Super Rugby

Chiefs shuffle pack for Sharks clash




Chiefs Super rugby head coach Colin Cooper has named a team with a changed pack for this Saturday’s match against the Sharks at Hamilton’s FMG Stadium Waikato.

Cooper has had to reshuffle his forward pack following injuries to Michael Allardice (ankle) and Lachlan Boshier (ribs) against the Highlanders last week.

Tyler Ardron will shift into lock combining with Mitchell Brown. Jesse Parete moves from the bench to start at six, with Luke Jacobson moving to number eight.

Mitch Karpik returns from a knee injury to start on the openside.

Cooper has named an unchanged backline from the side that took the field in Dunedin. Halfback Brad Weber will captain the side in the absence of co-captains Brodie Retallick and Sam Cane.

The reserves bench is largely unchanged with the exception of Pita Gus Sowakula named in jersey number 20 and utility back Alex Nankivell is named as the twenty third player.

Head coach Colin Cooper said: “The Sharks are a powerful pack and are coming off a strong performance against the Crusaders. Again we will be challenged this week.”

“In order for us to be successful we need to capitalise on our opportunities and remain focused on delivering our game for a full 80 minutes. We do this then we will continue the momentum from where we finished last week and deliver an improved performance.”


15 Solomon Alaimalo, 14 Sean Wainui, 13 Tumua Manu, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 Etene Nanai-Seturo, 10 Marty McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber (captain), 8 Luke Jacobson, 7 Mitchell Karpik, 6 Jesse Parete, 5 Mitchell Brown, 4 Tyler Ardron, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Atu Moli

Replacements: 16 Liam Polwart, 17 Ryan Coxon, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 Taleni Seu, 20 Pita Gus Sowakula, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Shaun Stevenson, 23 Alex Nankivell

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.