Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Chiefs beat Crusaders in Hamilton

Live Super Rugby scores - live super rugby scoring

Live Super Rugby scores - live super rugby scoring

The Chiefs and the Crusaders have met 39 times in Super Rugby, the Saders have won 24 matches, and lost 15 games.

The Chiefs have played 21 times at home against the Crusaders in Super Rugby, winning 10 time, losing 11 matches, with no draws.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime, why not have a look at the match preview.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

1.00: PEEEEP! We are underway at FMG Stadium, Hamilton.

2.00: The first scrum of the game goes to the Chiefs after David Havili’s knock-on.

4.00: Crusaders win the scrum penalty, and kick to the opposition’s 22.

5.00: TRY! The Crusaders go 11 phases before Leicester Fainga’anuku, playing centre, scores. That was almost too easy. 0-5

7.00: CONVERSION! Richie Mo’unga converts. 0-7

10.00: A big scrum by the Chiefs ends with a Saders’ lineout after the Chiefs are tackled into touch by the 22.

13.00: PENALTY! Damian McKenzie puts the Chiefs on the board. 3-7

15.00: The Chiefs attack from deep in their half, they go through the phases before McKenzie clears. Will Jordan brings the ball back, and Lachlan Boshier gets over the ball to win his team a penalty.

18.00: Jonah Lowe’s handling error kills the Chiefs’ attack. The game is a bit stop-start, and not being played at any pace or tempo.

19.00: There’s a problem with the scrums, they keep needing to be reset.

20.00: Mo’unga and Havili try running out from their in-goal area, Havili decides on a little chip-kick, which McKenzie couldn’t gather. Scrum to the visitors outside their 22.

21.00: A rare mistake by Mo’unga, who strays offside at the scrum. McKenzie calls for the tee.

22.00: PENALTY! McKenzie slots the kick. 6-7

23.00: Luke Jacobson wins possession for the Chiefs after Jordan’s linebreak. McKenzie made the last-ditch tackle on the fullback before George Bridge’s sideline run; however, nothing came of the attack.

24.00: A Captain’s Challenge by the Chiefs because Quinten Strange’s obstruction on Etene Nanai-Seturo is upheld, it allows the hosts to kick a penalty to the Saders’ 22.

25.00: Another penalty goes the way of Clayton McMillan’s men.

26.00: PENALTY! McKenzie makes no mistake. 9-7

27.00: Tupou Vaa’i is caught offsides at the breakdown; Mo’unga calls for the tee.

28.00: PENALTY! Mo’unga puts his side back in front. 9-10

30.00: TRY! Mo’unga’s fancy footwork sucks in the Chiefs defenders. The first-five offloads to Scott Barrett, playing on the flank, who races through the lines, and sends Will Jordan away. 9-15

31.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 9-17

35.00: Chiefs break from their own half, they go 12 phases as they camp on the Crusaders’ try line.

38.00: Superb defending by the Saders, who keep out the home team after 14 phases. The Chiefs’ impatience leads to Tom Sanders winning a crucial steal, and playing Leicester Fainga’anuku, who goes through a gap; however, the Saders lose the ball in contact.

40.00: It’s all Chiefs in the final throes of the half, they have the Saders pinned in their half, but cannot find a way through the white wall. Jordan wins the penalty at the ruck to give his team a breather before the hooter.

The halftime score was Chiefs 9 Crusaders 17

41.00: PEEEEP! We are back underway in Hamilton, New Zealand.

43.00: Just as in the first stanza, the Chiefs go through a long, sustained attack; however, it comes to nothing. After 18 phases, the ball is knocked on inside the opposition’s 22.

47.00: TRY! Alex Nankivell started the attack, breaking through two tackles and racing away. McKenzie went close before Lachlan Boshier scored near the posts. 14-17

49.00: CONVERSION! McKenzie adds the extras. 16-17

52.00: The Crusaders have a promising attacking lineout near the Chiefs’ line.

53.00: TRY! Codie Taylor crashes over after a driving maul. It is the form hooker’s sixth try of the season, he also leads the by two on the Super Rugby Aotearoa try-scoring chart. 16-22

54.00: MISS! Oh, dear! Mo’unga hits the post from almost in front. 16-22

58.00: It’s all Chiefs at the moment.

61.00: TRY! A brilliant multiphase attack between the backs and forwards sees Jonah Lowe crash over in the corner.

62.00: CONVERSION! McKenzie puts the Chiefs back in front. 23-22

65.00: Ollie Norris is caught offside, Mo’unga will take a shot from in front.

66.00: PENALTY! Mo’unga puts his side back in front. There have been five lead changes in the game to this point. 23-25

69.00: The Crusaders are so dangerous in these final stages of matches, they have control of the ball and are making their way towards the opposition’s 22.

70.00: McMillan’s men get away with one there as Bryn Hall loses the ball forward.

74.00: Time is running out for the home team. The Chiefs win a rare Crusaders’ lineout after a knock-on by the visitors.

78.00: PENALTY! McKenzie slots the kick to put his team ahead with a couple of minutes to play. 26-25

80.00: A Captain’s Referral by Scott Barrett after the Chiefs win a match-winning penalty is booed by the crowd.

81.00: Nothing doing, the onfield call stands. The Chiefs boot the ball to touch, win the lineout, another penalty, and the match – sensational!


To refresh this page, click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Chiefs 26 (9) Crusaders 25 (17)


Tries – Boshier, Lowe
Pen – McKenzie (4)
Con – McKenzie (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Fainga’anuku, Jordan, Taylor
Pen – Mo’unga (2)
Con – Mo’unga (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Mike Fraser
Assistant Ref 1: Paul Williams
Assistant Ref 2: James Doleman
TMO: Ben O’Keeffe



15 Chase Tiatia, 14 Jonah Lowe, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Alex Nankivell, 11 Etene Nanai-Seturo, 10 Damian McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber (captain), 8 Luke Jacobson, 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Mitchell Brown, 5 Naitoa Ah Kuoi, 4 Tupou Vaa’i, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 1 Aidan Ross

Replacements: 16 Nathan Harris, 17 Ollie Norris, 18 Sione Mafileo, 19 Pita Gus Sowakula, 20 Kaylum Boshier, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Bryn Gatland, 23 Sean Wainui


15 Will Jordan, 14 Sevu Reece, 13 Leicester Fainga’anuku, 12 David Havili, 11 George Bridge, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Mitchell Drummond, 8 Ethan Blackadder, 7 Tom Sanders, 6 Scott Barrett (captain), 5 Quinten Strange, 4 Mitchell Dunshea, 3 Michael Alaalatoa, 2 Brodie McAlister, 1 George Bower

Replacements: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Isileli Tu’ungafasi, 18 Oli Jager, 19 Luke Romano, 20 Sione Havili Talitui, 21 Bryn Hall, 22 Dallas McLeod, 23 Manasa Mataele

Exit mobile version