Super Rugby

Chiefs ring the changes for Southern Kings




Chiefs coach Dave Rennie has named a new-look forward pack to face the Southern Kings in Port Elizabeth on Saturday.

The Chiefs lost their last match so coach Rennie has made numerous changes to the side that played the Lions.

The revamped front row sees Mitchell Graham, Nathan Harris and Siate Tokolahi pack down for their first starts of the season. In the second row, Johan Bardoul partners with Michael Allardice.

Bardoul replaces the injured Brodie Retallick who is sidelined for 4-6 weeks after sustaining broken ribs against the Lions last week.

Taleni Seu, Sam Cane and Michael Leitch form the loose forward trio adding plenty of power and agility to the back of the scrum.

In the backs, Brad Weber gets his first start of the 2016 Super Rugby season at halfback. Co-captain Aaron Cruden retains the number 10 jersey, with Charlie Ngatai and Seta Tamanivalu continuing their dominant partnership in the mid-field for the third successive week.

Glen Fisiiahi impressed in his debut to earn his first start on the right wing, with James Lowe and Damian McKenzie rounding out the backline in jerseys 11 and 15 respectively.

The strong reserve bench packs a punch with Rhys Marshall, Pauliasi Manu and 2015 gold medal winning New Zealand Under-20 captain Atu Moli on hand as front row replacements.

They are joined on the bench by fellow forwards James Tucker and Maama Vaipulu.

Replacement halfback Tawera Kerr-Barlow offers plenty of experience, with Anton Lienert-Brown and Sam McNicol ready to add impact to the backline off the bench.

Should Atu Moli and James Tucker take the field, they will be making their Super Rugby debuts while Sam McNicol is in line to earn his first cap for the Chiefs.


1. Mitchell Graham, 2. Nathan Harris, 3. Siate Tokolahi, 4. Michael Allardice, 5. Johan Bardoul, 6. Taleni Seu , 7. Sam Cane co-captain, 8. Michael Leitch , 9. Brad Weber, 10. Aaron Cruden co-captain, 11. James Lowe , 12. Charlie Ngatai, 13. Seta Tamanivalu 14. Glen Fisiiahi , 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacements : 16. Rhys Marshall , 17. Pauliasi Manu , 18. Atu Moli**, 19. James Tucker**, 20. Maama Vaipulu , 21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow , 22. Anton Lienert-Brown , 23. Sam McNicol*

*denotes Chiefs debut,
**denotes Super Rugby debutant

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.