Super Rugby

Coles returns for Hurricanes against Sharks




Hurricanes Super Rugby head coach Jason Holland has included All Black Dane Coles in his 23-man squad to play the Sharks in Wellington on Saturday.

It’s the first home game of the 2020 season and comes off the back of a 26-23 win against the Jaguares in Buenos Aires.

Coles, who returns from injury, will start the game on the bench, but says he’s excited at the potential of getting in some game time.

“It’s been a while, but I’m feeling in good nick. I have been working hard to get back out there, and I’m looking forward to having a run.”

He says, coming back in time for ‘Opening Night’ is exciting.

“We love getting out there in front of our fans at Sky Stadium. Home games are pretty special.”

Holland makes a few positional and personal changes from last Saturday’s victory of the Jaguares

TJ Perenara will captain the side, which remains mostly unchanged from last weekend.

Vince Aso will replace Billy Proctor at outside centre, while Scott Scrafton makes a return to the forward pack.

In the loose forwards, Reed Prinsep will start at number 8 with Gareth Evans moving to openside, while Vaea Fifita makes his first start of the season.

Jackson Garden-Bachop gets his second start in a row at first-five with Fletcher Smith back on the bench.

Head coach, Jason Holland, says it’s a competitive environment in the team.

“We have an excellent squad. Whoever gets their opportunity this week needs to take it as there are a lot of boys lining up to get a crack.”

The Sharks have scored more tries against the Hurricanes than any other South African side.

In a matchup last year, the Hurricanes walked away with a 30 – 17 win, but Holland says it’s always a tough encounter.

“The Sharks are a physical side with a big kicking game, not too dissimilar from the style the Springboks adopted to win the World Cup.

“They’ve got a back three who will take opportunities we give them.”


15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Wes Goosen, 13 Vince Aso, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Ben Lam, 10 Jackson Garden-Bachop, 9 TJ Perenara (captain), 8 Reed Prinsep, 7 Gareth Evans, 6 Vaea Fifita, 5 Scott Scrafton, 4 Isaia Walker-Leawere, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 2 Asafo Aumua, 1 Fraser Armstrong

Replacements: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Pouri Rakete-Stones, 18 Alex Fidow, 19 Liam Mitchell, 20 Du’Plessis Kirifi, 21 Jamie Booth, 22 Fletcher Smith, 23 Billy Proctor.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.