Super Rugby

Chiefs beat Waratahs in Melbourne




The Chiefs have won their last four Super Rugby games against the NSW Waratahs, winning each of their last two by margins of 33 points or more; their last defeat to the Waratahs came in Round 14, 2016 (45-25).

The Chiefs have won nine of their last 11 Super Rugby games played in Australia (L2), including their last two; although, they have won five of their last six games against Australian sides (L1).

  • The NSW Waratahs have won four of their last five Super Rugby games (L1), including their last two on the bounce; the last time they won more than two straight games was a three-game stretch from June to July 2018.
  • The Waratahs have lost their last 10 consecutive Super Rugby games against New Zealand opponents, conceding 40 points or more in eight of those defeats; their last win in such a fixture came in Round 6, 2019 against the Crusaders (20-12).
  • The Chiefs have made 284 carries within the opposition 22m zone this Super Rugby Pacific season, the most of any team in the competition and 44 more than NSW; only the Hurricanes (15) have made more line breaks in this zone than the Hamilton side (14).
  • New South Wales has scored six tries from mauls in the tournament, more than any other team in the competition, and five more than the Chiefs (1).
  • The Chiefs (25) and Waratahs (20) have made more offloads in the opposition 22m zone this season, more than any other teams in the competition.

Players to watch

  • Alex Nankivell has scored five tries in his last five appearances in Super Rugby despite playing across three different starting positions in that time (inside centre, outside centre, wing).
  • Charlie Gamble has attended 210 rucks in 2022, the second-most of any player in the competition behind the Crusaders’ Tom Christie (246).
  • Dave Porecki has crossed for one try in each of his last two games, as many as he had scored in his 14 games in Super Rugby competitions prior.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime, why not have a look at the match preview.

1.00: PEEEP! We are underway for the first-ever Super Rugby Super Round at AAMI Park, Melbourne.

2.00: Brad Weber steals the ball inside the Tahs’ 22, after a careless ruck from the Australians, and the Chiefs win a kickable penalty after 10 phases.

2.20: RED CARD! Angus Bell flipped Sam Cane above the horizontal, and his off. 0-0

3.00: PENALTY! Bryn Gatland opens the scoring. 3-0

6.00: A good scrum set piece leads to a nine-phase attack and a kickable penalty for the Aussies.

7.00: PENALTY! Will Harrison levels. 3-3

10.00: Alex Nankivell’s mini-break sets up Sam Cane, but the skipper’s pass to Brad Weber is intercepted by Tom Horton.

11.00: Quinn Tupaea bounces off Izaia Perese before winning a penalty that is kicked to the corner.

11.00: TRY! A well-worked driving maul leads to Samisoni Taukei’aho flopping over the chalk. 8-3

13.00: CONVERSION! Gatland makes no mistake from wide. 10-3

15.00: YELLOW CARD! Jamie Roberts is off for a deliberate knickdown with two Chiefs players in open space outside the Welshman. 10-3

16.00: TRY! Jonah Lowe goes over in the corner after Alex Nankivell’s jinking linebreak got the Chiefs near the line. Some quick ball to Rameka Poihipi help set up the try when the centre’s double-skip pass put Lowe away. 15-3

17.00: MISS! Gatland pushes his kick wide. 15-3

20.00: TRY! A well-worked backline move involving Gatland, on the wraparound, leads to the flyhalf finding Tupaea – alone on the sideline – with a skip-pass after sucking in the last defender, which allowed the first-time winger to score. 20-3

22.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 22-3

24.00: The Waratahs lose their first lineout throw of the game inside the opposition’s 22. That is poor!

28.00: TRY! Jake Gordon goes over for his 22nd Super Rugby try after Jed Holloway’s halfway line linebreak. Holloway raced to the Chiefs’ 22 before sending an inside pass to the halfback, who beat Chase Tiatia to the whitewash. 22-8

29.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 22-10

31.00: Chiefs win a kickable penalty at the breakdown.

32.00: PENALTY! Gatland slots the goal. 25-10

36.00: Another good attack sees the Kiwis enter the Aussies’ 22; it’s looking dangerous.

