Super Rugby

Chiefs v Sharks Rd.10 Super Rugby Preview




Super Rugby in Round 10 kicks off in New Plymouth where the tournament leading Chiefs host the Sharks at Yarrow Stadium.

The Chiefs go into the match as the current bookies favourites having won their last six matches in succession. The Chiefs admitted that they were lucky last week to leave Wellington with a win so they will want to improve this week.

The Sharks will start the match with some confidence too as they beat the Highlanders last week. It should be noted however that the Highlanders played for most of the match with 14 players.

The Chiefs have played the Sharks 18 times in Super Rugby and they have won 10 matches and lost 8. This gives them a record of winning 56% of their matches against the Sharks.

The teams have never played in New Plymouth before but the Chiefs have had home advantage over the Sharks in 9 of the 18 meetings and they have won 6 matches giving them a record of winning 67% of their home matches.

The average score when the Chiefs play the Sharks in New Zealand is : Chiefs 27 Sharks 23.

For this week Chiefs coach Dave Rennie has made five changes to the team that played last week.

In the forwards Hika Elliot and Japan Test prop Hiroshi Yamashita will pack down alongside Taranaki loosehead Mitchell Graham who makes his seventh consecutive start for the Chiefs.

Dominic Bird returns from injury to partner at lock with Brodie Retallick. Taleni Seu is promoted from the reserves to wear jersey six, alongside co-captain Sam Cane and number 8 Michael Leitch.

There’s just one change in the backs with Anton Lienert-Brown returning from injury to start at second five-eighth. He is joined in the mid-field by Taranaki’s Seta Tamanivalu at centre.

Brad Weber starts at halfback with support from co-captain Aaron Cruden at first five-eighth. Sam McNicol, Toni Pulu and Damian McKenzie complete the backline in jerseys 11, 14 and 15 respectively.

There are potential debuts for 27-year-old Tasman prop Kane Hames and 21-year-old Taranaki loose-forward Lachlan Boshier off the bench.

The Sharks have chosen to make six changes including resting captain Tendai Mtawarira as he is a Springbok so must be rested. Cobus Reinach was injured last week and has been replaced by Michael Claassens.

This also opens a place on the bench for Stefan Ungerer who joined the squad in New Zealand this week. Philip van der Walt was also injured last week so Daniel du Preez reverts to the number eight position.

With Beast being rested there is a new front row with Dale Chadwick coming in for Mtawarira, Franco Marais making way for Kyle Cooper and then Lourens Adriaanse and Coenie Oosthuizen swapping jerseys.

Due to injuries the Sharks team is not as strong as last week so they will most likely struggle away from home against the tournament leaders.

The Bookies have given the Sharks a 16 point start for this Match – with an offer of up to $200 in Bonus bets. The Chiefs should win this by 9 points.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ (Sky), Aus (Fox Sports), SA (SuperSport) and in the UK on Sky Sports 1.

Average score: Chiefs 25 Sharks 23

Last five results
21 Mar 2015 Chiefs v Sharks 11-12 Durban
27 Apr 2013 Chiefs v Sharks 37-29 Hamilton
04 Aug 2012 Final Chiefs v Sharks 37-6 Hamilton
21 Apr 2012 Chiefs v Sharks 18-12 Durban
18 Mar 2011 Chiefs v Sharks 15-9 Hamilton

Chiefs overall record against the Sharks
Played 18 , Wins 10, Losses 8 , Draws 0

Match No.71:Chiefs v Sharks
Date : Friday 29 April 2016
Venue : Yarrow Stadium, New Pymouth
Kick Off local: 19:35 local
Referee: Chris Pollock
Assistant Ref 1:Jamie Nutbrown
Assistant Ref 2:Angus Mabey
TMO : Glenn Newman



1. Mitchell Graham , 2. Hika Elliot , 3. Hiroshi Yamashita , 4. Dominic Bird , 5. Brodie Retallick , 6. Taleni Seu , 7. Sam Cane (cc) , 8. Michael Leitch , 9. Brad Weber , 10. Aaron Cruden (cc) , 11. Sam McNicol , 12. Anton Lienert-Brown , 13. Seta Tamanivalu , 14. Toni Pulu , 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacments: 16. Nathan Harris , 17. Siate Tokolahi , 18. Kane Hames , 19. James Tucker , 20. Lachlan Boshier , 21. Kayne Hammington , 22. Andrew Horrell , 23. Shaun Stevenson


15. Willie le Roux , 14. JP Pietersen , 13. Paul Jordaan , 12. Andre Esterhuizen , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Garth April , 9. Michael Claassens , 8. Daniel du Preez , 7. Jean-Luc du Preez , 6. Keegan Daniel (C) , 5. Stephan Lewies , 4. Etienne Oosthuizen , 3. Lourens Adriaanse , 2. Kyle Cooper , 1. Dale Chadwick

Replacements : 16. Chiliboy Ralepelle , 17. Thomas du Toit , 18. Coenie Oosthuizen , 19. Hyron Andrews , 20. Jean Deysel , 21. Stefan Ungerer , 22. Joe Pietersen , 23. Odwa Ndungane

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.