waikato on Saturday.

A new front row combination packing down will have Angus Ta’avao move to loosehead prop for the injured Aidan Ross.

Nathan Harris will remain at hooker and Nepo Laulala at tighthead. Providing cover on the bench will be Tasman’s Ryan Coxon and tighthead Sosefo Kautai in jersey number 17 and 18 respectively.

Captain Brodie Retallick returns to combine with Tyler Ardron who will shift from number eight to complete the tight five.

In-form flankers Luke Jacobson and Lachlan Boshier remain with Taleni Seu to start at number eight to round out the forward pack.

Pita Gus Sowakula will hope to make an impact off the bench in his first game of the 2019 Super Rugby season and will be joined on the bench by Jesse Parete providing cover in jersey number 19.

The Chiefs backline remains unchanged from the side who faced the Jaguares in Argentina. Ataata Moeakiola returns from injury named in jersey number 23. He will be joined by reserve halfback Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi and midfield cover Alex Nankivell.

Aidan Ross, Atu Moli, Fin Hoeata, Jonathan Taumateine, Kane Hames, Michael Allardice, Mitch Karpik, Reuben O’Neill, Sam Cane, Sam McNicol and Tiaan Falcon were all unavailable for selection.


15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Sean Wainui, 13 Tumua Manu, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 Solomon Alaimalo, 10 Marty McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Taleni Seu, 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Luke Jacobson, 5 Tyler Ardron, 4 Brodie Retallick (c), 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Angus Ta’avao

Replacements: 16 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 17 Ryan Coxon, 18 Sosefo Kautai, 19 Jesse Parete, 20 Pita Gus Sowakula, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Alex Nankivell, 23 Ataata Moeakiola

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.