Super Rugby

Chiefs beat Bulls in Hamilton




The second Super Rugby match on Saturday is in Hamilton where the Chiefs host the Bulls. The Chiefs have played the Bulls 18 times since 1998 and won 9 matches, drawn 2 and lost 7.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

Aaron Cruden kicks off and the match is underway.

2.00: After some early attacking from the Chiefs the Bulls turn the ball over and run it into the Chiefs 22 and win a penalty. Sam Cane has taken a knock and and has to come off for a concussion check.

4.00: Handre Pollard slots the penalty kick and the Bulls lead.

6.00: The Bulls press the Chiefs back in their half but then concede a penalty. The Chiefs clear the ball but fail to find touch.

8.00: The Bulls go through 13 phases and have the advantage. The Bulls lose control of the ball but get called back as they have a penalty for not rolling away.

10.00: Pollard slots another penalty.

12.00: The Chiefs put in a big scrum on the Bulls put in which wins them a penalty. Sam Cane has failed the test and will remain off. Cruden takes the penalty kick and nails it. The Chiefs are on the board.

14.00: Jamba Ulengo gets the ball and has a run for the Bulls but gets cut down by Tawera Kerr-Barlow.

16.00: the Bulls win a line out in the Chiefs half and run it into the Chiefs 22. It’s very fluid from the Bulls until they lose the ball forward.

19.00: The Bulls are keeping the Chiefs pinned back in their 22. It’s all attack from the Bulls who are dominating the match.

21.00: The Chiefs get some rare ball and kick for halfway. Cruden sets up the line out which the Bulls win and kick the ball back to the Chiefs who win a penalty for not rolling away.

25.00: The Bulls win a free kick from the scrum and use it to kick upfield and chase. The Chiefs try to run the ball out of their half but lose it and the Bulls counter.

26.00: The Bulls win another penalty for not releasing after another period of attack. Pollard will have a shot at goal.

28.00: Pollard slots the penalty and extends the lead.

31.00: Penalty to the Chiefs. Cruden kicks for touch and sets up a Chiefs line out in the Bulls 22.

32.00:The Bulls come away with the ball at the line out and clear it to the half way line.

34.00: Penalty to the Chiefs. Cruden sets up another line out – this time next to the 5m line.

35.00: The Chiefs win the line out and attack the Bulls line. The Bulls get up quickly and disrupt the Chiefs attack. After five phases the ball goes into touch near the half way line. Impressive play from the Bulls.

38.00: The Chiefs win a scrum deep in their half. Damien McKenzie makes a break and gets the Chiefs into the Bulls 22 but the Bulls get back and turn the ball over and kick for touch.

39.00: The Chiefs take a quick line out and attack the Bulls from the half way line. The Bulls turn the ball over and kick it into touch. The siren sounds. We go back for a scrum.

41.00: The Bulls put the ball into the scrum. They win the scrum and Pollard puts it into touch.

It’s half time.

The half time score was Chiefs 3 Bulls 9

The Bulls (Pollard) kick off and the second half is underway.

42.00: Penalty near the half way line to the Bulls for dangerous play at the ruck.

43.00: Pollard kicks for touch and sets up a line out.

44.00: The Bulls win the line out and attack in the Chiefs 22. They make some ground but the Chiefs turn the ball over and kick deep into Bulls territory.

45.00: The Bulls kick the ball back to the Chiefs who run at the Bulls and then get pushed into touch.

48.00: Rudy Paige makes a flying run for the Bulls which gets them into the Chiefs half. The Bulls continue the attack and get to the 5m line and are then pressed back to the 22m line where they lose the ball forward.

The Chiefs win a line out and move the ball wide. Shaun Stevenson chips the ball ahead, chases and gets the ball again and scores. TRY!

51.00: Cruden slots the conversion. The Chiefs lead for the first time.

52.00: Stephen Donald comes on for the Chiefs.

55.00: The Chiefs have picked up their game a little. They push the Bulls back to their 22 where they win a penalty. Cruden slots the penalty and extends the lead.

60.00: Penalty to the Bulls. Pollard will have a shot at the posts.

62.00:  Pollard slots the penalty cutting the lead to 1 point.

The Chiefs almost score their second try but lose the ball as they go over in the tackle. They do however get a penalty in front of the posts. Cruden lines up the kick.

65.00: Cruden nails the penalty. Chiefs lead by 4.

68.00: The Chiefs win the ball from a scrum and Kerr-Barlow chips the ball ahead and Damian McKenzie chases the ball slicing through the Bulls and scores. TRY!

70.00: Cruden slots the conversion.

74.00: the Bulls work the ball into the Chiefs half but then knock on.

77.00: The Chiefs win a line out in the Bulls 22. McKenzie almost gets through to score but the Chiefs continue the attack and this time Atu Moli scores the bonus point TRY!

78.00: Cruden misses the conversion.

80.00: The siren sounds and the Bulls have a line out about 5m out. They go wide and attack the Chiefs line.

81.00: The Chiefs concede a penalty so the Bulls tap and go. The Bulls launch several attacks at the line but they concede the penalty for leaving the feet. That penalty was all Liam Messam who has won his 150th Super rugby cap.

The Chiefs kick the ball out and have won.

Live In-Play Betting.

The full time score is Chiefs 28 (3) Bulls 12 (9)


Tries – S.Steveneson, D.McKenzie,A.Moli
Pen – A.Cruden 3
Con – A Cruden 2
Drop –
Cards –

Tries –
Pen – H.Pollard 4
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 1:Paul Williams
Assistant Ref 2:Cam Stone
TMO : Ben Skeen



1. Siegfried Fisi’ihoi , 2. Hika Elliot , 3. Nepo Laulala , 4. Dominic Bird , 5. Brodie Retallick , 6. Liam Messam , 7. Sam Cane (co-captain) , 8. Michael Leitch, 9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow , 10. Aaron Cruden (co-captain) , 11. James Lowe , 12. Johnny Faauli , 13. Anton Lienert-Brown , 14. Shaun Stevenson , 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacements : 16. Brayden Mitchell* 17. Kane Hames , 18. Atu Moli , 19. Taleni Seu , 20. Mitchell Karpik, 21. Finlay Christie , 22. Stephen Donald , 23. Solomon Alaimalo ,

*denotes Chiefs debut


Jesse Kriel , Travis Ismaiel , Jan Serfontein , Burger Odendaal, Jamba Ulengo , Handré Pollard , Rudy Paige , Arno Botha , Nick de Jager , Ruan Steenkamp , Lood de Jager (43, 5), RG Snyman , Trevor Nyakane , Adriaan Strauss (c,), Pierre Schoeman.

Replacements Edgar Marutlulle Lizo Gqoboka , Jacobie Adriaanse, Jason Jenkins, Jannes Kirsten , Piet van Zyl, Tian Schoeman, Warrick Gelant

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.