37.00: TRY! Tupaea has a double! The Hamilton side went throught he phases using their big men before going wide to Gatland and Cane, who held off Mark Nawaqanitawase before putting Tupaea away in the corner. 30-10

38.00: MISS! Harrison is off injured, Gatland cannot convert. 30-10

40.00: TRY! Charlie Gamble bounces off Angus Ta’avao and breaks into space. Gamble slipped Luke Jacobson’s attempt, drew Weber, before sending Newsome away down the touchline. 30-15

41.00: CONVERSION! Tane Edmed, taking over from Harrison, slots the touchline conversion. 30-17

The halftime score was Chiefs 30 NSW Waratahs 17

41.00: PEEEP! We are back underway down under.

43.00: PENALTY! Edmed knocks over an early penalty goal. 30-20

45.00: GOAL-LINE DROPOUT! Angus Ta’avao powers his way over, but the tighthead prop got held up by several defenders. 30-20

46.00: Tom Horton and Dave Porecki have both left the field injured, which has led to uncontested scrums.

49.00: TRY! Gordon intercepts a loose Gatland pass and raced 70 metres to score under the posts. 30-25

51.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 30-27

55.00: It’s pretty even at the moment, but the Tahs have momentum.

57.00: TRY! Lowe intercepts Roberts and races away under the posts. 35-27

58.00: CONVERSION! Gatland adds two more. 37-27

61.00: Lots of kicking has found its way into the game.

63.00: The Chiefs look the fitter team, but the Tahs are taking them deep.

66.00: The New Zealanders are so dangerous when the ball is loose; they always manage to change the tempo. A poor Tahs’ lineout leads to another turnover.

68.00: HAT-TRICK! Lowe comes around the corner, and Gatland puts him away through a couple of defenders from close range. Game over!

70.00: CONVERSION! Gatland adds two more. 44-27

72.00: YELLOW CARD! Tupaea is off for the rest of the game. 44-27

76.00: Newsome almost scores in the corner, but the winger did not release the ball after being tackled.

79.00: TRY! Lowe chases down a grubber to claim his fourth try. 49-27

81.00: CONVERSION! Gatland nails the wide kick. 51-27


To refresh this page, click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Chiefs 51 (30) Waratahs 27 (17)


Tries – Taukei’aho, Lowe (4), Tupaea (2)
Pen – Gatland (2)
Con – Gatland (5)
Drop –
Cards – Tupaea (Yellow, 72′)

NSW Waratahs
Tries – Gordon (2), Newsome
Pen – Harrison, Edmed
Con – Harrison, Edmed (2)
Drop –
Cards – Bell (Red, 3′), Roberts (Yellow, 15′)

Match Officials
Referee: Nic Berry
Assistant Ref 1: Damon Murphy
Assistant Ref 2: Graham Cooper
TMO: Oli Kellett


Chiefs: 15 Chase Tiatia, 14 Jonah Lowe, 13 Alex Nankivell, 12 Rameka Poihipi, 11 Quinn Tupaea, 10 Bryn Gatland, 9 Cortez Ratima, 8 Pita Gus Sowakula, 7 Sam Cane (captain), 6 Luke Jacobson, 5 Tupou Vaa’i, 4 Josh Lord, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 1 Aidan Ross.

Replacements: 16 Bradley Slater, 17 Atu Moli, 18 George Dyer, 19 Naitoa Ah Kuoi, 20 Samipeni Finau, 21 Xavier Roe, 22 Rivez Reihana, 23 Inga Finau.

NSW Waratahs: 15 Will Harrison, 14 Mark Nawaqanitawase, 13 Izaia Perese, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Alex Newsome, 10 Tane Edmed, 9 Jake Gordon (captain), 8 Will Harris, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Charlie Gamble, 5 Hugh Sinclair, 4 Jed Holloway, 3 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 2 Dave Porecki, 1 Angus Bell.

Replacements: 16 Tom Horton, 17 Tetera Faulkner, 18 Archer Holz, 19 Geoff Cridge, 20 Rahboni Warren-Yosayaco, 21 Jack Grant, 22 Ben Donaldson, 23 Dylan Pietsch.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.