Super Rugby

Crusaders beat Chiefs in Hamilton




The second Super Rugby match on Saturday in Round 16 is in Hamilton where the Chiefs host current champions the Crusaders.

The Crusaders have won the last three matches between these two sides including the 45-23 victory in Christchurch earlier this year.

  • The Chiefs have won four of their last five games against the Crusaders at FMG Stadium Waikato, including a 24-point win when they last faced off at the venue (Rd 3, 2015).
  • Indeed, the Chiefs have won their last 11 games on the bounce at FMG Stadium Waikato having not lost at the venue since Round 11, 2016 against the Highlanders.
  • The Crusaders have won 10 of their last 13 New Zealand derbies, with four of their last five wins in such fixtures coming by margins of more than 10 points.
  • The Chiefs have made more metres (496) and more clean breaks (15) per game than any other club so far this campaign.
  • Richie Mo’unga has won 18 of his last 19 Super Rugby games, including his last five in a row against New Zealand opposition – he was missing for each of the Crusaders’ last two Super Rugby defeats.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

1.00: PEEEEP! We are underway in Hamilton.

3.00: Brad Weber clears the danger after Israel Dagg’s linebreak in midfield.

4.00: TRY! Codie Taylor catches the Chiefs napping, taking a quick-tap penalty and sending Heiden Bedwell-Curtis over in the corner from close range. All the Chiefs players were standing, waiting for a lineout or shot at goal. 0-5

5.00: CONVERSION! Richie Mo’unga adds the extras. 0-7

8.00: Scrum to the Chiefs in an attacking position inside the Crusaders half.

10.00: Damian McKenzie will take a shot at goal from in front.

11.00: PENALTY! McKenzie’s kick is good. 3-7

14.00: Both teams are looking to run the ball at every opportunity. The Crusaders have had most of the territory and possession, and are inside the Chiefs half after nine phases.

15.00: Toni Pulu, with a timely interception, saves the day for the Chiefs.

17.00: Anton Lienert-Brown is caught offsides. Mo’unga will take a shot.

18.00: PENALTY! Mo’unga won’t miss from in front. 3-10

20.00: TRY! Sean Wainui is over for the try. Lienert-Brown’s break started the move, Brodie Retallick took crash-ball before some quick ball was sent wide to the winger for the score. 8-10

21.00: MISS! McKenzie misses from out wide. 8-10

24.00: TRY! Charlie Ngatai hacks the ball ahead, waits for David Havili to gather and then rips the ball from him. The ball is then shifted quickly to Luke Jacobson, who barges over the line. 13-10

25.00: MISS! Another failed conversion by McKenzie. 13-10

28.00: The Crusaders attack from a scrum inside their half.

32.00: Mo’unga kicks a penalty to the corner.

34.00: Angus Ta’avao takes the maul down from the side. The Crusaders kick to the corner, again.

35.00: TRY! A powerful maul obliterates the Chiefs pack. Matt Todd gets up with the ball. 13-15

36.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 13-17

38.00: Ethan Blackadder steals the ball at the ruck, halting the last Chiefs attack. Great work by the loose forward.

40.00: The Crusaders are finishing strong in Hamilton, they win a penalty at a ruck after going through a multi-phase play inside the Chiefs 22. Todd points to the posts.

41.00: PENALTY! Mo’unga extends the lead to seven. 13-20

The halftime score was Chiefs 13 Crusaders 20

41.00: PEEEEP! We are back underway in Hamilton.

43.00: Some problems setting the first scrum after the interval.

44.00: Big scrum by the Crusaders, who won the penalty after another good scrum.

45.00: TRY! George Bridge crashes over in the corner. The Chiefs stopped the rolling maul, but could not stop the backs from weaving some magic. 13-25

47.00: CONVERSION! Mo’unga adds the extras. 13-27

49.00: A brilliant break from Lienert-Brown ends with a knock on inside the Saders’ 22. Ngatai’s pass was superb to set up the break.

50.00: The Chiefs are all over the Crusaders.

51.00: TRY! Jacobson crashes over after the Chiefs went 10 phases of intense pressure on the Crusaders’ defenders. 18-27

52.00: CONVERSION! McKenzie adds the extras. 20-27

54.00: Wyatt Crockett, after all the commotion and tries, entered the game a few minutes’ ago for his 200th Crusaders appearance (199 Super Rugby, 1 v British and Irish Lions).

55.00: McKenzie misses his touch-finder; poor from the first-five, especially as his forwards won the hard-fought penalty.

58.00: Ngatai’s speculative banana-looper of a kick-pass goes over Wainui’s head, and in to touch.

61.00: We have entered the final quarter of the game. The Chiefs are still in this. Karl Tu’inukuafe is pinged for collapsing the scrum. Mo’unga clears.

63.00: Luke Romano is penalised harshly for offsides. McKenzie kicks to the Crusaders’ 22.

65.00: Another penalty and McKenzie goes to the corner.

68.00: The set-pieces have been ferocious, tonight.

70.00: Pete Samu wins the turnover and the penalty.

71.00: Mo’unga does not find touch, and he drops to the ground, holding his calf.

72.00: No dramas; Mo’unga is back up.

75.00: The Chiefs are playing fast and loose as the search for a game-tying score. Time is against the home team.

77.00: TRY! Romano ends the game as a contest after the Crusaders’ pack powers over the whitewash. 20-32

78.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 20-34

80.00: That’s the ball-game, the defending champs go to the break in the top spot.


In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

To refresh this page click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Chiefs 20 (13) Crusaders 34 (20)


Tries – Wainui, Jacobson (2)
Pen – D. McKenzie
Con – D. McKenzie
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Bedwell-Curtis, Todd, Bridge, Romano
Pen – Mo’unga (2)
Con – Mo’unga (3), Hunt
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Nic Berry
Assistant Ref 1: Richard Kelly
Assistant Ref 2: Cam Stone
TMO: Glenn Newman



15 Solomon Alaimalo, 14 Toni Pulu, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Charlie Ngatai (captain), 11 Sean Wainui, 10 Damian McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Liam Messam, 7 Mitchell Karpik, 6 Luke Jacobson, 5 Michael Allardice, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Karl Tu’inukuafe

Replacements: 16 Liam Polwart, 17 Sam Prattley, 18 Jeff Thwaites, 19 Jesse Parete, 20 Sam Cane, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Marty McKenzie, 23 Shaun Stevenson.


15 Israel Dagg, 14 Jone Macilai, 13 Seta Tamanivalu, 12 David Havili, 11 George Bridge, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Bryn Hall, 8 Ethan Blackadder, 7 Matt Todd (captain), 6 Heiden Bedwell-Curtis, 5 Quinten Strange, 4 Scott Barrett, 3 Michael Alaalatoa, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Joe Moody.

Replacements: 16 Andrew Makalio, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Donald Brighouse, 19 Luke Romano, 20 Peter Samu, 21 Mitchell Drummond, 22 Mitchell Hunt, 23Tima Faingaanuku.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.