Super Rugby

Chiefs beat Rebels in Sydney




The Chiefs have a 100% winning record at home against the Rebels in Super Rugby (W3); they are one of four sides the Chiefs have not lost against on home turf (Western Force, Cheetahs, and Cats).

The Chiefs will be looking to avoid back-to-back defeats against Australian teams in Super Rugby for the first time since July 2014, following their 40-34 loss to the Queensland Reds last time out.

  • The Melbourne Rebels have lost each of their first three games in Super Rugby Trans-Tasman; the last and only time they have begun a single campaign on a longer losing run was a five-match span in 2017.
  • The Rebels have gained the fewest metres per game (295) of any team in Super Rugby Trans-Tasman, and 230 per game fewer than the Chiefs (525).
  • Lachlan Boshier (Chiefs) has made 52 tackles in the 2021 Super Rugby Trans-Tasman season, the most by any player in the campaign and 23 more than Rebels’ best Michael Wells (29).

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

1.00: PEEEEP! We are underway at Leichhardt Oval, Sydney.

4.00: Carter Gordon makes a try-saving tackle and Marika Koroibete wins the penalty for the Rebels.

6.00: Richard Hardwick wins possession on Chiefs ball on the Rebels’ 5m, and Melbourne counter-attack from their 22. However, the ball is booted away, and the Chiefs get a scrum.

8.00: A knock-on by Michael Wells leads to an attacking scrum for the Kiwis near the 22.

9.00: NO TRY! Shaun Stevenson takes Bryn Gatland’s inside pass and darts in for the try; however, the try is ruled out for obstruction by a decoy runner of the Chiefs. 0-0

11.00: A mistake in midfield by the Chiefs leads to a Rebels’ scrum, but Powell kicks the ball directly into touch.

13.00: Mitch Brown is held-up over the try line; goal-line drop-out.

14.00: Michael Wells smokes Bryn Gatland with a big tackle, but the Chiefs had the advantage, and kick to the corner.

16.00: TRY! Kaleb Trask takes Shaun Stevenson’s lob-pass and sneaks in for the game’s opening score. 5-0

17.00: MISS! Gatland’s kick is wide. 5-0

19.00: NO TRY! Bailyn Sullivan is tackled out by Lachie Anderson after Samisoni Taukei’aho picked up a loose Powell pass, and sped out of the Chiefs’ half. 5-0

21.00: TRY! Anton Lienert-Brown steps Powell’s cover tackle and walks in for an easy score. The Rebels did not come to play; this will be big hiding. 10-0

22.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 12-0

25.00: TRY! Anton Lienert-Brown has a double. The Chiefs are making this look easy, the hands are quick, the running precise, and the handling is superb. 17-0

26.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 19-0

28.00: Marika Koroibete takes a quick-tap penalty, the Rebels lose the ball and the try-scoring chance. That is rubbish from the Aussies.

29.00: TRY! Isi Naisarani picks up the rolling ball and flops over the chalk for the Rebels’ first points. The try came from a tighthead by the Aussies, who pushed the Chiefs off their ball. 19-5

30.00: CONVERSION! Matt To’omua adds the extras. 19-7

33.00: Superb defending by Melbourne. The Kiwis looked certain to stroll in for another score, but the Aussies get back to win the penalty.

34.00: The handling from both teams has been very poor, another knock-on gives the Rebels a scrum on halfway. The Rebels have missed 11 tackles; it seems too low.

35.00: TRY! Carter Gordon chases his own grubber, gathers before the Chiefs get back, and pops the ball inside to Stacey Ili, who waltzes over the chalk for the score. 19-12

37.00: MISS! To’omua misses a simple conversion. 19-12

38.00: Melbourne wins the penalty, and clears to the opposition’s 22.

39.00: Melbourne botch a great scoring chance when Powell throws the ball out. The Rebels are awarded another penalty for offsides, the ref warns Luke Jacobson.

40.00: TRY! Naisarani gets a double from close range. 19-17

41.00: CONVERSION! To’omua levels. 19-19

The halftime score was Chiefs 19 Melbourne Rebels 19

41.00: PEEEEP! We are back underway in Sydney, Australia.

44.00: TRY! Chase Tiatia dots down in the corner to put the Chiefs back in front. Too easy! 24-19

45.00: CONVERSION! Gatland lands the kick. 26-19

50.00: The Chiefs are back on top in the early stages here.

52.00: Frank Lomani intercepts a stray pass, but the Rebels were offside.

53.00: TRY! Trask has a double, too. The fullback took Lienert-Brown’s stutter pass, and scores in the corner. 31-19

54.00: MISS! Gatland misses. 31-19

56.00: TRY! Naisarani sets up Andrew Kellaway for the score. 31-24

58.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 31-26

61.00: The Rebels butcher a good scoring opportunity with terrible handling.

63.00: Melbourne botch another good chance, letting the Chiefs off the hook.

65.00: TRY! Tiatia gets a double, taking Trask’s inside pass to score. This is awesome by the Kiwis. 36-26

66.00: MISS! The kick is wide. 36-26

68.00: Good work by the Kiwis, who win the Rebels’ ball from an attacking lineout.

71.00: NO TRY! George Worth’s try is chalked off for obstruction. 36-26

74.00: The Chiefs win a penalty on the Rebels’ 22, they opt for a scrum.

78.00: Melbourne botch another good chance with some poor discipline, they might have scored a couple of times but it’s not to be for the Aussies.

80.00: The Rebels are held up after winning their own lineout, and mounting a late attack.

85.00: Both teams are trying to score a last try, but keep giving away penalties to keep the game going.

86.00: A knock on finally ends this contset.


To refresh this page click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Chiefs 36 (19) Rebels 26 (19)


Tries – Trask (2), Lienert-Brown (2), Tiatia (2)
Pen –
Con – Gatland (3)
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Naisarani (2), Ili, Kellaway
Pen –
Con – To’omua (3)
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Graham Cooper
Assistant Ref 1: Brendon Pickerill
Assistant Ref 2: Ben O’Keeffe
TMO: Shane McDermott



15 Kaleb Trask, 14 Shaun Stevenson, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Quinn Tupaea, 11 Bailyn Sullivan, 10 Bryn Gatland, 9 Xavier Roe, 8 Luke Jacobson (captain), 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Pita Gus Sowakula, 5 Tupou Vaa’i, 4 Josh Lord, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 1 Reuben O’Neill

 16 Bradley Slater, 17 Oliver Norris, 18 Sione Mafileo, 19 Mitch Brown, 20 Zane Kapeli, 21 Brad Weber, 22 Alex Nankivell, 23 Chase Tiatia

Melbourne Rebels

15 George Worth, 14 Lachie Anderson, 13 Stacy Ili, 12 Matt To’omua, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Carter Gordon, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 Richard Hardwick, 6 Michael Wells, 5 Trevor Hosea, 4 Rob Leota, 3 Cabous Eloff, 2 Jordan Uelese, 1 Cameron Orr

 16 James Hanson, 17 Matt Gibbon, 18 Rhys Van Neck, 19 Ross Haylett-Petty, 20 Michael Icely, 21 James Tuttle, 22 Andrew Kellaway, 23 Frank Lomani

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.