Coleman wins 50th Brumbies cap against Waratahs



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


The Brumbies have named their team to play the Waratahs in Sydney with Robbie Coleman winning his 50th cap and prop Ruaidhri Murphy making his first start at hooker.

In the backs Robbie Coleman will celebrate his 50th game on the wing after making his debut against the Reds back in 2010 and has since gone on to cement a spot in the top squad in 2014.

Ruaidhri Murphy will make his first appearance as a hooker on Saturday when the Brumbies travel to Sydney to take on the Waratahs.

Born and raised an Irish prop, Murphy has been pushed to the No. 2 jersey in the absence of Stephen Moore (knee), Siliva Siliva (knee, ankle) and Josh Mann-Rea (hamstring).

On the bench as cover at hooker is Luke Holmes, brother of former Brumby Josh Holmes, having been in top form for club side Warringah in Sydney’s Shute Shield.

A former Australian Schoolboys Captain, Holmes comes to the Brumbies with plenty of experience having previously played for the Waratahs, Force and Rebels.

With Sam Carter ruled out after the Wallabies first Test victory over France, Leon Power returns to the starting side in a re-jigged forward pack that also sees Jordan Smiler slide to the side of the scrum and Fotu Auelua back to the bench.

Ben Alexander returns to the starting side at tight-head prop for Ruan Smith, who also moves back to the bench with his brother, JP.

A groin injury to Matt Toomua during the Wallabies last Test has forced several changes inside Coleman, with Christian Lealiifano set to start at flyhalf for the first time since Brumbies faced the Kings in April last year.

Andrew Smith comes into the starting side at inside centre, Jesse Mogg back to start at fullback, Clyde Rathbone to the bench and Pat McCabe has been ruled out with a shoulder complaint.

On the bench Jack Whetton (lock) and Lionel Cronje (flyhalf) have been recalled to the squad, rounding out a vastly different side to the one which defeated the Rebels just over a month ago.


1. Scott Sio , 2. Ruaidhri Murphy , 3. Ben Alexander , 4. Scott Fardy , 5. Leon Power , 6. Jordan Smiler , 7. Jarrad Butler , 8. Ben Mowen © , 9. Nic White , 10. Christian Lealiifano , 11. Robbie Coleman , 12. Andrew Smith , 13. Tevita Kuridrani , 14. Henry Speight , 15. Jesse Mogg

Replacements :16. Luke Holmes , 17. Ruan Smith , 18. JP Smith , 19. Fotu Auelua , 20. Jack Whetton , 21. Michael Dowsett , 22. Clyde Rathbone , 23. Lionel Cronje

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.