Super Rugby

Brumbies beat Chiefs in Hamilton




The Chiefs have won seven of their last eight Super Rugby home matches against the Brumbies (L1), including a 21-point win in their most recent game (40-19 – Round 2, 2021 Super Rugby Trans-Tasman); it’s the Chiefs’ biggest winning margin in the history of the competition.

The Brumbies have won three of their last four Super Rugby matches against New Zealand teams (L1), including their last two in succession; the last time they enjoyed a longer winning run was a three-match span from March to April in 2014.

  • The Chiefs have won their last three Super Rugby matches in succession; the last time they won more than three consecutive games, was a five-match span from March to April in 2021.
  • The Brumbies have won four of their last five Super Rugby matches away from GIO Stadium (L1), including each of their last two; the last time they enjoyed a longer winning run away from home, was a four-match span from February to July 2020.
  • The Brumbies (139) and Chiefs (139) have won more lineouts (inc. steals) than any other team; although, the Chiefs (10) have stolen more lineouts than the Brumbies (9).
  • The Chiefs have made six offloads resulting in a try, the joint-most by any team (also NSW Waratahs – 6), and double the tally of the Brumbies (3).
  • The Brumbies have scored 27 tries from a lineout, six more than any other team in the competition, and 10 more than the Chiefs (17).
  • The Hamilton side has a 96% scrum success rate, the best of any team in the competition, and higher than the Brumbies (88%).

Players to watch

  • Samisoni Taukei’aho has scored one try in each of his last two games after scoring just once across his 32 previous games in Super Rugby competitions.
  • Luke Reimer has won three turnovers per 80 minutes, the most by any player in the competition (min. 80 minutes played).

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime, why not have a look at the match preview.

1.00: PEEEP! We are underway in Waikato.

4.00: A couple of early penalties against each team kill good attacking opportunities.

6.00: The Chiefs run from their 22, but the Brumbies win back possession.

7.00: TRY! Pete Samu went close before Nic White breaks to the blindside of a touchline ruck to score untouched. Luke Jacobson’s handling error allowed Rob Valetini to kickstart the counter-attack. 0-5

8.00: CONVERSION! Noah Lolesio adds the extras. 0-7

11.00: TRY! Alex Nankivell dots down after Irae Simone knocked Quinn Tupaea’s offload back over the Brumbies’ goalline. 5-7

12.00: CONVERSION! Bryn Gatland levels. 7-7

16.00: Brumbies win the scrum penalty, and kick to the corner.

17.00: TRY! It’s the try machine Folau Fainga’a, who broke off another well-timed rolling maul, to score his 31st Super Rugby try. 7-12

18.00: CONVERSION! Lolesio cannot convert. 7-12

21.00: The Chiefs concede another kickable penalty, this time Lolesio calls for the tee.

22.00: PENALTY! Lolesio slots the long-range goal. 7-15

26.00: TRY! A 14-phase attack ends with Gatland and Jacobson combining, with two neat runs and offloads, to send Cortez Ratima away. 12-15

27.00: CONVERSION! Gatland cannot miss. 14-15

28.00: Angus Ta’avao-Matau gives away a kickable penalty inside his half. Lolesio calls for the tee.

30.00: PENALTY! Lolesio slots another goal. 14-18

33.00: The Brumbies need more points to take into the shed, but they cannot find their rhythm anymore.

37.00: It’s all Chiefs at the moment, they are looking for a late score to take into the shed.

39.00: Goalline dropout after the Chiefs are held up over the line.

41.00: Lolesio boots to touch.

The halftime score was Chiefs 14 Brumbies 18

41.00: PEEEP! We are back underway in Hamilton, New Zealand.

43.00: TRY! The Brumbies win a turnover penalty, which Tom Banks boots to the 22. The forwards rumbled forward, going through the phases before Tom Wright’s deft pass sends Len Ikitau away. Wright sucked in two defenders, which left lots of space on the wing for the centre to score. 14-23

45.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 14-25

51.00: White’s perfect grubber kick earns his side a 50/22.

53.00: PENALTY! Sam Cane is pinged for not releasing, and Lolesio does the rest. 14-28

58.00: TRY! Pita Gus Sowakula scores from a top-of-the-lineout move. It was an easy score because there was no defenders to stop the No 8. 19-28

59.00: CONVERSION! Trask adds the extras. 21-28

61.00: Another penalty allows the Chiefs to clear, the momentum seems to have shifted

64.00: Banks boots the Brumbies to the corner after winning a penalty for obstruction against Andy Muirhead.

67.00: A couple of penalties allow the Brumbies to pile on the pressure. They did not score though, but Lolesio will take the easy points.

68.00: PENALTY! Lolesio can’t miss from in front. 21-31

72.00: TRY! Rob Valetini’s well-timed run beats Tupou Vaa’i, and he ghosts through a hole. Valetini slipped Xavier Roe’s tackle, drew Ollie Sapsford before sending Billy Pollard away untouched for the game-winner. 21-36

73.00: CONVERSION! Lolesio makes no mistake. 21-38

75.00: Banks kicks another penalty to the corner, but the Brumbies botch the attack.

78.00: The Aussies will see this game out to earn a famous win at FMG Stadium in Hamilton.

80.00: TRY! Naitoa Ah Kuoi crashes over from close range. 26-38

80.00: CONVERSION! Trask goes quickly, and makes the kick. 28-38

81.00: The Chiefs try to run from their own 22 to get a bonus point, but the ball is lost forward, and Banks boots to touch.


To refresh this page, click HERELive In-Play Betting.

The final score is Chiefs 28 (14) Brumbies 38 (18)


Tries – Nankivell, Ratima, Sowakula, Ah Kuoi
Pen –
Con – Gatland (2), Trask (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – White, Fainga’a, Ikitau, Pollard
Pen – Lolesio (4)
Con – Lolesio (3)
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Brendon Pickerill
Assistant Ref 1: Ben O’Keeffe
Assistant Ref 2: Angus Mabey
TMO: Glenn Newman


Chiefs: 15 Kaleb Trask, 14 Jonah Lowe, 13 Alex Nankivell, 12 Quinn Tupaea, 11 Etene Nanai-Seturo, 10 Bryn Gatland, 9 Cortez Ratima, 8 Pita Gus Sowakula, 7 Sam Cane (captain), 6 Luke Jacobson, 5 Tupou Vaa’i, 4 Josh Lord, 3 Angus Ta’avao-Matau, 2 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 1 Aidan Ross.

Replacements: 16 Bradley Slater, 17 Ollie Norris, 18 Atu Moli, 19 Naitoa Ah Kuoi, 20 Samipeni Finau, 21 Xavier Roe, 22 Rameka Pohipi, 23 Emoni Narawa.

Brumbies: 15 Tom Banks, 14 Tom Wright, 13 Len Ikitau, 12 Irae Simone, 11 Andy Muirhead, 10 Noah Lolesio, 9 Nic White (captain), 8 Pete Samu, 7 Jahrome Brown, 6 Rob Valetini, 5 Cadeyrn Neville, 4 Darcy Swain, 3 Sefo Kautai, 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 James Slipper.

Replacements: 16 Billy Pollard, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Allan Alaalatoa, 19 Nick Frost, 20 Tom Hooper, 21 Ryan Lonergan, 22 Rory Scott, 23 Ollie Sapsford.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.